We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Really Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our first trip to Anchorage and I first came to Trip Advisor to read reviews before choosing a hotel. Frankly they were either real expensive or sounded pretty shady and I didn't know what to do. So needing a place to stay before the cruise and not wanting to spend a fortune I took a chance with this property because of location. I thought it looked like a warehouse on the picture. We were very surprised when we arrived the lobby and staff were nice and our room was really big and nice. We even had a little kitchen we weren't expecting. Everything was really clean and decorated very nice with a lot of nice touches like a separate tap for filtered water in the kitchen and large magnification makeup mirror in the bathroom. The location was perfect, in a good part of downtown, and you can walk to everything and we even had a water view. The price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    100
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
51
103
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Otis, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Last day of Labor Day weekend and we did not have reservations for our last night in Alaska. Went in to the front desk around 5pm and asked if they had rooms and what was the rate. Were told they had a senior rate of $116 and they did have rooms. We asked to see one and they showed us one next to the lobby. It looked perfect with a large screen TV and free internet. They told us the ice machine was broken but the small fridge in the room
had plenty of ice. They room was very large with a great shower in the bathroom. Turned out to be the best place we stayed in Alaska. They also had a free schutle to the airport. This would be a great place to stay when first arriving since you could walk to the train station the next day for the wonderful ride to Fairbanks and back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CascadeHeadJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gasquet, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Price was fair considering the cost of others in the downdown area. Facility is all non-smoking but you can smell the smoke from the bar/restaurant below when you ride the elevator. Not a big deal since it does not reach the room. Facility is worn down a bit but clean and roomy. Very convenient to downtown shopping district and attractions and the Hertz rental car place is right accross the street. We rented a car for one day (quite spendy) but were able to just take it back and park it in the garage later that night and not worry about finding or paying for street or lot parking. Was worth the extra cash to get to sightsee a bit and drive out to the Native Heritage Center (a must see). Make sure to buy the travel discount book. We used it several times and it payed for itself. LOL I sound like a commercial for them. I did lose mine and they have no means to re-issue the book, so don't lose it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terriccha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Large room, very comfortable bed, updated bathroom, small kitchenette, fast free internet, but breakfast bar was pretty sad - a couple of pastries, muffins, orange juice and a broken down coffee/hot water machine. Lots of parking across the street. Very friendly front desk service when I checked in.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ctkitty555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have just returned form our Alaska vacation which finished off with 2 nights at this hotel. The hotel is located very central to downtown Anchorage within minutes drive of the Alaska Railroad station ($5.00 taxi ride only because we didn't feel like pulling our suitcases uphill but it is only a few blocks to walk). The hotel also provides free shuttle to the airport on the hour (about 10-15 minute drive). Hotel staff were very friendly our housekeeper was very cheerful. The room was very large (almost like a bachelor suite) and included kitchenette with microwave and fridge. The bathroom was modern and very clean. We were on the second floor overlooking the street and found it to be very quiet. We did not notice any noise at all. Pastries, coffee and juice were complimentary in the small lobby each morning until 0900 and there were numerous restaurants and cafés within a few blocks of easy walking. There is a fine dining restaurant on site for dinner however we did not go there. Wifi was included and we had rapid connection in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We loved this place. The rooms were huge and included a kitchenette which we would have made good use of had we stayed longer. The floor to ceiling window let in plenty of natural light and the curtains blocked out the midnight sun as required.

This is easily the best value in Anchorage, especially during the peak summer season when prices are ridiculously high across the whole city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. It was located downtown off of 5th and K. A little close to busy roads and will be noisy if patio doors left open. We did enjoy our stay. We tried to stay another night but they were sold out. We got a good price for a Sunday, but the rates jumped 50% for the next night. Interesting how that works. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricovaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#14 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Property: The Voyager Inn
Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage
The Voyager Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing