We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but some issues with service”
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value but some issues with service”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed here three times with a friend in March 2013. Each time our room was very large and clean. The location of the hotel is also excellent and it was one of the cheapest places we stayed in Alaska. I cannot comment on breakfast as I did not get up early enough to sample it (it finishes at 9am). However, there was no seating for breakfast so I imagine it was just coffee and takeaway items.

Please note that the hotel offers free transfers from and to the airport and the train station. This is not something I was told before we arrived so we paid for a taxi from the airport. Also, on our final day we had booked a transfer to the airport at a certain time. The transfer arrived half an hour early and then left before the agreed time. When I complained to the manager about this he was incredibly rude. We ended up having to pay for a taxi again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MICA22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    105
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
110
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cordova, tn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It's a 30 year-old hotel that has been totally updated. Wonderful room accomodations, huge room with kitchenette, modern bathroom with handicap assist bars, sofa and wide screen TV. Add free WiFi and a complimentary continental breakfast and you have the perfect accomodations. I paid $89 and $80 for a period of nights which is quite reasonable for the location. I had no car, but everything in downtown Anchorage was within easy walking distance. Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo2mem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient. This is our third stay at the Voyager. It is walking distance to restaurants, shopping, Anchorage Museum, visitor center, concert hall, coastal trail for walking, biking, cross country skiing and ceremonial start of the Iditarod Sled Dog Race. The hotel offers shuttle service to the airport & train station, overnight parking, light breakfast, kitchenette with dishes and utensils on request. A very satisfying stay each time.
Also, a pass for the pool and fitness center at the Captain Hotel across the street is offered for a slight fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adora01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

In the past I've hesitated to book a room here only because of the Rodeway name; however, I took the plunge since I'm a choice hotels gold member and like the program. I couldn't have asked for anything better. The location is perfect being a short walk to most downtown attractions and restaurants and the price is typically quite attractive. They offer a convenient shuttle from Ted Stevens Airport.

The front desk agent Tabatha was so helpful and friendly. I arrived before the standard check in and she offered to check my suitcase while I went to lunch. When I got back she said it would only be a few more minutes till my room was ready which was well before 3. The lobby of the hotel is clean and attractive, nice sofa and chairs. A small breakfast room offers coffee and other hot beverages 24/7.

Once in my Huge room I immediately noticed it was also very clean and well appointed with a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bed apparently had a memory foam mattress and was quite comfortable with several pillows and nice linens. A large flat screen was attached to the wall with an admirable selection of channels. Floor to ceiling windows looked west towards the inlet, unfortunately the view of the inlet is not exceptional, but not bad.

I slept well and was not disturbed by street noise or fellow guests. My morning shower was a bit confusing as the handle was a bit difficult to figure out, not great pressure but acceptable. Nice towels and standard toiletries, hair dryer and a magnifying mirror which was nice.

Breakfast was sufficient with a small selection of pastries, fruit, bagels and boiled eggs. Instant oatmeal was available along with coffee, tea, hot cider and chocolate. The only problem I saw was there is really not a place to eat unless you take it back to your room.

Overall I rate this experience as exceptional especially when considering the price. Friendly staff, good location, clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: 4th floor. I was in room 409 that offered a queen bed and a Hollywood type of sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed one night at the Rodeway Inn Anchorage in May 2012 at the beginning of a 10-day trip in Alaska. The location is convenient with many restaurants within walking distance.
The room was large, with a kitchenette and a sofa. The bathroom was big too. Everything was clean. The bed was comfortable.
Staff at the reception desk was nice and helpful.
The breakfast is OK but very, very simple and you can barely sit down in the tiny breakfast room (do not expect anything fancy).
Good value for the price overall, would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramabopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just back after spending 3 nights in the Rodeway Inn. No problems at all with great comfortable clean bed, very clean bathroom and the breakfast was perfectly adequate. Nice fresh danish pastries, sachets of porridge, coffee, tea and OJ readily available. The hotel price was pretty reasosnable and the location was ideal. We had a great hike along the Nature trail which is just a couple of blocks away which had great views of the snow capped mountains across the bay. There are a few great restaurants all a short walk away, The Glacier Brewhouse, SImon and Seaforts was amazing if pricey, also a great steak in the Club Paris.I have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larksendlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I must say,after coming to AK for over 5 years on business, this was my BEST trip yet! I should've started staying here years ago.......the gal at the front desk, (Pamela I believe) was ABSOLUTELY wonderful. Not only was she personable and attentive, but very familiar with the city and guided me where I need to go. Although the breakfast was a little more on the light side, I WILL be staing here again and reccomending this property to my colleagues.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing K street offers nice view of the inlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomB0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,731 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
1,468 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
479 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Property: The Voyager Inn
Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage
The Voyager Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing