We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and more affordable than most hotels in area”
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Rodeway Inn was centrally located and the staff was accomodating, friendly, and professional. We were able to walk all over downtown Anchorage in our short time there because this hotel was so conveniently located - close to restaurants, museum, performing arts, stores, etc. It is actually two blocks from the ocean also. The view from our hotel window (think it was 5th floor) was amazing - it was sunny, clear, warm day/night in Anchorage and had view of the ocean. When we checked in and got our room - we noticed it smelled musty and smoky. When we contacted front desk, they right away found us another room to try. We moved rooms quickly and all was fine. The room was large and kitchenette included (microwave, large fridge, etc.). The room and bathroom and its fixtures (shower, sink, etc.) all clean & newer. Air conditioning definitely worked well - probably not usually needed in Anchorage. Got AAA rate. All decent hotels/motels in Anchorage are expensive so I felt this was great value for smaller scale hotel in a great area of downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jotripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

rooms are large & clean. Staff is friendly & helpful. Centrally located to restaurants, railroad, bike trails & shopping. I was very pleased with my 3 night stay. Price is super reasonable for a great location

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On the plus side, a good location, free wifi and decent coffee. On the down side, expensive for what it is, a bit run down and smelly and, depending on which side your room is facing, noisy from traffic. One friendly staff member (male), one rather inefficient one (female) and a guaranteed late check out against paiement disappeared from their computer, so we had to leave mich earlier than expected. So, to be generous, I'd say that it's an OK place for a night before or after whatever, but not a hotel you'd want to spend more time than that.

Room Tip: quiet rooms do not face 5th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel has been bought by the owners of the Captain Cook Hotel and is no longer a Roadway Inn. The staff is helpful and the room was huge. Decor is dated, but according to hotel staff there are plans to update the hotel. Location is ideal for Anchorage. The hotel's housekeeping does an excellent job.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I booked my travel at the last minute and wasn't sure which hotel to stay in. I wanted some central, though I was travelling on a budget. I couldn't recommend this hotel more. Its only a few blocks from the main shopping strip, everything is within walking distance. My room was huge and very quiet, even though it was on the main road side. I would have to say the bathroom is one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The room came with a kitchenette and new LCD tv.
The hotel had a small laundry which was handy after I came off a cruise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petesyd2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel didn't look very promising when we drove up but it showed it's thoughtfulness for guests right away. One of our party was in a wheelchair and the entrance had an easy access ramp into the lobby. The rooms were really big and comfortable, with a little kitchen and there was a laundry for us to use. The free breakfast made for an easy start to the day and there were good places for an upscale dinner within two blocks. Lovely staff and great value made this our favorite hotel of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

After a 36 hour flight from Australia the last thing you want is a hold up checking in. This was not the case here the night staff were excellent and only got better in the day time. Never stayed at a Voyager Hotel before so didnt know what to expect. Was pleasently surprised it was lovely the rooms were big and offered great views of Anchorage, the cleaning staff did an excellent job, and the breakfast was a mix of hot and cold with as much as you like. Staff fantastic and knowledgeable, we could have not asked for a better start to our USA holiday. Hotel has a laundry for guests to use and is very close to the main street. Would certainly recommend this hotel and its friendly staff. You made Anchorage

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,910 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
121 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £77 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage
The Voyager Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing