We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, would stay here again”
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, would stay here again”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here 2 separate times during our vacation in July. The rooms are very large, have a full kitchen, and are very clean. They are a bit dated, and the sofa/pullout bed is sort of odd, but the beds are comfortable, and we had a very nice stay both times. Anchorage was quite warm when we were there, and we were happy to have A/C. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. They have a small laundry room (1 stacked washer/dryer) that came in handy for us. We did not notice any of the "smells" that some other reviewers have commented on. The breakfast is truly continental, served in a tiny room, and you really have to take your breakfast back to your room, but it was adequate for us.

When we arrived at the airport, we called and were told where to catch the complimentary shuttle to the hotel. The driver was very friendly and safe, and gave a little commentary/orientation as he drove around downtown dropping people off. Since the hotel is now owned by Captain Cook Hotel, (which is located across the street), they no longer provide a shuttle to the train station, but they did call a taxi for us (arranged the night before), and the taxi was there right on time. It's a short drive to the train station, and cost probably $5-10.

We wound up eating at Fletcher's (in Capt Cook Hotel) twice, and had wonderful food and service. It's a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, and we had no trouble getting in (although we got the last table before the arrival of a tour bus the second night, so lucked out). We tried to eat at the brewery restaurant down the street twice, but the line was out the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    113
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
61
120
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The smell, cleanliness, food, etc was absolutely appalling. The people working here were amazing. Very kind and helpful. However, I would never return!! There are so many other aces to stay. Do not pick this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateHassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel is in a great location, rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. All the essential stuff. Also staff are super friendly and helped out when our reservation got lost between expedia and the hotel. They let us check in and we went off to explore while they resolved things so we didn't waste time. Only downside is hotel is a little tired and could do with a renovation but compared to other hotels in anchorage it's a winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Rodeway Inn was centrally located and the staff was accomodating, friendly, and professional. We were able to walk all over downtown Anchorage in our short time there because this hotel was so conveniently located - close to restaurants, museum, performing arts, stores, etc. It is actually two blocks from the ocean also. The view from our hotel window (think it was 5th floor) was amazing - it was sunny, clear, warm day/night in Anchorage and had view of the ocean. When we checked in and got our room - we noticed it smelled musty and smoky. When we contacted front desk, they right away found us another room to try. We moved rooms quickly and all was fine. The room was large and kitchenette included (microwave, large fridge, etc.). The room and bathroom and its fixtures (shower, sink, etc.) all clean & newer. Air conditioning definitely worked well - probably not usually needed in Anchorage. Got AAA rate. All decent hotels/motels in Anchorage are expensive so I felt this was great value for smaller scale hotel in a great area of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jotripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

rooms are large & clean. Staff is friendly & helpful. Centrally located to restaurants, railroad, bike trails & shopping. I was very pleased with my 3 night stay. Price is super reasonable for a great location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On the plus side, a good location, free wifi and decent coffee. On the down side, expensive for what it is, a bit run down and smelly and, depending on which side your room is facing, noisy from traffic. One friendly staff member (male), one rather inefficient one (female) and a guaranteed late check out against paiement disappeared from their computer, so we had to leave mich earlier than expected. So, to be generous, I'd say that it's an OK place for a night before or after whatever, but not a hotel you'd want to spend more time than that.

Room Tip: quiet rooms do not face 5th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel has been bought by the owners of the Captain Cook Hotel and is no longer a Roadway Inn. The staff is helpful and the room was huge. Decor is dated, but according to hotel staff there are plans to update the hotel. Location is ideal for Anchorage. The hotel's housekeeping does an excellent job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,826 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Property: The Voyager Inn
Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage
The Voyager Inn Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing