We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great community, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Base Camp Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here on last minute notice and Ole, the new owner, welcomed me and was generous with sharing ideas on Alaska and tips on getting around. It attracts outdoorsy people, so it was perfect for me. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the REI is just a few blocks away, which was great. It seems like there have been tons of improvements under the new ownership, and I really enjoyed myself. There is wifi and laundry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mylostwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is definitely the place to stay if you wanna be close to everything, great location, amazing staff and interesting as people. You'll find here the true atmosphere of a nice and warm hostel with people from all over the world! See you soon!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

At first, I was a little hesitant to stay here mainly because I'd never stayed at a hostel before. Turns out, a hostel under the right person can not only be a great place to sleep, but also an amazing experience in and of itself.

The new owner, Ole, cares about this place and your experience. No longer the run down hostel it was last year, Ole has really given it an overhaul. The rooms are immaculate, if a little small. The common rooms are clean and well kept. The kitchen is decked out with new counter tops, giving you plenty of space to cook any meal on the provided utensils.

The hostel is located in midtown Anchorage, giving a close to anything you need. The neighborhood isnt what you'd call high class, but the people are friendly and hospitable.

If you plan stay here, however, bring a lock to lock your bag up in the locker provided. Be sure to call to confirm your reservation and arrival time to the hostel. Most of all, come with an open mind and a sense of adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjj91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Tried this hostel for its great location, come to find out it's under new mgnt and name: Base Camp Anchorage. The place is being fixed and cleaned up! Ole', the owner' was around to answer questions and share insights on Alaska. A great place to meet up with other Alaskan venturers or a stop on your way to Alaskan greatness.

Room Tip: There are shades on the windows...summer in Ak, it's going to be a bit sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Slept here for three nights, one before going to the mountains and two afterwards. The place is pretty clean, rooms are okay and a kitchen is available. Good deal for $25 a night. However, the owner got really drunk (and annoying) one night. He apologized the day after, but not a very nice experience..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

Look, its a good hostel mainly because of the people that were staying there.

Make sure you confirm your reservation by phone before you go., thats a must.

In winter, they have permanent residents like most hostels in Alaska.

There is a good cafe in walking distance and some good outdoor supply shops very close.

The locals warned us not to go out to local drinking spots, bars too rough apparently

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChillaxingTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

This is potentially one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in! I went to Anchorage on my own in August and stayed one night before going on a tour and staying again after the tour. Sebastian and Marcella are great hosts. One of them is always around if you need help. I stayed in a 4bed female dorm one night which was fine. Also stayed downstairs in my own private double room which was great! 3 computers with free internet access. Prices are very reasonable. The hostel itself is clean, cery safe, quiet yet at the same time has a great atmosphere. I chatted to so many people from all over yet it was never intrusive.

Every morning Marcella provides a free breakfast of pancakes, breads, cereals, fruit, tea, coffee, juices etc. I couldnt get over the breakfast, it was great!!! There is loads of places around to eat which is great. You can hire bikes there. They will even store items for you. They store them at your own risk but I left 3 presents that I had brought from Ireland and they were completely untouched.

The only (small) downside to the hostel is the location. Its a little out of the downtown area but I walked there in less than half an hour (downhill walk there!). Its only 10mins or so from the airport and a taxi costs about $15 I think.

Overall I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again and would highly recommend it to anyone of any age to be honest. I will definitely stay here again if I return to Anchorage. Highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank meenamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Puffin Inn
#38 of 74 in Anchorage
368 reviews
Midtown
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arctic Fox Inn
#3 of 126 in Anchorage
324 reviews
Midtown
Aspen Suites Hotel Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Camp Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Camp Anchorage

Address: 1037 W 26th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503-2415 (Formerly 26 Street International Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Base Camp Anchorage 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Camp Anchorage is a new hostel run by a community of world travelers who are passionate about Alaska and its backcountry. Ideally located in midtown Anchorage, we are a short taxi or bus ride from the airport. We are the perfect base for travelers stopping to rest and explore Anchorage, or those preparing for an upcoming journey into the wilderness. We are conveniently located a short walking distance from numerous cafes, restaurants, live music venues, and one of the best breweries in town! For travelers looking to explore the Alaska wilderness and in need of outdoor gear, shops like Alaska Mountaineering and Hiking, REI, and Play It Again Sports are all within a five-minute walk from our doorstep. ➢ Free Wifi ➢ Coin-up Laundry Room ➢ Free Personal Lockers ➢ Bicycle Rentals ➢ Luggage and Gear Storage ➢ Fully Equipped Kitchen & communal fridge ➢ Spacious backyard ➢ 5 minute walk to night life ➢ 5 minute walk to local outdoor stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Base Camp Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Camp Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing