We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel is showing its age”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were booked into this hotel as part of our Alaska Railroad package. We booked and additional two days prior to that thinking that it would be more convenient to stay in a single hotel than changing hotels before our trip. The hotel looks fine from the outside and from the lobby but the rooms are really starting to get old.
We had a one bedroom suite on the side facing the front of the hotel. The room had a strong smell of cleaner when we checked in. After we opened the windows and aired it out we could begin to sense an unpleasant odour in the main living area of the room.
The walls were dinged up and the light switches were flithy with black stains all around the switch. A piece of plastic protective corner bead on one wall fell off when I lightly bumped it.
The room was clean...but old. The breakfasts was par at best with scrambled eggs and cold sausages. Some staff were good, others acted like you were distrubing them.
The hotel is located under a busy overpass. Trains run all day/night and blow there horns directly in front of the hotel.
They do bake some nice cookies every evening and put them out in the lobby.
We had booked and additional two nights at the end of our trip but cancelled them and stayed at another hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the side facing the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plasmacdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not spend your additional two nights at our property but completely understand the reasoning. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future after our full property remodel in January 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    214
    82
    32
    24
See reviews for
142
199
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was completely taken back by how old the rooms were and the smell of room deodorizer they used was over powering. I initially thought I was getting a jacuzzi room after spending 30minutes trying to check into the room, but found I was booked into a regular room. I returned to the front desk and was given a room across the hall on the first floor. The room was hot & I had went to open the window, noticing the air conditioning next to the window I shut the window. The window did not lock & being a single woman on the first floor, I was scared. I then returned to the front desk & she placed me in a room on the 3rd floor. The smell of the room & the fact there was no place to order food after a late hour, I returned to the front desk & said I no longer want to stay at the hotel & would like a refund. I only stayed 30minutes and was told I was not going to be given a refund. I will never ever stay at a Choice Hotel again. The manager Catherine Bly was completely non accommodating & should probably rethink her choice of careers, she lack the skill it needed to be a Guest Service Manager...

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I would love to discuss these issues with you further and attempt to resolve the issues that you faced when staying at our hotel. I would ask that you please contact the hotel directly and ask for the General Manager and I would be happy to assist you. I greatly apologize for the inconveniences that you faced while at the Comfort Inn and hope that you will give us another chance to make it right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly, and was the best part of the stay. Room was clean, but small. It is situated between 2 railroad tracks (passenger trains in front and freight behind). Train noise heard through the night. We had to call maintenance for a few issues (leaking toilet, sink stopcock broken, tripped circuit breaker when 2 family members used hair dryers at one time). These were taken care of promptly. A/C unit very noisy ( we had to turn it off to sleep). Breakfast included (adequate).

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank imajayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We really appriciate you taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel as good or bad, it can always help us improve! I am glad to here that our staff took care of you while you were here and we hope that you can come visit us again after our full remodel this winter! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed on two separate occasions in July. The second stay was in a slightly nicer room on the third floor looking out over the creek. Both rooms were clean, roomy and pleasant, although the first had a residual cigarette smoke smell. We thought the complimentary breakfast was very good. Good location for walks along the creek and great restaurant next door (Riverside?). Short walk up-hill into downtown. Some railway noise. Used shuttle once and it was a bit slow but acceptable. All staff were pleasant.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We really appriciate you taking the time to leave feedback about our hotel and hope that we can have you as our guest again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Made 2 reservations,one at the beginning of our vacation (1 night) and one at end(2nights).We were picked up promptly at airport.Was dropped off at car rental next morning.A couple staff weren't overly friendly ,but majority were.Breakfast was good.Rooms clean.Nice walk to shops and restuarants.Or we took Ulu shuttle to visitor center(up the hill),free ,just tip,and walked back down.Close to Anchorage weekend market,great entertainment watching the salmon fishermen in Ship creek right behind hotel,also nice trail behind hotel.Did not have any trouble getting back to airport with there shuttle.Train station across the road,never awakened by trains .Would definitely stay at or recommend this hotel.Price comparable to Alaska prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Inn and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ship Creek Inn, for about 4 nights, and had no complaints. The room was clean, tidy, and we had a nice view of the creek. It was very quiet, and we slept peacefully, and comfortably.
The lobby is just a lot of fun, to look at, with all the wild animals on the walls, and the big Grizzly in the glass box, next to the stairs.
The breakfast was good, plentiful, and filling.
Ship Creek Inn is very conveniently located near downtown Anchorage,and close to the Alaskan Railroad depot. All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything more.
I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and on the 2nd or 3rd floor, and you'll get a nice, quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on tripadvisor! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We used the Comfort Inn Ship Creek as a recovery night after flying into Anchorage. It was a bit tricky getting there from the airport by rental car, so I was glad I had my GPS navigation device to help find the place. Don't expect to be in the lap of luxury, but this hotel makes for a relatively inexpensive (for Alaska) pied-a-terre before heading out to the hinterlands. One nice advantage is that it is just downslope from an area where an Alaskan arts and crafts and food festival takes place on Saturdays. I'm not sure if the festival occurs every Saturday, but it made a really nice, low-pressure way to experience some Alaskan stuff on arrival day. To get to the festival, you have to cross the railroad tracks and climb a couple of long flights of covered stairs. The best part of this Comfort Inn, though, is the wonderful breakfast buffet that far exceeds any continental breakfast I've ever experienced. There are scrambled eggs, hard-cooked eggs, bacon and sausage, the usual breads and cereals, yogurt, and even fruit - something I never seemed to find in abundance anywhere else on our trip.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Inn and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Property: Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing