We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 4 March 2008

As Comfort Inns go, this one was nice. Room was clean, quiet and recently remodeled. The breakfast was good, and it was neat to go outside and watch the locals fish in Ship Creek while enjoying coffee. We thought the location was great with ample parking. On Saturday there is a fair/market up on the bluff which is a convenient walk. We did'nt really interact with the staff. Overall, I'd recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mshndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2007

Nice rooms, pool and continental breakfast. Nice to have cookies and milk for the kids bedtime snack. If problems arise, staff are slow to respond. Don't leave any items in room. Calling Comfort Inn 800# to file report, may not get submitted that day (ours didn't get filed until 6 days later) and they have 7-10 business days to respond after filing. When asked to talk with supervisor, they hung up on me. Make sure you get all your items upon leaving.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank rockwellml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

In my opinion, this hotel has the potential to do so much better and this being my first trip to Alaska, I know now that there are much better hotels for the same price in Anchorage.

My room was dirty and smelly, I stayed there for 3 days and 3 nights and never once got it cleaned even though I requested it everyday, the customer service was terrible except for one person at the front desk, the hotel is walking distance but not really when you have to walk up a pretty big hill to where all the action is, their continental breakfast was sad.

For the same price and until this hotel improves, you can do so much better.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank judger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

I had booked this hotel in combination with the Alaska Railroad train ride from Seward to Anchorage. The AR offered a good price for the hotel that was less than anywhere else at the time. The location is good as Anchorage is quite small and everything is within walking distance. The room was pretty average but I did like the complimentary breakfast that they offered in the morning. Nothing fancy but all the right stuff to get a good start. Next time I go to Alaska I would use this hotel again as a starting point or ending point.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank lizzzy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

This was our base while visiting Alaska. We spent a night in 3 nights in Denali, returned here for a night, then spent a few of nights in Seward and returned here for 2 days before flying home. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and accommodating. We were able to check in early each time. Even though it is near the railroad tracks and station, the noise was not a huge problem. We found it a lot less noisy in the rooms facing the street vs. facing Ship Creek. Overall, we thought it was a good location and if we were making another trip to Alaska would certainly consider staying there again. It was a convenient walk out the back door to watch anglers and everyplace we wanted to go. Friendly desk clerk, Internet access at their business center very slow, but adequate to check to check news from back home. Rooms were clean, well equipped, and comfortable. The laundry facilities were nice to have, means less packing. Dryers ran for 48 minutes for $1.50; the washers were also $1.50. I brought my own detergent & dryer sheets, so cannot say how much the front desk sells those items for. Plus they had warm cookies and milk in the evening!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Love2travelMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

This was our base while visiting Alaska. We spent a night in Seward, returned here for a couple of nights, then spent a couple of nights in Denali and returned here before flying home. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They provided shuttle service for us several times. Even though it is near the railroad tracks and station, we did not find the noise to be a problem. Overall, we thought it was a good location and if we were making another trip to Alaska would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluecat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

I had two confirmed reservations in August. On my first stay the desk clerk turned down my request for a (complimentary) shuttle ride to the train depot alleging the driver was too busy. He told me that I should walk. (The shuttle was parked, idle, in front my room.) An hour later , as I left the hotel, I saw the shuttle driver loading guests into the bus as they were telling him they were on the way to the train depot.
When I returned a few days later, I was informed that my "confirmed" reservation had been cancelled, allegedly because my credit card was "no good". There could not have been a more ludicrous explanation, as I had just paid for my previous stay with a valid credit card. Dare I expect an apologetic demeanor? The attitude of the staff was defiant and belligerent

It appears that the proprietors of this indepently owned and operated estabishment gives preference to certain people while they exclude others. It's not hard for me to guess the basis of their their exclusion.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pairadox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 74 in Anchorage
400 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
695 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £59 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing