We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly very nice for a comfort inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was a little concerned how this place would be, but it's great! Easy access to rail station, restaurants and activities. Had shuttle service available and laundry facilities which was a big help. Would definitely recommend. Breakfast is included which helps.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vblakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Vblakey,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to see you again in the future! Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Ship Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for one night. It was a last minute decision, when I was very tired, and needed some sleep. It was fine. Parking was easy, once I was able to find the place! The front desk staff was great. The breakfast was adequate. It's the best place to stay before or after a rail trip, due to the location.

Room Tip: If you are a rail fan, be sure and ask for the depot side of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Gary M,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to leave feedback on our property and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Have a great rest of your summer and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very well located for catching the train to Denali or Fairbanks - a very short walk or the hotel shuttle will drop you.
We took the shuttle to the station, checked in and left our bags, then walked back to the hotel for breakfast followed by a quick walk back to the station to catch the train.
The rooms and facilities were good and the breakfast adequate.
We walked downtown and back - probably about 10 minutes - slight hill going in.
Very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prahran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Prahran,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so thankful that you took the time to leave your feedback and glad to know your enjoyed your stay. Have a great rest of your summer and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived at the airport called and they were there quickly to pick us up. Friendly and informative shuttle driver. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast and really good coffee. Room was clean grounds were nice.

Room Tip: Get creek side you won't hear the train.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Linda A,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and so thankful that you took the time to leave us your feedback. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pack your plunger just in case the staff are too busy at this Comfort Inn. Unfortunately, we ended up with a plugged toilet and we were unable to get anyone to answer in housekeeping or maintenance and when we went to the front desk for help, we were handed a plunger and sent on our way with no follow up as the whether or not we got the problem fixed. The front desk guy was on two phones at the same so the poor guy was obviously quite busy but there didn't appear to be anyone else available to help him with maintenance/housekeeping problems. If it weren't for the convenient location to the train station and the complimentary airport shuttle then the rest of this review would have went down the toilet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Robert Colette,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced with your room and our lack of customer service. I can assure you that this is not how we conduct ourselves here at Comfort Inn as you can see by our other Trip Advisor reviews. We pride ourselves on our guest service and have spoken to the entire staff about the issues concerning your stay. I deeply apologize for how your situation was handled and if there is anyway that we can make this up to you please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, located right on Ship Creek where at certain times of the year you can see the salmon running. However it is down a steep hill from downtown Anchorage (1/4 mile). Luckily there is a free shuttle next door at the Ulu knife store that runs every half hour most of the day. The rooms are spacious and clean. The service was good and the complimentary breakfast bounteous. It is very close to the railroad tracks, but our room was on the creek side of the building so we weren't bothered by any noise from the railroad.

Room Tip: On the creek side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

maggiew50, thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future. Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in Comfort Inn for one night before our Denali trip and two nights at the end. Our first stay was perfect, large quiet room with two comfortable bed on the second floor. Our second stay had a problem we were given a room on the third floor that had a loud humming noise which appeared to come from the window end of the room. We checked that the air conditioning was off, and found the noise continued and that the whole end wall was resonating. They changed our room for a quiet room unfortunately we had to repack and make this change well after 11 pm when very tired from returning from Denali. My advise would be to check for noise if you are given a room on the third floor before unpacking.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms at the back of hotel towards the end of corridor are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carissa G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Jeanne86 thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear that you had troubles with your returning trip to our hotel. I am glad that our night staff was able to accommodate a room move for you but so sorry to hear that you had to move rooms in the first place. I have my maintenance staff looking into the humming noise that you experienced on your returning trip and I hope that the 2nd room that you were moved into worked out better for you. Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Alaskan vacation. Have a great rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
471 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: £60 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing