We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple Stays at Quality Suites Near Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Over the past year, I have stayed at this hotel on 9 separate occasions. The location is perfect for me since it is about 2 blocks from my client's offices and is within walking distance of many restaurants in downtown Anchorage. The hotel offers free Internet service and all rooms have a sitting area separate from the bedroom. Each room also has 2 cable TVs, a microwave oven, and refrigerator. A free full breakfast is included. The staff (particularly Jen, Floe, and Nessi) have come to know me and have been extremely helpful with all of my business needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get full sun, which is a plus in Anchorage in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel was very convenient to many restaurants and shops. Easy access to the highway. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. A very large selection and replenished well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First the positives:
This hotel has free parking, is in a good location and the rooms are good sized and seem clean. There is a mini fridge/freezer, microwave and mini coffee maker in the room.
Now for the negative:
Our fan/heater was VERY noisy, room was cold, blow dryer didn't work, breakfast was a little 'rubbery', everything we needed we had to ask the front desk for three times and then when they FINALLY got around to doing something they would do the bare minimum. Also, the bed was really comfortable but then the pillows and blankets are awful. Weird.
Overall I would stay again because of the convenience of the location but if you're looking for an ultra comfy, relaxing stay then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was in August when we stayed at the Quality Suites near Convention Center for two nights. The staff were amazingly helpful. We had three areas - bedroom, bathroom and sitting area which gave us breathing space in which to pack for our ongoing adventure thru alaska. After ten days away, we were thrilled to know we were going back to Quality Suites on our way thru Anchorage. Definitely best place we stayed in throughout the trip; great staff (particularly Nesi on front desk who set us right on our walking plans around Anchorage and sent us to great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Quality Suites. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our stay and that Nesi our Front Desk Agent was very helpful during your stay. Thank you for your bussiness and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Free shuttle from the airport at near midnight was the first plus. Two rooms, each with a flat screen TV, was the second. Coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave in the room. Staff helpful and personable. We really appreciated the complimentary hot breakfast -- eggs, meat, make-it-yourself waffles, along with cereal, toast, etc. The location is so convenient to Anchorage museum, buses and trains, shopping mall, etc. We stayed late in the season and did not have any problems with noise as some others have mentioned. We truly did not want to leave and would return if ever in Anchorage again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Quality Suites. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Quality Suites on 8th is my second pick of hotes in Anchorage. The Clarion several blocks down is exactly the same hotel but with a different name. The only difference between these two are parking (Clarion has more.), noise level (Clarion is quieter) and price. One is cheaper one month and then it switches to the other. Quality Suites is on the corner of C st., right down town, one block from the 5th Avenue Mall. This increases the amount of traffic noise and the amount of people walking past.

It was nice to be within walking distance of Allure Day Spa. The front desk people let me do early check-in at no extra charge and were able to give me accurate driving directions to the less-obvious places in town. The rooms are modern and I love that I can close a door between the bedroom and the living area. Room had a fridge, microwave, and a kitchen sink. I didn't need the pull-out couch but it's there. No resteraunt but there is free breakfast from 6-9.

The only drawbacks were 1) housekeeping knocking on the door Sat. and Sun. at 8:15 am. I could understand if it was my check out day but not days 1 and 2 of a four day stay. 2) The drunk people yelling in the parking lot at 2:30am which I could hear from the third floor.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book from thier website if your dates are firm so you can get a prepaid discount. Or if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kodiak_kid_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Quality Suites. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the front desk staff assisted you anyway they could. I am deeply sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again so that we may change that. Thank you very much for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here first week in September. The end of the tourist season was in the last days, in Anchorage, but the hotels and car rentals were still on summer rates. Summer rates=$$$$ But, staying here was worth the money. Last week, in August, I stayed at a hotel near the airport and paid a similar price. Quality Suites is a much better deal and bang for your buck. Free shuttle service pick up at the airport. Free parking. Free breakfast, but closes at 9am, that had some nice choices. Free local newspaper located at the front desk. Free wifi. Other things that I like to rate hotels are the noise levels. This hotel is located on the backside of downtown. Our room faced 8th Avenue and did not hear car noise. In the morning, I had opened a window and heard a busy side street named "C" street. As stated in my title review this room has 2 rooms. The first room, when you enter, is like a living room. Sofa, coffee table, desk with chair, large flat screen tv, small refrigerator and phone. The sofa pulls out to a bed. There is a door that you can close and lock and then you enter into the bathroom. Bath tub with shower. Tub/shower and toilet also has a door that can be closed and locked. The one draw back, I noticed, is that the bathroom does not have a fan exhaust. No fans, seem to be the norm in hotels, in recent years. There is a sink to wash your hands. Our room had 2 queen beds. Very comfortable beds!! There was a heater/air cond. located in the bedroom, but did not use. Another large flat screen tv. Telephone located in between the beds. A side chair located near window. Very clean room. Comfortable linens. I will most definately stay here, again. The location is perfect for walking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ak747gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the free amenities that we offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Anchorage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#52 of 74 in Anchorage
45 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Address: 325 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3541 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £57 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion
Quality Suites Historic Downtown Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing