We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were at this location twice - two nights at the beginnng of our trip and one night at the end of the trip. We found the rooms to be clean, and comfortable. The staff was always helpful, even at 4:00 AM for our shuttle to the airport. The food was good. The location is very convenient and within eawsy walking distance to all the stores and restaurants in downtown Anchorage. One issue we found in both rooms are the very noisy heating/air conditioning units. Another oddity, at least from what I am familiar but eveidently is common in Alaska is the bathroom sink is located in the bedroom, not in the bathroom. This made it difficult to shave, etc. without waking others in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavecurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    95
    54
    21
    16
See reviews for
80
92
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

my friends and I had one night in Anchorage before traveling on to the Kenai. We chose the Quality Suites based on Tripadvisor reviews, the opportunity to spend the next morning walking around town and the 24 hour available shuttle to take us to/from the airport. We were not disappointed. The hotel is basic, with a quirky elevator, but the rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. There is a small living room area and the bathroom was clean. Complimentary breakfast was surprisingly hearty with cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, juices and pastry. The front desk staff was accommodating and friendly. I noticed many people staying at the hotel who seemed to be in town for medical reasons. This may be because the rooms are extra-sized and perhaps the location is close to a medical center. It was a busy hotel but very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Nana_JP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I am glad that you loved your stay here with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location downtown. Walking to great shopping and restaurants.

Room are not real clean. Had to beg and finally ask manager to get pillows for the pull out couch.

Hotel house hospital patients too so many sick and injured people at hotel.

Food was very poor.

Would not stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent one night in Anchorage before driving our way up to Fairbanks. This place worked out well for what we needed. The room was clean, quiet, and quite large. The breakfast was adequate and the Quality Inn served as a good jumping-off point for the rest of our trip. One of my few complaints was the dingy elevator, it seems as though that has been neglected relative to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ut_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear ut_jd,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here, and used the Shuttle service to/from the airport. You do need to ring the hotel for pick up from airport and they arrive within 25 mins approx.
Rooms extremely spacious with a separate lounge/TV area, and small kitchenette area (microwave, fridge etc). Bed was large and really comfy. Room was quite warm, air con could have been more powerful.
The breakfast was varied and a good start for the day. The breakfast area got quite busy though, so choose your time carefully.
Location wise, the hotel is only a few blocks away from downtown anchorage, so good base for exploring downtown,
Would definitely recommend this hotel, good location, comfortable and nice amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear: Emma W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the complementary amenities that we offer at our hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of downtown we are close to many restaurants, the Anchorage Museum and 5th Ave Mall.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for two nights after a cruise. It is a convenient location close to stores and restaurants. Rooms were fine, plenty of space, but sound insulation not good or neighbours very noisy. Breakfast choice was limited. Seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear: Grumpy 554

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night after getting off a cruise. It turned out to be an extremely good choice. It was within walking distance of the Anchorage Museum, which we wanted to go to, as well as restaurants and shopping. The room was very spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfast was typical for this kind of hotel, so it wasn't fancy but it was good and filling. We appreciated the shuttle service to the airport. Given that you get a nice room, a good breakfast, and shuttle service, I thought this was very good value for the money. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and volunteering to mail our postcards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianneza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear: Marianneza

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
434 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
552 reviews
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#38 of 73 in Anchorage
38 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Property: Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Address: 325 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3541 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion
Quality Suites Historic Downtown Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing