We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff, reasonable location, but poor internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, reasonable location, but poor internet”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in April. They run a 24 hour courtesy bus to/from the airport, which saves you getting a taxi, but you may have to wait 30 minutes after calling them for it to arrive.

The room I had was clean and comfortable, with a nice large flat screen TV and plenty of space including a desk chair for working on.

Breakfast is a simple buffet affair, with pre-packaged cerals, milk, yoghurt etc, plus some bagels and muffins, shiny green apples and bananas. There were two hot food options every day, but this always comprised scrambled eggs with something lese (usually pork sausage). There was also a waffle machine. It was disappointing to use plastic cutlery and paper plates, but understand the reasons why these are used.

There is a very small swimming pool which you can view from the reception area. It looks more the size of a splash pool, and anyone expecting to be able to swim lengths to keep fit might be disappointed, but it is perfect for familes and children.

Be aware that there is no restaurant or room service with this hotel, so you have to venture out to get food. There are some vending machines in reception serving both drinks and pre-packaged snacks. There are a few places nearby including an Outback steakhouse which was fine, but there are better places to eat in Anchorage.

The location is good for a midtown property (100 yards to the office I was working in), and easy to find and get to from most directions. Be aware that A street is one way, so use C street if heading south from the downtown area to get back to the hotel. Being close to the road, meant there was a bit of noise from the traffic at nights, but generally it was quiet enough to enjoy a great nights sleep. There is a cinema complex next door, though I didn't have time to explore it.

Although they advertise free internet access, I encountered many problems with it. First time connection is generally fine - you simply enter your name and press OK to accept the terms and conditions. However, the speed most of the time is very slow to the point of being frustrating. It is generally acceptable for webmail access, but most other interactive websites often take minutes to respond. Downloading a 5Mb presentation took almost 30 minutes, and this was at 4am (the joys of jet lag!) when mostly everyone else was asleep. Streaming content such as youtube would be painfully slow. Most of the problems are encountered when you have to renew the access when it expires after 24 hours. It doesn't automatically take you back to the login screen, and you have to connect/disconnect/re-connect a few times before it appears. After the 2nd day, I bookmarked the login screen in my browser which made much quicker. I wasn't the only one that encountered internet problems, as I heard a few people talking about it over breakfast.

The room also benefits from a microwave oven, sink, kettle and a filter coffee maker, which means that eaiting in would be a viable option for families.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, giving excellent advice on where to go in and around the city for shopping, eating out etc

The room was serviced every day to a high standard with fresh towels - no complaints at all.

The only other negative was that there always seemed to be at least one or two people (often staff) smokling at the entrance door, and you could get a lungful of smoke as you went in and out.

Overall, it's a decent enough place to stay at a reasonable price. It's not perfect, but you aren't paying 5 star prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMBStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    133
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
111
81
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in Springhill Suites for 7 nights in April 2012 and found them to be a very comfortable place to stay.

The suite was well proportioned with two queen size beds and en suite facilities but what made it stand out for me was the things that can often be provided as "extras", including Fridge, Microwave, Kettle, Coffee Percolator, i-pod docking station, hard-wired free internet service, hair drier and iron/ironing board.

The inclusive breakfast provided a good choice, with fruit, cereals, yoghurt, orange/apple juice plus cooked items such as scrambled egg, biscuits and sausage, a toaster with bagels/biscuits (though somewhat surprisingly - no bread). There is also a tea/coffee machine in the entrance hall that is free and available 24/7 and for out of hours snacking, a couple of vending machines provide sandwiches, chips, chocolate bars, etc.

There are a couple of restaurants within "easy" walking distance of the Hotel (Outback Steakhouse, Sea Galley and Buffallo Wings), with a further selection about three blocks away. Bus stop immediately outside the front door of the Hotel and under $10 for taxi to the City centre.

Finally - nice touch is the free shuttle bus from Hotel to Airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TankerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and liked it then. It has since been updated and by the looks of things every part of the hotel has been renovated and it is WONDEFUL now. First, the rooms smell so clean. It's one thing if a room looks clean, but my husband and I both smiled and noted out loud what a pleasure it was to walk into our suite.

Customer service is excellent. I talked with two different front desk staff over the 3 days we were there and they went above and beyond to help me. Even printed off local restaurant menus from the restaurant's website when they found they were out of paper copies. There is hot tea, coffee and cocoa available 24/7, cookies at all times when the hot continental complimentary breakfast isn't laid out. The pool is very clean, a great temperature and just the right size if there aren't a lot of people using it at once. (Would LOVE it if it didn't have a window straight into the lobby...that was weird) Parking and location are convenient, too.

What really made me want to write this review was the hotel's response when we needed an extra night with no warning, because of bad winter weather. We got one of the last rooms...often a sign that you will get an old, broken or otherwise lesser room...and instead it was just like the first. It wasn't as prime a location in the hotel, and we could hear a woman yelling to someone on her phone next door, but that didn't last long. But, the room was still super clean, beds were comfortable. I was very happy with our stay and look forward to the next time. Oh, and govt per diem rates were great here...as another rater noted, you get a lot for the money!

Room Tip: the first floor rooms have higher ceilings and it did make a difference. I normally choose higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikamocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Enjoyed my stay at this Marriot Springhill Suites while traveling on business. This affordable stop was within the government per deim rates, conveniently located downtown within walking distance of several resteraunt choices, clean and comfortable. Nice lobby area w/gas fireplace and a great breakfast choice (free) included. Fitness room a little small, but adequate for a quick workout. Room was clean and quiet. Very freindly service - we arrived our first night well after midnight and had no issues. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Springhill Suites Midtown. The staff was very friendly and the property was clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was great with plenty of options. I appreciated the shuttle service which was a nice convenience. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

They have a great buffet breakfast that's part of room rate (scrambled eggs,sausage patty, waffle,oatmeal, cereal,etc.) and the afternoon cookies are good. When you book room make sure you are in the middle hotel area. The heat didn't seem to work in my room so I found extra blanket in the really small clothes hanging area, so all was good. Told front desk about it so I'm sure that will be fixed. The staff seemed to be very responsive. My room was one of the smaller rooms (that was good for me). When you enter the room there's a small area to the left with a counter with sink, microwave, coffee maker, refer on left and across from that in that little area was desk with internet hookup & wireless (free). Sort of a sitting main area with couch and TV and walk thru that to bed area and bathroom (sink/counter was separate from toilet/shower). Because my room was smaller I was able to turn tv so I could see it from the bed - not sure if that works in larger rooms. I was in room 203 on the end. They are doing site work to the empty lot on that end so it was noisy during their work hours (I wasn't going to sleep in anyway, so they were sort of an alarm clock to get up and out). That said, winter is coming so that will end soon. The walls are thin. Of all the odds I end up with family next door with small child who screams, yells, etc. The hotel is convenient for getting around in either direction. Some restaurants in walking distance (Outback Steakhouse). They are doing road construction in front (A street) and right lane (in front of hotel) was coned off so needed to maneuver to turn into entrance. Large movie theatre down the street (36th). They will pick up and drop you off at airport, but you really need a rental car for Anchorage.

Room Tip: When you make reservation, just ask to be away from any construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel is easy to find and has plenty of parking, including a back entrance to the hotel.
The breakfast is relatively rich, with roll-your-own waffles and even includes hard boiled eggs (cold, reminded me of military service long ago).
Room was better than OK.
Front desk staff is courteous, although some persons there do not posses the level of knowledge and the human-interaction skills required for the front desk. My guess is that some are summer-only temps.
Shuttle to Airport may be earlier or later than you need it, but it is very useful and free.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503-4012
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing