We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and was quite pleased.

Room decor was more upscale than I'm used to...

beds - nice & soft, had plenty of pillows.

room - enjoyed having an open fridge (nothing crammed in it), nice flat panel tv (that could rotate, sorta), separate sofa, lamps, and bathroom with break-out sink.

breakfast - was efficient, food was fresh, but busy

pool - never got a chance to use it, too many kids

parking - at the time, it appeared as though they were doing some construction and the lot was in bad shape.

checkin - was fairly efficient, but for some reason they couldn't put my Marriott Rewards number in, however central res was able to help.

Internet - was sketchy, but this is Alaska. Don't plan on streaming NetFlix without a few buffer breaks.

Hotel is located in a fair spot with restaurants within walking distance and a movie theater a skip behind the hotel.

The only complaint I could come up with is the layout of my room - I'm not sure if I had a special room or not - but the desk was around the corner from the tv... I typically like to watch TV while I'm working and this wasn't possible.

Room Tip: Get an east facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverDown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    138
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
118
87
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for only one night, but I enjoyed my stay there. Check in was quick and friendly.

My room was a mini-suite: large, comfortable, and quiet. The room had a king-size bed, end tables with lamps and a telephone, a writing desk and chair with a lamp and a second telephone, a flat-screen TV with multiple cable channels, a dresser with several drawers, a clock radio, a mini-fridge, a microwave oven, and a stainless steel sink with cupboards below it. This is the usual setup for most Springhill Suites, so there was nothing special there.

The bathroom was nice: a separate sink, bathtub with shower, commode, and plenty of towels and soaps.

Breakfast was included in the room price ($180 per night), and consisted of waffles, scrambled eggs, cold cereal, muffins, bagels, bananas, and a large assortment of beverages.

The hotel has a spa, heated indoor swimming pool, and a gym with about six workout machines.

Overall, this was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was a good hotel for the price. The room was a bit small but it was clean and nicely decorated. It also had the necessary amenities that we appreciated-a refrigerator, microwave. The hotel had a coin operated laundry which came in handy-down side is that it is only once machine and once dryer. They did provide a complimentary breakfast that was hot, and you could make your own waffle. You always had access to coffee, tea or hot chocolate anytime of the day which was also nice when you come in at odd hours.
Shuttle service was pretty good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during a (mostly) business trip. We got a suite with king bed, comfortable sitting room and modern TV, and desk space big enough for actual work. It was all quite comfortable and quiet, and overall it did what we wanted for our visit. The hotel shuttle picked us up from the airport on request, and kindly dropped us at the Alaska Rail station when we left to travel up to Denali Park. Breakfast buffet was OK (despite plastic plates and cutlery). There was wireless internet, but connecting was much more awkward than in most hotels these days. The fitness room was small, with one machine of each type and some free weights, but not enough room to swing the weights; the exercycle did not work, but when we returned to town a few days later for another brief stopover, it had been fixed. Because we didn't have a car, to get around town we just used either taxis or the city bus (which had a stop immediately in front of the hotel, ran more or less on schedule, and got us downtown in 10 minutes). This was vastly cheaper than renting a car, if you can put up with the clientele on the buses -- a mixture of people who probably can't afford their own car, along with some drunks and druggies). Conveniently, there's a Walmart just a block away from the hotel. Overall, a good place for the purpose and we'd be willing to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

First up, most of the "Traveller Photos" have been posted by VFM Leonardo who is not a traveller at all but is basically the Marriott Group. But the photos that have been posted under the review "Bon establissement" are a realistic reflection of what this hotel looks like.

We were given the lamest welcome I have ever received at a hotel by a grumpy young man on the front desk. He needs retraining.

The rooms were large and were clean. They have been given a partial refurb - i.e. the beds, TV, carpet etc are all new, but the ceiling still has awful artex and the room retains some dated features like an old school fan. But overall the room was ok if not a little garish.

I didn't like was the notice advising of the availability of "mature content" as it called it on the TV (aka porn), and another notice advising that a sharps bin is available at front desk. I've never seen the latter at any other hotel, and both notices put an image of what might have previously been going on in the room into my head that I'd rather not have had. But if mature content is a key requirement of your stay, it sounds like you will be happy.

The bed was large and comfortable, and the black out curtains worked well. The breakfast the next day was really good for this type of hotel (the lady manning the breakfast station was friendly and worked really hard), the internet speed was good, and front desk was much more pleasant. A convenient location from the airport (there are loads of hotels around here), and very near Walmart if this is the start of a long trip and you need to pick up some provisions.

To put it into context, we had a night booked at SpringHill Suite University Lake also in Anchorage for later in our stay, and we cancelled it based on our stay here. I wouldn't stay here again though as I think there are probably better options available in Anchorage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights in June, 2012, on a work assignment. I was given a room with updated furnishings and bedding, all comfortable and clean. For a single person, the size was spacious. The desk had generous space for a laptop and files to do work. Easy connection via the lamp on the desk versus having to crawl under the desk to plug-in. I found the internet speed to be adequate -- it easily streamed an online video I needed to view for work. Since it was summer solstice & I'm from the Midwest, I appreciated the black-out backing on the curtains! I was on the second floor facing the main thoroughfare and did not notice the street noise. The toilet/shower were in a separate room from the sink so no dealing with a fogged mirror after showering. As for common areas and services, the breakfast buffet was acceptable and it made it easy to grab some nutritious food (fruit, yogurt, eggs) when an early morning meeting looms. Staff were courteous and helpful. My only hiccup was losing money in a vending machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel is fine but nothing spectactular . We were her 2 nights .June 2012 .The staff are real friendly and helpfull. Room was good ,clean although a little worn

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msquared_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503-4012
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing