We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Hidden Hills, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not so convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in midtown, not being familiar with Anchorage. I would have preferred downtown. We didn't have a car, so finding good restaurants within walking distance was impossible. In summer, we would have walked, but in winter with snow and ice it was hazardous. The room was spacious--two double beds, a sitting area and kitchen. Nice bathroom. However the closet was nothing more than a clothes rack in the corner. Only two small drawers. The staff was nice, some being smarter than others. Hot breakfast was free. Shuttle service to the train station and the airport. We took the bus into town. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Be sure to check the schedule. It only goes once an hour. There is a small exercise room and a small pool and hot tub. There is a multiplex movie theater next door. There is no central air or heat, just a unit under the window which makes noise all night.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side facing the movie theater. The front side faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    131
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
111
80
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kotzebue, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I always stay at this hotel when I visit Anchorage. The staff are friendly, the room is clean and nicely decorated, the bed is COMFORTABLE, and it's conveniently located next to shopping, the movie theater, airport, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell, Alaska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I've stayed at several Springhill suites and they are always nice. The location of this one is very convenient and within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, and the movie theater. It is actually right next to the parking lot for the theater which can be very noisy when movies are getting out and during winter plowing late at night.

The pool is extremely small. I'd say if you have more than 6 people in there it would feel very crowded.

The room is nice with a separate sleeping area and living area. However there is only one tv and it is awkwardly placed between the two areas and not very easy to view from either. I don'[ think this will be a problem for most people since they are not coming to AK to watch TV. But we live in AK and enjoy watching TV when we are in town since we don't have it at home.

The breakfast was very good. There was plenty of it and many choices to make everyone happy.

If you would like all the perks of Springhill Suties with a bigger pool and a quieter location and better room layout, stay at the Springhill Suites at University Lake. It is just a more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side facing the movie theater especially in winter. If they plow in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK_Syringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Good mid-town location, with the convenience of lots of restaurants within easy driving distance and a few within walking range too. Wal-Mart and movie theatre very close (if those interest you), very friendly staff, and nice accomodations. Breakfast was a good mix of choices, although it would have been nice to substitute something else for the sausage and scrambled eggs that were offered each day.

Room Tip: A room on the rear side of the building might be helpful for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2kidsin2w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here both on the front end and back end of a great Alaskan adventure. I stayed on points for both nights. While the same points as the full service Marriott downtown, I selected this hotel primarily for it's central location and that they don't charge for parking! I believe they also run an airport shuttle.

It's no more than a 10 minute drive to the airport and about the same to downtown. Easy access to just about everything you'd want to do in Anchorage. We were renting an RV so the Walmart right next door came in very handy too.

Rooms are large, complimentary breakfast sufficient for our needs and amenities are typical of a Marriott property. All, in all a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalDixieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, AK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business and chose it primarily based on location and price. I was pleasantly surprised with my stay there and especially appreciated the easy-in-and-out location as I was driving to several locations. I usually avoid downtown hotels as you're paying for parking on top of the hotel bill. The room was very clean and well designed. Breakfast was standard eggs, sausages, oatmeal kind of fare, but I was glad it was there. Only minor gripe was that they have this nice lemon water dispenser there but never any cups. I slept well and it was quiet... which is a major must for me. Shopping, restaurants and movies are all nearby and it's a short drive downtown.

Room Tip: I was not on the street side, so my room may have been quieter that those that are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyes1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights before driiving to Seward to get on a cruise (about a three hour drive). The hotel was clean and friendly. Breakfast was sufficient and a great central location to explore. If you want a nice hike, Flat Top is close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503-4012
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing