We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel was clean and up to date. Staff friendly and helpful. I depended on them for alot of local info. Lobby is a bit small but I didn't stay in the lobby very long (who Does?) Breakfest was a hot breakfest that the menu would vary a little every day. Free newspaper also in the morning. Coffee is out most of the day too!! Shuttle bus to the airport available all day (Don't forget to tip the driver. the employees take turns driving). A few restraunts and a walmart within walking distance. The room has a refridgerator, microwave and sink. Wireless internet worked great. The mid-town and downtown Springhill suites get confused for each other so be advised. All and all it was a good hotel I would recomend to a friend. The rooms were not fancy but were clean, maintianed well and sufficant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nitejetmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    131
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
111
80
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked 2 rooms for our family before our cruise. The location was convenient and there was a Walmart within walking distance. The shuttle picked up part of our group at the airport, the rest took a taxi. Unfortunately, we were not on the top floor and it sounded like a herd of elephants was. We called several times to the front desk and were told that we could complain to the people upstairs ourselves as there was only one person at the front desk and they couldn't leave it. The bathroom had alot of black hairs from the previous guest(s) in the shower and on the sides of the tub and the shower walls. Gross. The building seemed old and worn with very old cabinets in our kitchenette areas and stained sofas in the bedrooms. The common areas need alot of sprucing up also. The breakfast was typical SpringHill fare and was good. I wouldn't stay there again unless I had no options.

Room Tip: Only stay on the top floor--apparently no insulation between floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaTraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello –

First I would like to thank you for the feedback, and second please accept my sincere apology for those items that were just not right during your stay. I’ve talked with the general manager regarding each item on your list. Our goal is to provide great service and superior housekeeping for our guests, and in your case that just didn’t happen.

Thanks again for your input; we’ll incorporate it into our training program.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The SpringHill Suites is located 2 miles outside of the downtown Anchorage and is a convenient location for all activities. The hotel is typical Marriott SpringHill Suite quality and is a newer property. The rooms are clean, relatively large with good bathrooms. The common areas are good. The staff is friendly and helpful with tips on area activities. Breakfast is included and is typical of SpringHill property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Springhill Suites Anchorage-Midtown for one night in August 2013 following a late flight arrival at ANC.

Overall, this is a good property and I would recommend it for a short stay, especially if you have early/late flights. It was exactly two turns on surface roads from rental car garage to hotel.

Pros:
--Comfortable, clean rooms.
--Good breakfast buffet and nice breakfast area. Very well done, better than most hotel offerings with good hot food selections/breads/drinks.
--One block from Wal-Mart. Great place to load up the car for a two week road trip through Alaska.

Cons:
--The property could use an overall refresh, especailly the common areas. The halls and elevators are tired.
--The hotel staff was friendly, but wildly uninformed. We arrived late, hoping to get dinner and drink before turning in. We asked the front desk for restaurant suggestion but were told nothing in the area was open and we'd have to go downtown. We knew from earlier online research there was a Buffalo Wild Wings nearby and asked for directions. The front desk said BWW did not exist in the area but suggested a gas station/convenience store across the parking lot. Thanks, but no thanks. Well, when we entered our room and opened the drapes, we were nearly blinded by the BWW neon sign; 100 yards from the hotel…
--Hotel "visitors". There was a drunk/disturbed homeless women in the parking lot. She came into lobby several times demanding to see someone during breakfast. They'd send her away and she'd leave for 10-15 minutes, but then be back, louder and drunker (I think). This went on for over an hour before they finally had her removed by police. I know its a bad situation (and they handled it with compassion) but the situation was unresolved for too long.

If you need a place to spend a night in Anchorage, and you don't want to head downtown, the Springhill Suites is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelRevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were in town for a convention being held at the Hilton but decided to stay at the SpringHill Suites instead.

The hotel provided us free pickup and drop-off at the Alaska Railroad station - pickup by simply calling them and they were there in 10 minutes time and drop-off scheduled at the front desk for any time you wanted to go. (They also provide free airport shuttle which is about the same distance away.)

Front desk staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful - from check-in to check-out and throughout our stay. One morning we needed to get to the train station real early - before breakfast starts. The gal at the front desk asked what we liked and said they'd have something ready for us. We were super suprised when about 20 minutes later she came to our room with breakfast items for the following morning - WOW! On other mornings we found that breakfast was actually available even earlier than what the normal opening time was - which made it very convenient for us.

Our room was clean and comfortable - and although I have not stayed at many SpringHill Suites before I'm beginning to like this brand - even more than Courtyard, etc. The extra space goes a long way. We had a room on the back side of the hotel on an upper floor and it was very quiet.

The only drawback was the location - since we didn't have a vehicle we were limited to the Outback Steakhouse and a few other chain restaurants that were a more than a short block away. Then again - it is a short ride from downtown Anchorage and the cab fare is more than reasonable.

Would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here during a recent business trip. Great location in Midtown with proximity to restaurants, stores, theater (next door) and main streets. Very helpful staff during my stay. Room was clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambam99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was my fourth trip to Anchorage and I usually stay at the Marriott, but price brought me to the SpringHill Suites. It is in a very convenient area and within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shopping. The rooms were very nicely decorated and spacious but it's the staff that really shines. Everyone I spoke with made me feel right at home, even though I was a long way from New Jersey. And the breakfast is outstanding with a great array of choices from healthy (oatmeal and cereal) to waffles. And the lollipops on the counter are awesome! Will definitely stay here again when in Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikem18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503-4012
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing