We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
South Amboy, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here after arriving in Anchorage, Very clean and comfortable. Room was large, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink. Also a couch and desk. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecampb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    136
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
113
85
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here twice, as we passed through Anchorage on a month-long Alaska trip, and it was one of our top hotels. The staff is very, very friendly and service-oriented. In addition to the very comfortable and quiet room, they helped us navigate several travel complications including storing our extra bags and cooler while we traveled to Denali, and making reservations for us at the Courtyard when our schedule changed and they were (unfortunately) full.

The property is an easy 5-minute drive to downtown Anchorage, and another 5 minutes or so to the airport. I would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

At first I thought that staying here would be inconvenient as our first choice was the Marriott downtown and that was not available for the days we wanted. I am SO glad it worked out that way as we did stay at the downtown property at the end of the trip and I truly preferred SpringHill Suites! There is a complimentary shuttle from the airport. You are within walking distance (we did not rent a car for the few days in Anchorage) to some great restaurants (Mooses Tooth, Table Six and Kinleys - I will review those separately). Also Walmart right next door to purchase that necessary can of bear spray before heading out to hike! Room had LOTS of room, was spotless and bed and pillows very comfortable. Room had room darkening shades that came in very handy as it was still daylight when we went to bed around 11:30 p.m. Breakfast had everything you could want to start a day of outdoor activities (in our case) or shopping, etc. If you cannot find something to eat at this breakfast buffet, then you are way too fussy and perhaps need something "different". Laundry! That was so helpful to us as we could clean up and start fresh before heading north for more hiking and exploring! I accessed it first thing early morning and had no problem. Purchase detergent out of the machine, insert coins and you are good to go! How convenient! Pool/hot tub was a nice touch after a long day of exploring. I would say, however, that the temp should be turned down a bit on the hot tub! Ouch! And turning it down a notch or two will save them some energy as well. The shuttle is also available to take you downtown and pick you up and bring you back up to 6pm (I think it was that time). Very convenient. When shuttle was not available, taxis can be arranged but the fares did seem to vary with the individual taxis perhaps depending on the time of day?! Either way, around $12 - $15. When we did take the shuttle, the drivers were very friendly and quick to want to share information about their Alaska! Cookies always awaited us when we returned from our adventures (and we very well received!). Local TV channel (Alaska Channel 2) was our go to station first thing in the morning to check weather, etc. Great station for local news! I missed not having it at other accommodations we stayed at during our time in Alaska. I would absolutely stay here again if we are ever in Anchorage again! Great way to start our trip. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room on the backside was very quiet. We never heard any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifesAnAdventure216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were here from June 21 - 26. It was just as nice as our stay here last year. They are maintaining the hotel in excellent and clean condition. Even the hall carpet was clean, spot free, and smelled fresh.

Our room was large with 2 queen beds. I think the room is larger than the one we had last year with one kind bed. I like how the sink is separate from the toilet/bath area which seems to be the same set up in all Springhill Suites where we've stayed. I like that.

The wifi connects once and then it always stays on. For $5.95 you can get the faster wifi but for gold and platinum elite Marriott members you can select this option for free. And it works very well.

There are the standard Chupa Chups lolly pops always available at the front desk. There are cookies in the afternoon. Unfortunately they tend to run out early and we are usually out hiking or biking until late. I mentioned this to the man at the front desk and he pleasantly told me he'd save me some the next day. To my surprise there were a load of them still available so maybe they actually made a lot more than usual. Either way, I appreciated the offer. There is always coffee (decaf, too) and hot water for tea available. The coffee is very good. The breakfast has a reasonable selection so there is generally something to suit anyone's taste or nutritional needs. It can get crowded in the morning but they have plentiful seating with an extra room in addition to the main large area.

The only downside is that there is only 1 washer and dryer for the entire hotel. We like to wash our clothes and sometimes someone will come in and throw their wet stuff in the dryer just before your stuff is done in the washer. This is a big inconvenience. More machines won't fit in the small room so if they set up another room in the hotel, this would be the only thing they need to make our stay better. Many people feel no need for laundry facilities. It's $2.00 a load for wash or dry.

We will gladly book and stay here again as it's been our favorite place in Anchorage out of the places we've stayed. The parking is free. And it's an easy walk to our favorite restaurant and pub, Moose's Tooth. We like this area much more than downtown as far as getting around and available meal options. It's an easy drive to the International House of Hotdogs, too. That's a place you don't want to miss while in Anchorage.

When looking for a great value, Springhill Suites has risen to the top of our list. They are roomy, comfortable, reliable and fairly priced, including this property in midtown. And they are part of the great Marriott loyalty program.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitsburg, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Clean, nice rooms, ours with king bed, mini kitchen with fridge and microwave, couch seating area with eating tables, and desk area Spacious, and the hotel offers a great little breakfast until 9, and coffee And tea all day. And we only had to wait about 10 minutes for the hotel van to pick us up from the airport. Kind of updated 1950s vibe.

Room Tip: Ask about all the options. Book as soon as you know you will be traveling, as we found many hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked online with Marriott at a fairly high rate. I usually stay at SpringHill Suites and have always found them nice, and for the most part, newer. This property is old and tired. The best thing about the property was that it had shuttle service to and from the airport. I should have known I was going to be disappointed when the female van driver that picked us up from the airport told us that the Fairfield Inn was a much nicer property and it was new. She also said that the SpringHill Suites used to be a Fairfield Inn. Like someone once said, "it's like putting lipstick on a pig." I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Carolyn,

I am sorry you were so disappointed in our SpringHill Suites here in Midtown. I understand we are an older property, and we did used to be a Fairfield, but my staff takes great pride in providing a clean, safe environment for guests who are interested in seeing a little bit of a state that is just so vastly beautiful.

I apologize we didn't meet your expectations and that you are clearly disappointed in your stay.

Respectfully,

Lenora Moses
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Springhill suites are trying to be a bit different from the rest and we like that. The room was bright and airy with everything we could need. The beds were super comfy. The breakfast was also very good with lots of choices. We found all the staff to be happy and helpful and would say this is a good choice to stay when in Anchorage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry and Nicol... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Barry and Nicole,

Thank-you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel, and thank-you for including us in your travel plans!

We appreciate you recognizing our customer service, it is wonderful when the staff is able to see their efforts recognized. I am also pleased to see you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.

We hope you are able to come stay with us again, we would love to have you back.

Lenora Moses
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
513 reviews
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown
Address: 3401 A St, Anchorage, AK 99503-4012
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#16 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Located in midtown, walking distance to shopping and entertainment. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing