We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value,friendly staff, and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great value,friendly staff, and modern”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I've been to many a hotel, but this one is super nice. It's been updated. The exterior landscaping is beautiful, the rooms are very very nice. You get free breakfast, a cookie snack later in the day and an evening meal which varies day to day from fajitas, to baked potato night to tacos plus wine or beer for adults (yay!) The pool is great too. It's a savings unless you want to eat 3 meals out each day. We are here for 4 nights and enjoy it. We highly recommend especially for families.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom room.gives some privacy for mom and dad. Both have their own bathrooms..major b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davethewave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    88
    27
    6
    12
See reviews for
95
35
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband, two teenagers, and I stayed at the Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown for 4 nights in June 2013. We used Marriott Rewards points for a two bedroom suite. The hotel was conveniently located and had free parking, complimentary Wi-Fi, and complimentary continental breakfast. The suite had two bedrooms with queen size beds, a pull-out sofa in the living room, and two bathrooms. With two teenagers, I loved having two bathrooms!

The complimentary continental breakfast was good consisting of the usual items: yogurts, cereals, assorted pastries, fruits, coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate, juice, etc.

I know the hotel offers evening social stuff, but we were too busy with sightseeing and other activities to take advantage of it. Overall, we had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were upgraded from studio to 1 bedroom. The hotel was completely full. It is in a neighborhood so not a lot of restauants very close. They did serve a light dinner free on Mon-Thurs. nights. Served sloppy joes, salad and fries with 2 alcoholic drinks on the night we were there. We opted to drive our rental car to a restaurant but many took advantage and seemed pleased. Our room was great. Clean and everything seemed new. The bed was comfortable. They do have an airport shuttle. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindafrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the Staff was very nice to me and to my family. Customer service was excellent, every question and request we had was answered. When We got to our room it smelled clean and fresh and the rooms are well organized, it looks great. I spot I enjoyed the most is the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The room was clean. The front desk staff was aloof and they were not sure who their manager was or who was in charge to speak with about safety concerns.The pool hand rail is a hazzard, there was black something dripping from above into the pool. Despite the posted open hours, the pool is closed each morning for maintenance, however they did not address the pool issues. The breakfast area had more staff in the lines than guests. I left after one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19trekker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello –
I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service, but we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. Please accept my sincere apology.

We are in the process of updating all of our permanent pool signs for more accuracy, and the maintenance crew has addressed the ceiling drip and taken a look at the hand rail.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not satisfying. I don’t like to hear that a guest felt like a front desk associate was aloof or wasn’t sure if the general manager or the operations manager was in charge at the time, so we’ll be addressing that at once.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

As noted by other reviewers, this is a property that has a good location but there does seem to be something that is not quite up to the usual Marriott standards. I stayed there for a week and the longer i stayed there the more low quality it appeared. The entrances were dirty, cigarette butts and trash was overflowing from the garbages. To see it on one day would indicate that perhaps there is a small issue you are willing to overlook but to see it repeatedly, you know that the staff just don't appear to care. The pool was closed for two days during the time period, as I was there with my kids, that just was not ok. Again, the excuse of it needing maintenance on one day is understandable, but twice or more and you have to wonder. A mystery to me is how they can close it for two days but completely miss the broken handrail...

Overall the rooms are to Marriott standards but the cleanliness left much to be desired. I made the mistake of looking behind a couch for my cell and found all kinds of things that housekeeping apparently didn't find worthy of picking up.

Another "odd" thing was what occurred on a holiday. The breakfast service was "limited". A note was put under the door full of broken english and misspelled words explaining that service would be limited due to the holiday. The rate was not reduced, just the service and meal service. This was not explained upon check in and the note didn't include anything approximating an apology.

On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable and the room was nice. The pool when open is nice.

This property is not one I can recommend. The management appears more interested in excuses to not perform than in actually living up to the expectations one would have for a Marriott property

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators... the elevators are not very logically located with some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIAKtravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello –

First I would like to thank you for the feedback, and second please accept my sincere apology for those items that were just not right during your stay. I’ll be talking with the general manager right away regarding each item on your list. Our goal is to provide great service for our guests, and in your case that just didn’t happen.

Thanks again for your input; we’ll incorporate it into our training program.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I love the location. It's in the middle of everything, and the Moose's Tooth is less nearby. However, I was not satisfied with a few things at this hotel. I had a reservation for four days at this hotel at the government rate. My first two nights I stayed in a one bedroom suite at the government rate. I was told when I checked in that after two days I have to change rooms to a studio at the same government rate, and it is impossible for me to stay in the same room. In three years I have stayed at numerous Marriott Locations for over 100 times. This is the first time this has ever happened. Unfortunately, all of the good hotels in town were booked solid so I had no choice. It is a real inconvenience to change rooms, especially when your business meeting is at 8 am. and you can't check into your new room until 3 P.M. Subsequently, I had to pack up all of my belongings, and ask the hotel to store my suitcases in there utility closet. Also, when I received my bill for the first two nights, mysteriously 2 soft drinks appeared on my bill. This will be the first and last time I stay at this hotel. I will make it a point to stay at the Marriott downtown, where their customer service is first rate.

Room Tip: Double check your bill for accuracy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopekaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello –

Thank you for the feedback, and please accept my sincere apology. That certainly sounds like a lot of switching around and hassle that is not normal for guests of Residence Inn, so I’ll pass your comments on to the general manager so she can address it.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown

Property: Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown
Address: 1025 E 35th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, we offer newly redesigned spacious studios and one or two bedroom suites; each with fully equipped kitchens (microwave, stove, dishwasher and refrigerator), generous work space, wireless internet access and a direct phone line with voicemail. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, guest receptions (Monday through Thursday), and shuttle service to Ted Stevens International Airport. Other features include a business center, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room, complimentary newspaper, iron and ironing board in all suites, cable TV with in-room movies, complimentary grocery shopping services, guest laundry and valet service and daily housekeeping service. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing