We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre-cruise stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights prior to cruise. Arrived after midnight in Anchorage. Short wait for hotel shuttle, quick check-in and we were comfortably in bed. Room was a good size, clean and staff was very friendly. Fast food and Village Inn were within walking distance. Hotel offers a bare bones free breakfast (enough to start your day). We took advantage of the public bus ($2) to get downtown and back, very convenient and saved some $ on cabs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank atlanta.david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello atlanta.david!

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your Pre-Cruise hotel. I'm pleased that you found our facility comfortable and our staff friendly. I'll be sure to share your comments with everybody.

I hope you had a fantastic cruise! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    148
    47
    16
    15
See reviews for
104
97
31
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very good place to stay while in Anchorage, 2014 will be the 4th stay here. Breakfast is very good, rooms clean and modern, easy to find and quiet. Location is ideal for my purposes, close to airport and float plane base.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mad722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello Mad722,

I'm happy to hear that you enjoy staying here! Thank you for your loyalty and for your kind words. I'll be sure to share them with my staff. We all really appreciate feedback from our guests and thank you for sharing your recent experience with the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage!

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Anchorage for five nights in early June. I have nothing but excellent things to say; from the breakfast, location, customer service, cleanliness and spectacular views this was the perfect hotel ! A special thanks to Trisha at the front desk for her professionalism and always going the extra mile for the guests. My room was on the 2nd floor (221) and had a great view of the snow capped mountains. The room was spacious and modern. The only, and I mean only, negative comment is regarding the pillows. They said "firm" but were far from it. This hotel is less than a five minute drive from the airport and a ten minute drive to resturants and shopping. If I ever return to Anchorage for business, this will be where I stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello AshleyG,

I am pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay! Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with the world. I will definitely look into the pillow situation. We should have two distinct pillow types in each room.

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived a few days early in Anchorage before taking a Royal Caribbean Cruise from Seward, AK. The hotel was nice and clean, as expected of a Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast was good and a nice selection of fruits as well. The front desk staff was exceptional, day and night.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. The shuttle from the airport was prompt and efficient. Unfortunately, they to not go to the rail station, which is the only negative I can think of about this hotel. The desk staff was able to provide us with several options to get to the train station at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Ron Solo-

Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate your comments and will make sure to share them with my staff.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located 5 minutes from the Anchorage airport, easy to find. Rooms very, very clean and new looking. Bathrooms: lots of counter space. Breakfast buffet had a large variety of breakfast foods: 3 different sausages, hot biscuits, cinnamon rolls, bagels, different breakfast breads. Options for pancakes, scrambled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Nice coffees and juice. Only thing I would have added: trays to take food to rooms. Large dining area and long hours: 6-10. Friendly personnel.
So far, so good. Nice view of gorgeous snow-topped mountains.

Room Tip: The A/C in room 227 was extremely loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryFLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello MaryFLincoln,

Thank you for reviewing our property and sharing your recent experience with the world! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I'll be sure to share your comments with my staff.

I am sorry that you didn't have a tray to take food back to your room. We do have them available. I'll check with the breakfast staff to ensure that our sign indicating this is always out.

Thank you again for sharing you r comments. We value important feedback- its the only way we can improve our overall operations.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

These folks see me a couple of times a year for about a week each time. They are friendly and helpful to travelers: vacation and business alike. They have a consistent HIE breakfast that lets me save $10 each morning. Good shades for handling the summer's night sunshine. The fitness room is on the weak side, so go to the Y. Super convenient to the airport and easy to get downtown.

Room Tip: Second floor is the lobby level. Parking on that level gets tight, so first floor is convenient to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Tyson R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate your kind words and your loyalty. I am pleased that you find our staff to be helpful and will make sure to share your comments with the staff.

Thank you again for your loyalty! Hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We chose to stay here on the night that we arrived in Anchorage. They offer a shuttle to and from the airport - free. Our flight arrived at 10:30pm and the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes of our call. Very efficient and much appreciated. The rooms are spacious, clean and have two very comfortable queen beds (some of the other hotels downtown have full/double beds:). Staff was very friendly and we appreciated the breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, coffee and a delicious teas assortment - free. A great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello WOXC!

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with the world! I am pleased to hear that our hotel was "perfect for your needs"! I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Anchorage. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#18 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#45 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 72 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#20 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing