We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base for Alaska adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Park Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great home base for Alaska adventure”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We used this hotel as our base in Alaska. Very nice accommodations, clean, quiet and conveniently located to the airport. Very easy to navigate around Anchorage from there. They allowed us to park our car there while we flew out to Brooks Lodge with no additional charge. The front desk personnel were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Request a front side room as the smoking area is out the back and you can hear voices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Lynn L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your adventures bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    150
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
105
98
31
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This new hotel is only six minutes from the airport but it has a local great northern woods feel to it. The rooms are large, the facility is clean, and the staff is friendly. Like other Holiday Inns I have stayed at, the new construction hotels have fantastic beds. It has one of the better breakfast I have seen and -surprise- big cups of coffee with lids to go. The showers have good water pressure and overall it's very easy to feel relaxed, clean, and ready to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Joan T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! I am so glad you were able to relax and enjoy your stay. I appreciate your kind words and will make to share them with my staff.

We look forward to your next visit! I'll personally ensure a BIG cup of coffee with a lid is waiting for you! Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Near airport
Refurbished nicely. Attractive decor
Clean rooms
Pillows are too thick
Mattress is firm
Granite countertops
Good breakfast
Plenty of parking in rear
A bit expensive in summer
Plenty of fast food nearby
Shuttle to airport
Recommend











Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello bchawla,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and share your comments with the world. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints....for an overnight is perfect. Tons of food options with Wendy's next door and other restaurants on the other side of the hotel. Great breakfast included in the rate, with eggs, biscuits, pancakes, and turkey sausage. Easy and free shuttle service both ways. Free wi fi. Decent enough room - not fancy, but clean and dependable. Good stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cj_minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello cj_minneapolis,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our property and share your recent experience with us. Thank you so much for your kind and candid comments. I will make sure to share them with my staff!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I got off the plane tired and ready for sleep. Our hotel courtesy van was there in minutes to help get our luggage and our tired selves to the hotel fast. The night receptionist, Larissa, was a sweetheart in getting our room key to us quickly so we could shower and sleep. The room was perfect, the beds heavenly, and we slept like logs. The view was the backyard of a neighbor so the curtains stayed closed. We were out and about anyway. The breakfast was fantastic! So many choices: sausage, eggs, pancakes (heavenly), toast, juice and everything else you can imagine with cereal and bagels. Just perfect to get you started on sightseeing. A great little hotel tucked away. Larissa was there the next morning eager to help us with our questions. Give this hotel a try. We stayed here two nights and I can't wait to go back! It's also right next door to a Village Inn restaurant so you can have lunch and dinner there if you choose. They also have good food.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the elevator and we accommodated with our request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello Ruth G,

Thank you for your kind words! I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you consider us a "great find". I am sure Larissa will be thrilled that she made your trip that much better.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I liked this hotel and the fact that it is away from the main part of town, buses we're only a couple of dollars to get around. We found a wonderful gift shop and we had a nice night out at the Bear tooth theatrepub but that was about it, the town didn't have much to offer so thank god for our hotel being a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Phee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Phee K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your recent experience with the world!. I am pleased to hear that you have a pleasant stay.

Thank you again for choosing Holiday inn Express Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights prior to cruise. Arrived after midnight in Anchorage. Short wait for hotel shuttle, quick check-in and we were comfortably in bed. Room was a good size, clean and staff was very friendly. Fast food and Village Inn were within walking distance. Hotel offers a bare bones free breakfast (enough to start your day). We took advantage of the public bus ($2) to get downtown and back, very convenient and saved some $ on cabs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank atlanta.david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello atlanta.david!

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your Pre-Cruise hotel. I'm pleased that you found our facility comfortable and our staff friendly. I'll be sure to share your comments with everybody.

I hope you had a fantastic cruise! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#46 of 73 in Anchorage
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 73 in Anchorage
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.1 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#20 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing