We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ! Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A special shout out to Erica at the reception for being super accommodating and professional to our requests late at night !! We asked for a room change twice because it faced the parking lot and she complied without any hesitation.
We stayed at this hotel twice (1 night inbound and 1 night outbound) during our trip to Anchorage. In between, we stayed at the fancy Captain Cook for a conference but the HIE beat out Captain Cook hands down in every area except for its history, downtown location and views. The HIE hotel is a no fuss everything you would need is provided, kind of hotel. The location is super convenient. We arrived past midnight and got to the hotel in a rental car from the airport in less than 10 minutes. The rooms looked new and are very well designed and spacious. We liked the fact that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. The wifi . Parking is convenient. Breakfast hours are very convenient and the breakfast was satisfying. Some rooms face the parking lot at floor level which was an issue for us. Also, like everything else in Alaska during the tourist season, it is priced higher than we would have liked to pay. But to be fair, it was no more expensive than other comparable hotels. But other than that, what's not to like about this place ? Would definitely stay here again !!!

Room Tip: Room 146 is a good room that does not face a parking lot and has easy access to the exit if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MJWantsToTravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello MJwantstotravel,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stays with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Anchorage. Its very rewarding to know that you found our staff services and accommodations comfortable and "fantastic". I'm sure Erika will be thrilled to learn that she made your stay that much more memorable.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express! We look forward to welcoming you the next time your adventures bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I like the HIExpress brand and am rarely disappointed. The location was perfect for an early morning flight from the city. All amenities, including a business center to print boarding passes. Friendly and courteous staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Geographer08,

I thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your Anchorage accommodations as well as sharing your recent experience with the world. I am very happy to hear that you had a "restful stay"!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is typical HI-Express, which is exactly why we selected to stay here. Staff are friendly, accommodating. Cookies and milk in the evening! Close to the airport, shuttle for pick ups or drop offs at the airport and/or train station. Internet is slow...that is Alaska..all over. Google it..for real, slowest state by far!

Room Tip: You will hear airplanes. Keep the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KLMMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello KLMMadison,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of our property on TripAdvisor. My staff and I appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you again, the next time your travel plans bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here on two occasions and the overall service was great. The front desk persons were very helpful with directions, transportation help, recommendations of restaurants and attractions. On our second stay we had 80 pounds of frozen fish that that helped keep frozen until our plane left for home. Without this we could have lost it all with the delays. One last item, their breakfast each day was to die for. I have never stayed at any other Holiday Inn that had the selections and service that these folks did. Thank you for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cmichaeld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Cmichaeld1,

80 lbs of fish! Wow! That's incredible. I happy to hear that we could keep it frozen while you enjoyed your last days in Alaska. Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to my staff!

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your adventures bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We actually booked into another hotel, but due to some problems there, moved our reservations to the Holiday Inn Express on Spenard. I am So glad we did.

The location was close to rental car agencies, very close to the airport, and offered free shuttle service to both the rental car company and the hotel. From the moment we arrived we experienced friendly, efficient and professional service. The facility was clean, safe and comfortable, though parking got a bit crowded on 4th of July weekend.

The complimentary breakfast was above average hotel fare and the dining area was clean and comfortable.

Housekeeping left us alone when we didn't want to be disturbed or didn't wish to have the room serviced, and was very good when we wanted it cleaned. They were also very friendly - a nice plus.

The laundry facilities were minimal 2 washers, 2 dryers (1 out of service while were there). I would Strongly encourage adding another stack as there were 4 guests vying for the facilities.

All in all, a great stay, and I would absolutely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDocIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello TheDocIsOut,

I am happy to hear that your recent stay was memorable. I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor. I'll make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed one night at this Holiday Inn Express. Nice room with a King size bed and a good workable desk. The internet was a bit slow but we adapted. The location makes for very easy travel from this hotel to the airport via the hotels shuttle. No issues of any kind and we very much enjoyed the breakfast. The breakfast staff was first rate.

Room Tip: Sign up for the shuttle early to insure you have a spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Tim K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with my staff, especially our "first rate" breakfast hostesses!

Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have always wanted to drive to Alaska, and finally did so this month. I decided to stay three nights at the HI Express Anchorage. I had actually arrived a few hours early at around 10:30 AM. I asked Larissa at the desk if I could check in early. She wasn't sure if there was a room available that early, but after looking in the system, she found one. After two plus days of driving from Seattle, it was very nice of her to make sure I had a room.

Before I explain the room, I must say this is the most awkwardly designed HI Express I have stayed in. The hotel is built in a hill, so the main entrance and lobby is actually on the second floor. The dining area is just to the left, the business center is in a room to a side, with two computers. This room is very well decorated, like a ski or hunting lodge, a good fit for the area. Anchorage starts to get rural and scenic not far from the hotel. It can and has been used for a small meeting area, since I don't believe there are conference rooms for rent.

The main elevator is in the hall, but the only problem is it seems to be wedged in here. There is no extra area for people waiting, luggage, etc. I can see how this can cause a problem with the flow of traffic, but I never had an issue. There is also another elevator near the end of the long hall. Rooms are on three floors spread across a long and snaking hallway, something I usually see in hotels built in the 1970s. The pool and exercise room are on the first floor, far different than most hotels which hold them on the same floor as the lobby.

The room itself is very spacious, typical of the suites I have been renting recently. The fridge is in an odd area, below the TV in a cabinet. The bathroom door is very cramped, right next to the room door. In fact, if you aren't careful, you could smack the doors together, not a good thing. Bathroom itself is fine though.

TV is adequate, as well as bed. The room window actually opens, something I rarely see these days. That's a great feature since it was in the high 60s-low 70s during the day and 50s at night. Too warm for heat, but usually too cold for AC.

I had to fly to Barrow for the night right after I checked out, and asked if I could store my car for a day and take the shuttle to the airport. They had no problem with this. Still had to take a cab to get back, but far cheaper than airport parking, I appreciate that, especially since I wasn't a guest anymore.

Price seemed a bit high even for Anchorage, but I dealt with it. It is much cheaper in winter, when fewer people travel.

Overall, despite all of the quirks, this is a great hotel in beautiful Anchorage. I would stay again of my travels ever take me back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello Keith B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am very impressed with all the detail you put into your comments and thank you for your candid feedback! I will make sure to share your comments with my staff especially, Larissa- I'm sure she will be proud to know that she made your stay that much more comfortable.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Anchorage! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your adventures bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,
Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
138 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#20 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £72 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing