We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“end of trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Duluth, MN
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“end of trip”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

10 of us Cruised from Vancouver to Anchorage--stayed at Clarion Suites. Rooms amazing--huge, comfortable. Breakfast was good. Recommended a great restaurant for supper and the big plus a ride to the airport. Alton was our driver--funny, friendly, pointed out interesting things on the way. The employees we interacted with were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A little pricy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuluthmnFroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSD_Management, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are always glad to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    172
    89
    26
    25
See reviews for
139
151
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Booneville, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a wonderful hotel on the edge of downtown Anchorage. It seems fairly new and is very nice inside. The people were all very nice and friendly. The room was nice sized and comfortable. Breakfast was great. No problems at all.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSD_Management, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are glad to hear that your stay went smoothly for you. We hope you stay with us again, when visiting Anchorage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NH
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

hotel was in a good location. Walking distance to downtown. room was a good size - both the bedroom and sitting room and clean. We got in around midnight and staff was very helpful. We got right into our room. Room had a mini-fridge and microwave. tv in both bedroom and sitting room. Had a small breakfast room and we had to wait for a table. food was what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSD_Management, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It's always a pleasure to be able to provide a great stay and see our guests enjoy the Hotel and the facilities. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevasseret Zion, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Best location, best breakfast- with everything u wished, spacious clean rooms, friendly staff that helped us with dinner Wifi is free. No wonder the place was packed when we were there. One could not ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place is not trying very hard. They seemed understaffed at the front desk a lot of the time during our 2-night stay, the decor is very dated, the breakfast is crowded and ends at 8:30, and the pool was out of service the entire time we were there. We had a 2-bed suite, it had 1 room with 2 beds and a dresser. A bit crowded, but OK. The bathroom was adequate, with sink outside the bath. The sitting room had a TV, desk, mini fridge, sink and pull-out couch. However, there was so much crammed in the room that it was difficult to pull out the couch (you can do it, but must move the desk chair so that it blocks the exit door). The hotel allows pets, and the room next to us had a barking/howling dog when we arrived. Luckily, he had stopped barking by the time we got back from dinner, and we only heard him again the next morning and then they seemed to check out. When we called the front desk to ask about it, we were not called back, and only later when we returned from dinner were we asked if we were the ones who had called about the dog, and were we allergic and was that why we were complaining.

Room Tip: Ask to not be next to a room with dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jd068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteW-AGM, Front Office Manager at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We would love to discuss these issues with you further and attempt to resolve the issues that you faced when staying with us. I would ask that you please contact the hotel directly and ask for the Front Office Manager and I would be happy to assist you. I greatly apologize for the inconveniences that you faced while at the Clarion Suites and hope that you will give us another chance to make it right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were staying one night before picking up an RV. We used the free shuttle service form the airport, we had to wait for 20 minutes after calling. The location is good, its a 10 minute walk to dowmtown and a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. We had a good, large room, it was clean and had een good bathroom en a nice bed. The staff was friendly an efficient. Breakfast was fine, however the breakfast room was al little bit small. We could store our luggage in the morning and pick it up in the afternoon. For us this was a good place to be for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The location is very good, especially if you like to walk downtown and don't want to rent a car while in town. The rooms were large, but not very well organized - it was hard creating enough space to open the sofa bed. There was no ventilation in the outer sleeping area and it got very hot. The desk chair didn't fit with the desk. Service was poor. Our room wasn't turned down as requested. They did nothing to see if we could check in early. The pool was closed for cleaning during prime swimming hours.

Thumbs up to the shuttle driver who was very nice and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightWrangler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#25 of 73 in Anchorage
538 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Property: Clarion Suites Downtown
Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites
Clarion Suites Downtown Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing