We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed to 2 nights, staff was friendly and very helpful. this is located in walking distance to town.
bicycle rentals are nearby. the pool was on first floor. the rooms are big, they even have another living room attached with a pull out sleeper, a refrigerator, microwave, sinks.

Room Tip: there is an elevator
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frostylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel has recently changed hands and the new owner and staff aren't well prepared for managing the property. Rooms are clean and comfortable, however the workout room is very small to nonexistent. In addition the internet speed (download or upload) is very slow (no ability to stream a movie on Netflix or similar).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

5 of us (mom, dad, aunt, boyfriend, and myself) stayed in a suite which I thought was a little small. With the sofa bed pulled out there may have been 1.5 ft between the bed and the tv stand. There was no way to keep the fan on without having the light on so we had to take the fluorescent light bulb out but then the light unit itself was vibrating and it was very difficult to sleep. But, breakfast was good, more than continental.

Room Tip: I've stayed in average hotel rooms that are bigger than their suites
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sweetooth989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room was large, breakfast was great. Everything from walking in to checking out could not have been better. Wish we could have stayed there longer. We had to catch the train and the sutrtle took us there too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOYGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When we were looking for hotels, we tried to find ones that had a free airport shuttle, and free breakfast. Of all the research we did, this was the best value. When we got there, the room was much larger than I expected, the shuttle was large and clean, and the breakfast was about what we expected. It was a great value for our one night in Anchorage. I would stay here again if we ever came back. The blackout curtains did a great job. It also looks like it may have been renovated recently, so that was very nice too! It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do as well!

Room Tip: We had a park view, and loved it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family stayed there for one night when we arrived in Anchorage. The shuttle picked us up directly from the airport, saving a lot of money on alternate transporation. Check-in was fast and efficient, the hotel was very well maintained and clean. The rooms were large with a separate living area. Good location - our flight was late getting into Anchorage, so we missed our dinner reservations with the family - we were able to quickly walk to the main downtown area with tons of restaurant options - note that you should make dinner reservations if possible.

Buffet breakfast included with room - average food, but included several hot dishes - eggs, bacon, sausage. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is a transom vent between the bedroom and livingroom, make sure it's open to get air flow...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms are true suites with a sitting room and a bedroom. They each have a TV. Altogether, lots of space. It is located at the southwest corner of the downtown area. There is one restaurant next to it, but if it is not to one's liking (it was not to mine), one has to walk several blocks to get to other places to eat. The downtown area is quite walkable -- it is quite level and seems to be safe. In the summer the sun sets after 11 PM. There are other places to stay that are more centrally located to the many restaurants in the downtown area. The Clarion does have a good airport shuttle. The free breakfast is typical of such offerings -- serviceable, but not exciting. The front desk was helpful in answering our questions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side look out over a long strip park; those on the north side look out over the p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
570 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: £62 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites
Clarion Suites Downtown Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing