We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel Makes Motel 6 Look Like the Ritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This Hotel Makes Motel 6 Look Like the Ritz!”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Nearly all of the first floor of this hotel has been gutted for what appears to be rennovations. Here is the kicker. There doesn't appear to any actual construction work being accomplished!! Hand written signs that appear to have been created by the local elementary school cover the elevators and hallways with ad hoc directions.

The hotel front desk is crammed into a guest room on the first floor. The lobby is crammed into a connecting guest room next to the front desk. The lounge consists of a guest room with chairs around the wall...and...get this: A bucket sitting in the middle of the floor with iced down bottles of beer and an attendant proudly announcing that the beer is three dollars. For staying in this dump, they should be paying me to stay here.

This hotel is broken and I can't believe that Marriott allows this hotel to operate this way under the corporate flag. A broken hotel with a hidden entrance decorated by Christmas lights and they still have the audacity to charge FULL RATE!!!

Don't stay here. I am checking out after one night because this place is not managed or operated by grown ups!! MR670898899

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optimusprimeiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    177
    91
    31
    8
See reviews for
88
153
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Ive stayed at the Puffin, Longhouse, and Howard Johnson hotels here in Anchorage. This hotel bets them by a mile. The hotel is clean and the beds are very comfortable. The fitness center is nice to have in the winter and the continental breakfast is very nice. The staff here are average. They offer shuttle service to and from the airport. I do wish it was a little closer to more restaurants .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingair11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My wife and I had traveled to Anchorage, from Whitehorse, for a few nights in late September. She attended a quilting workshop while I took in the sights and trails around Anchorage. Very impressive hotel, clean rooms and reasonable price. Wouldn't have thought we were located across from a float plane base, perhaps due to the time of year? Excellent food in the restaurant but could have served dinner a little earlier than they did. Was quite pleased one morning when the chef took the time out from breakfast orders to prepare a lunch for my wife to take to her workshop. Free parking and trouble free WiFi. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44sourdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Clean room with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Would stay here again. Great location to expressways and airport. Breakfast is 11.95

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We selected Courtyard Marriott Anchorage Airport largely because of the reviews here. Unfortunately, for us our stay at this hotel was a big miss. The staff we encountered were unhelpful overall, and that did not leave a good impression on us. We needed to go to one of the floatplane hangars on Lake Hood the following morning, and we asked the front staff who checked us in about the shuttle van. He said that the shuttle van did not go to the Lake Hood hangars, and that we would need to take a cab. Turned out, however, that this was not the case, and the shuttle van did go out to the hangars. A big minus.

And then, there was a billing issue upon departure, and we will spare everyone of the detail. What should be noted is that the front person at that time was whole unhelpful and appeared almost disdainful of having to clear the matter (it took an intervention of our corporate travel staff to resolve it). A HUGE minus (-110 points).

Aside from that, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location is nearly unbeatable. It appears that we just had a bad couple of days at this Courtyard during which their worst employees were on duty. Maybe others have been much luckier here, and if so, more powers to them. We are not going back to this establishment, however.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Terrible hotel with terrible service. Front desk was awful and completely unresponsive. No greeting; no assistance. They looked and acted like they were on drugs. Room was okay, but housekeeping also unresponsive. All staff need a major morale boost.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valcarcejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I selected the Courtyard by Marriott on Spenard because of its price, its closest to the airport and the free shuttle service. We arrived in Anchorage and I phoned the hotel from the phone bank in baggage claim at the airport. The girl said get your luggage first then call back. I could see why after waiting and waiting for our luggage. Finally together with luggage , I called and the van was outside. We were loaded up and whisked to the hotel very near the airport. We checked in and went to our room. The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. We had to get back to the airport the next morning for a flight to Katmai Brooks Lodge. I requested the van and they were ready when we were ready to leave. They had a restaurant on location but we didn't have time to eat. The staff was excellent. When we got ready to leave, I told the desk that I was told I could leave a bag there and she handed me a number and called the bellman. He took it away and we were told to have a great time. It was obvious this wasn't their first left bag. We left the bag because we were limited on our luggage to take with us. Staying at the Courtyard and their service made our vacation start with ease and NO STRESS! When we returned in 3 days, we went by and picked up our luggage and were off on the rest of our trip. They made everything flow so easy and effortless. There is no price you can put on that kind of service. It meant the world to us just getting there the first night after flying all day to get a comfortable bed and clean room but the ride back, keeping the luggage for us, was above the call of duty. Thank you Courtyard for making our stay and vacations plans go so smoothly. Our next trip will include a stay at the Courtyard by Marriott on Spenard. I think there are others but make sure you stay at that one!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayjax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Anchorage Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Anchorage Airport

Property: Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Address: 4901 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-3295
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Anchorage Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our spacious guest rooms with plush bedding, well lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary wireless internet access, microwave & refrigerator, complimentary weekday newspaper and in-room coffee. Plus, it's close to the airport and we offer complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy our newly redesigned lobby, with coffee and cocktail bar and media pods. The Bistro serves breakfast and dinner.When you need to unwind at the end of the day, take advantage of our swimming pool, whirlpool and exercise room. Courtyard: the hotel designed by business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Anchorage Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Anchorage Airport Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Courtyard
Anchorage Marriott
Courtyard Anchorage Airport Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing