We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased to have stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spenard Hostel International
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Very pleased to have stay here”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stay here after my trip around Alaska a friend I meet said this is a very good place to stay and she was right. It has a very homely. With cupboards in the kitchen with free food in left over from guests. I could make pan cakes and lots more, this made me happy in the morning, I did want to leave=) I will be
Back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELSHBOYDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    30
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
5
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here three times in two weeks while, a great place to clean up and regroup if backpacking elsewhere. We tented in the yard which worked nicely and saved us some money. Close to bus stop which takes you right downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southhhhjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Anchorage is a beautiful city, but it is not cheap. Spenard Hostel is not only affordable, but it is a home away from home. As soon as I arrived, someone offered to help me with my bag and told me to just relax. There is a sitting area, kitchen area, and clean bathrooms. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. I met people who share similar interests with me (hard not to do in Alaska), which made it even more pleasant. Great location too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reese, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love Spenard hostel! I stayed here in 2004 and 2008 and will be staying there again this August. The hostel is very clean and the handmade wood bunk beds are sturdy and comfortable. The owner provides free coffee and items to make breakfast which is a plus in expensive Anchorage. It's super close to the airport and the friendly staff can direct you to fun bars and cool day trips. They also do group outings, and there is a very cool community vibe here which you don't get at all of the other hostels in town. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuntzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spenard Hostel is very close to the airport and you can easily take the bus there from the airport, the driver will have no problem telling you where to get off. The hostel is very cozy even though i didn't pay for the whole room i had a whole room twice and one of them i didn't even use. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I was in need of a shower after Treking around and seeing Alaska. I was camping out and just doing some fun adventures in Alaska. I googled to find a shower and the #spenardhostel came up. I went with it. I called and they welcomed me. A very clean place with friendly folk running it. I will be staying there if there are any rooms left when I get back from Valdez to anchorage. Mahalo to the friendly welcoming voice on the phone. I have stayed at other hostels in the anchorage area they were not so friendly and not so clean with a pull out couch bed for twice the price.
Another thing I liked about this one particular area where the hostel is was the view and the country feeling but so close to everything. They have bike to rent also so you could grab a bike and go check out the downtown area without having to stay there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shaylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was impressed with this place. Cozy accomodations, friendly staff, bike rentals, nice location; I even got some free bear spray! It seems to be common here for people to share stuff like food and stuff they no longer need. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
517 reviews
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
445 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spenard Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spenard Hostel International

Property: Spenard Hostel International
Address: 2845 W 42nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99517-2830
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spenard Hostel International is conveniently located one mile from the Ted Stevens International Airport and on the bus line to historic downtown and the universities in Anchorge, Alaska. We offer dorm style lodging in a clean, friendly, and helpful environment with plenty of amenties. Guests have access to 3 kitchens, 4 bathrooms, short and long term secure storage, free wifi, coin operated laundry, vending machines, book exchange library, and free coffee, tea, and hot cocoa, oatmeal, & pancakes. During the summer season, we have tent space available, bike rentals, bbq grill in our spacious yard, and plenty of lawn games. We are happy to help you plan the details of your trip to Anchorage or throughout the state, and we're the perfect place to launch your Alaskan adventure. We are open year round, have no lock out, and late check in is available with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spenard Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spenard Hostel International Hotel Anchorage
Spenard Hostel International Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing