We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lori and DelAnn have established a beautiful place, high on a hill overlooking Anchorage in a gorgeous neighbourhood. Our room was incredibility spacious with every amenity, and we also had access to the living room/lounge area with breathtaking views of the sunset. Our hosts were friendly and were able to provide very helpful advice. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

When any person walked in, you would feel instantly very much at home and welcome here. Lori and Del Ann took us in last minute after a horrible experience at an inn that we booked. They were very welcoming and accommodating to us especially since we have our puppy with us. We love the amazing views from the house, the landscape around the area, a very spacious common area dedicated to the guest, and the super yummy breakfast. My husband said it was one of the best French toast he ever had, and I loved the banana, walnut syrup that went with it. Our host were incredibly friendly, helpful, and gracious. They provided tips and info on places to dine (we were only there for a day so didn't need any other tourist info). The whole area where the house is located is very peaceful and relaxing. My husband said the hills reminded him of Napa Valley. It is a little drive from the main part of Anchorage but well worth a little distance. We booked another night for next month when we are doing the whole tourist thing. See you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman-Dao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We felt very lucky to have found and stayed at Susitna Sunsets. It was the perfect end to our brilliant holiday in Alaska. The hosts, Del Ann and Lori are so welcoming and go way out of their way to make you feel at home and provide excellent food and accommodation. They even invited us to a birthday celebration on our arrival complete with ice cream cake. The room we stayed in was exceptional. Very comfortable with fridge, microwave, and an outstanding bathroom and steam shower.
The location is lovely although you do need a car. If we are ever fortunate to return to Alaska we would definitely stay here again and can recommend it most highly to anyone. Stay here and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RER50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you have a car while visiting Anchorage you shouldn't miss this B & B which is located southeast of the downtown area in a lovely rural neighborhood. The entire main floor and upstairs is dedicated to accommodating their guests. There are numerous decks surrounding the house, with great views. The living room, with its soaring cathedral ceiling and windows, has a view of the city, the Susitna mountains and even Denali/Mt. McKinley on a clear day. We booked the Garden Suite whcih is a large room with a queen sized bed, a table and 2 chairs, 2 night stands, and a rocking chair with a side table. There is also an area off the bedroom that has a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee pot, cabinet with glass dishware, stainless, and a sink with mirror. The extra large bathroom has a large shower with a bench, commode, sink and medicine cabinet. The shower is equipped to serve as a steam bath if you choose. We were lucky as we were the only guest because it was the very beginning of their season. Lori and Del Ann gave us "the run" of the first floor. We promptly went to the local grocery store and bought some wine and spent the evening listening to music and enjoying the view as we sipped our wine. The house is tastefully decorated with Stickley stye oak furniture with leather sofas. It's truly a gorgeous setting in and out. The entire property is immaculate and could pass any "white glove" test. Breakfast were great. Really enjoyed the "egg blossoms" and reindeer sausage. They promised we weren't eating Rudolph! We saw 3 moose in the neighborhood the first day. All in all, a great experience. Lori and Del Ann are truly dedicated to providing a special experience for their guests. Again, don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: If you want lots of room and a private bath, select the Garden Suite. It's spacious, and has ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCTNGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. DelAnn and Lori are excellent hosts. They were able to make recommendations for dinner, local activities and sightseeing. The food and atmosphere were great. There is a large common room with a beautiful view of the mountains. All the rooms were well maintained, clean and very welcoming. The perfect end to our stay was a visit by some local moose.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My parents and I stayed for one night in this very nice B&B. We had rooms upstairs separated by a shared bathroom, which worked out great for us. It's a ways outside town, so you need a car to get here, but the location worked well for our stop after our drive north and before our drive to Seward. We enjoyed the beautiful view from the large living room windows and I stayed up to appreciate the beautiful sunset. We made ourselves at home, as requested, and played some games at the dining room table. The bedrooms each had small TVs and there was a larger TV in the living room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had snacks and bottled water. Breakfast in the morning was scrambled eggs, reindeer sausage, hash browns, fruit and delicious biscuits. Much more than we could eat, and all very delicious. We enjoyed visiting with Del Ann and Lori and they were very solicitous of my father, who has some difficulty negotiating the steps. I would love to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank lovesmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a great place to stay.DelAnn & Lori are great inn keepers. Nice & peaceful, very clean place. The beds were very comfortable.The food was excellent all fresh. Price was very good for what was offered. Way to go girls.
Mac & Margaret
VA

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
15.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
24.1 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,162 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
8.1 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast

Address: 9901 Conifer St, Anchorage, AK 99507-6027
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: £94 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us and experience the beautiful wooded Hillside region of Anchorage located less than 1 mile from the Hilltop Ski slope, hiking/biking trails, Flattop Mountain trails, etc. So much to do close by! . Enter to the magnificent views of the Chugach Mountains, Denali, Cook Inlet, and beautiful Mt. Susitna,. Enjoy our large indoor gathering area designed for guest use or our 4 decks with a 360 degree view. At day's end, retreat to your room for a snack and a restful sleep. Awake to the aroma of gourmet coffee and a homemade home-style breakfast made with products from Alaska. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room or outside on our new decks. While "on the hill" don't forget to look for the moose, eagles, and migratory birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing