We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant weekend at Hotel Caudron”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Caudron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Caudron
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rue
Tilff, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend at Hotel Caudron”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Caudron for a long weekend. The hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere. It's situation in the Baie de Somme is excellent for visiting this area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff kind and friendly. Breakfast was a treat, plenty of choice. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a long weekend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    87
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
69
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Friendly staff and good food in this little hotel. We stayed in the family room, which sleeps up to 5 with a shared bathroom. The room was very plain and basic, but clean and comfortable. Fine for one night. Although the hotel is on the road we were not disturbed by street noise. The rooms were quite hot, and we could have done with a fan. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and good value. It's about an hour and a half's drive from Calais.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrylands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Caudron, just a walk away from beautiful churches in town and some historic buildings accompanied by informative panneaux. Both rooms clean. Staff were friendly and cheery. My husband and son liked their fish dinners but the vegetarian option was the ubiquitous highly dull pot of steamed veg, only rescued by the addition of my daughter's maroilles cheese from her salad. the family loved the choice at breakfast and, all in all, it was a great place to stop off on the way to Normandy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerrylandsNeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very friendly hotel with good, simple rooms. Excellent value for money restaurant. Well worth a visit.First class breakfast with excellent choice including fresh fruit salad, croissants, bread, ham, cheese and yoghourts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield,Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here en route to Le Man's from Calais. Clean and convenient. Only downside. The pond was too inviting for a 2 year old. The room was clean and the food enjoyable. The location was just perfect for a halfway stopover.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimbee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel Caudron is a nice place to stay. The communal area of the hotel are very well kept, the food at the restaurant is delicious and all staff are very friendly indeed. The rooms could do with a little TLC but otherwise my stay here was an enjoyable one and its a place I would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Advisorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We found the Caudron Hôtel online, and chose Rue, which we had never heard of, because of its convenient location for the 3–day circuit we had planned.

Rue is a surprise in its own right as it is not only conveniently located in the Baie de la Somme, but as a former walled city and pilgrimage centre it also boasts a superb architectural heritage among which a remarkable 19th century Belfry, the stunning High Gothic Chapelle St Esprit and a few superb listed medieval houses.

Rue is also the birthplace of the Caudron Brothers, two aviators whose airplanes factory was later bought by Louis Renault in 1933!

The Hôtel Caudron is located right in the centre of town, along the main street.

The hotel looks quite unassuming and quite provincial from the outside despite an obvious repainting and upgrading of the façade.

It seems that the hotel was entirely refurnished and upgraded in 2012 as all the labels seem to attest, and I believe the young couple we saw everyday runs it.

We were accommodated in the rooms located in an extension-wing overlooking the back yard of the hotel.
The courtyard seemed to be in the final phase of being redeveloped, it was tiled with elegant pinkish slabs and organized around a central fountain (that was unfinished).
I think it will look fantastic when completed.

The rooms and bathrooms are new, with a simple yet very effective decoration with little touches that made a difference such as a half plaid thrown over the bed.
A structural beam has been kept in each room in order to give a little bit of character to it. Once more, very simple yet effective!

The rooms are medium size with a large TV, wardrobe, table and chair and armchair.
All the rooms have free Wi-Fi – the code is in the room’s brochure.

It seems that there are more rooms on the main building above the reception and restaurant, along the main street.
I don’t think that the noise from the street traffic would be a problem as all the windows are brand new double-glazing windows.

The hotel doesn’t have any parking facilities but there is plenty free car park in the street opposite the hotel along the main street, and on a little square 30m farther along.
There are also a lot of spaces available in the small street located at the back of the hotel, and there is a direct access from the back street to the hotel.
The street leads to the station but is one of the quietest streets I have ever seen!

The hotel has a restaurant and a little lounge with a large TV set and the most comfortable Club chairs you can think of.
Again the color scheme of the deco makes the room very cozy and welcoming: A great place to have a pre-meal drink or afternoon tea.

The hotel seems to own a restaurant outside town (about 1km) Le Petit Chaudron where local traditional food is served.
The menu card (which you can consult in the hotel) looked superb and the prices more than reasonable but we preferred to take our evening meals in the hotel as we spent the day touring and visiting.

The hotel restaurant looked very traditional in its style and deco, it was very French and very welcoming.
The food was delicious, very well prepared, tasty and original. It is obvious that they have a Chef in the kitchen.
We enjoyed the meal so much the first evening that we booked a table for the second evening!

The quality of the service was impeccable, all the staff was smiley, helpful and obviously had a proper catering training!

Breakfast is not included in the price of the room, it is an extra 8/9€.
The buffet had plenty of salty/sweet food, various drinks hot and cold, juices, fruit etc…along with fresh bread and croissants. Very good value for money and very good!

The hotel is classified as 2* but could easily be compared to a good quality 3* for the quality of its accommodation, food and service.
In fact we were surprised that it was only a 2*!

As in many provincial areas, you have a key for accessing the hotel should you need to go out after service hours.

It’s a pity we don’t need to visit again the Baie de Somme as we would have loved to return in the Caudron hotel restaurant, so the best thing I can do is to recommend it to you if you decide to visit the Baie de la Somme area.

Room Tip: All the hotel's windows are brand new and double-glazing but you might want to book a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rue
6.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pilotes
Hotel Les Pilotes
#3 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.3 mi away
Logis Auberge de la Dune
Logis Auberge de la Dune
#5 of 5 in Le Crotoy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel du Port et des Bains
Hotel du Port et des Bains
#7 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Les Augustines
Les Augustines
#2 of 2 in Quend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.2 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Colonne de Bronze
La Colonne de Bronze
#5 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caudron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caudron

Property: Hotel Caudron
Address: 5 rue de la Barriere, 80120 Rue, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Rue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Caudron 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Caudron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing