We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bike ride”

La Source de La Sorgue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good bike ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

After walking for a few hours yesterday, ending up at La Sourgette, a beautiful park and picnic area on La Sorgue, we decided to hire bikes today and go a bit further.

We hired bikes at Kvelo, Rue de la Republique at L'Isle sur la Sorgue for €19 each for use between 0930-1830. There are maps available from the Tourism Office showing designated cycling routes in the area. We made our own shortcuts up following the river as much as possible and thoroughly enjoyed both the exercise and the route to find the 'Source'.

The town is all that has been described previously. Being early July and a warm 31C we did not expect much action at the Source but it was still great to go there. Walked the bikes up a very gentle slope to the top, took a few pics and meandered back down, enjoying a beer then an ice cream on the river bank. The many stalls and shops may interest some.

It was midday and not yet school holidays ( another 2 days to go til the hordes arrive) yet the traffic in the centre of town seemed quite congested. Parking is available at spots around the river for €4 and this seems fairly reasonable. Riding the push bikes felt relatively safe. There were some bike lanes in places and in others the traffic was very considerate.

This is an area with many campsites, swimming and fishing opportunities...I have no doubt that in the next week or so the population will increase. The river is full of trout, many fingerlings but hiding in the depths, you can spot the bigger ones. We wished we'd bought the fishing line!
This was a great way to spend 5 hours or so...we may try the numerous kayak hire places tomorrow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TrialRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    157
    43
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice but no cigar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The walk beside the stream comming out of the source was nice .. to many peddlers offering nonsense on the way .. so not really a nature stroll .. the last part of the walk completely dried up .. maybe nicer in winter .. but towards the end of June not worth your time .. so much better attractions around

Helpful?
Thank Alon_Blankstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Quite different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the third biggest spring in the world and the entire Sorgue river comes out of the porous limestone of the Plateau de Vaucluse. The big cave full of water is an impressive sight and it seems harmless enough to ignore the suggested limits and get close up. When the water wells up and spills over though, that is something to behold. The Fontaine is not a bad town given the number of tourists that come through but I would try to pick a quiet time and definitely not a summer Sunday or public holiday. Parking is €4 in the town but we never pay. We park after the town limits sign on the road to Cabrières and Gordes and walk on the trails to the castle ruin. This has spectacular views down to the town below that a minuscule number of visitors to the town will ever see. The descent to town is not a grandmother walk though!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
1,353 reviews
1,164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“Charming village, beautiful landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

One of my favorite places in Provence, peaceful and charming village, in spite of the tourist crowd, with beautiful landscape... Clear and colorful water, breathtaking scenery and some very nice restaurants should be more than enough for a perfect day in Provence.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Borzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernes-les-Fontaines, France
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Oh my word - you have to see this in spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We visited in October 2013 when the water levels were low - but my expectations where completely exceeded when I got to see it when the water level is high.. It is absolutely incredible. Make sure you walk through the displays along the river as these are free and very informative and there are cute shops to browse. We live close by and I visit at least once a month and each time it is gorgeous and there is something to see. One some days you have to pay parking for 4EUR - but this is worth it as there is a lot to see and the parking is close by. Don't use the toilets along the river - it is worth paying for them behind the Mairie. You can also visit the Museum of Santons which has a good variety of santons (little expensive though if you are not very keen - 5EUR entrance fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arumlillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Source de La Sorgue also viewed

 
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Vaucluse
Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Source de La Sorgue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing