We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing hotel”
Review of Hotel du Poete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Poete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night and found it really relaxing. The room was very pretty and completely spotless, bathroom was a good size with a great shower and air con was silent which was nice ...some of the places we had stayed had very noisy systems. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, and the pool area was great - after travelling through france for the previous 7 days it was a welcome retreat! The area of Fontaine De Vaucluse was lovely and we enjoyed walking around for the afternoon however it is extremely quiet and there is not much choice in the way of restaurants, although the place we did eat was nice. This hotel is a great place to stay for peace and quiet, and day trips to L'isle sur la sourge. We also did the kayaking which you can book with the hotel staff, we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying when visiting this area :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Poete
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only spent 1 night in this beautiful hotel, probably an old water mill just along the river "Sorgue". A warm welcome and a nice room overlooking the beautiful area, pleasant terrace with garden surrounded by water everywhere, offering a pool (very convenient in this hot period). This was the perfect "cocktail" !
Breakfast is taken on the terrace or inside but is a little bit expensive with a rate of 17€ (personnal opinion)
The hotel does not propose to have lunh or diner on site but within a very short walking distance, you will find what you need in the center of Fontaine de Vaucluse and I warmly recommend to eat at "chez Dominique" which is authentic and worthy.
Booking was made the same day via booking.com for a rate of 192€ breakfast not included.
Definitely a nice place for a short stopver!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This charming inn was a real find! We decided to alter our travel plans and see the Fontaine de Vaucluse. This inn is located in the heart of the village on the river. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms beautifully decorated. We will be back! A real gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a beautiful location in the heart of the Village where the staff provide comfort and luxury in equal measure - a real treasure. Although the hotel is small, this adds to the charm and the range of facilities including pool, jacuzzi and massage room is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

You will become aware of the hugs.

It goes like this: couples arrive at the Hotel du Poete. They check in, and are shown to their room. Then they start to explorer. They will already have seen the gushing water from the spring, but as they walk into the rear courtyard, they will be more aware: the crystal-clear water flows around them. They see it flowing next to the tables where other couples are drinking wine. They see it flowing under the jacuzzi, next to the swimming pool. And they hear it coming from the Village, one minute's walk away.

They look around at the beautiful surroundings, somehow so peaceful despite the constant white noise of the water flowing - and they hug. They hug because this place is beautiful and special. They hug because they know that this is a place they will want to return to. And they will not be disappointed.

The service, ably overseen by the excellent Jerome, is exactly what you want it to be. Friendly enough, yet unobtrusive. Chatty or formal. Jerome is a lesson in how to behave at a boutique hotel. And he speaks English so well, at first, I thought he was from the UK. The rest of the staff are great too - this hotel realises that service is the most important thing.

We had a larger room - but remember that even larger rooms in Europe are often smaller than in the USA. But it has everything we needed (including, in our case, a huge terrace - ask for room 5)

We hugged more than once. This place makes you thankful. Thank you to all at the Hotel du Poete for making our holiday a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you can, get room 5. It's a little more expensive, but it has a huge terrace which made it we...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a beautful place to stay. The hotel is set in the middle of a series of natural fast flowing springs which gives it a tranquil feel and makes the setting a stunning one. There is a pool and the courtyard is a gorgeous place for breakfast. Our only complaint was that our room, a junior suite, did not have a fixed shower, just a handheld one, but that is a minor quibble becuase this is a really special hotel, perfectly positioned as a base to explore other villages in the Luberon. We wished we stayed longer.

Room Tip: The junior suite on the first floor in the corner looks out over the gorgeous courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent a week in this hotel and enjoyed every minute, ok with temperatures in the 30's and coming from the cold of England why wouldn't we.
The staff were very attentive and allowed me to converse with them in my poor French even though most of them spoke very good English.
The bedrooms are fine but the pillows on our bed were definitely not three star quality.We upgraded from a basic room and felt the larger room made our stay more comfortable.
This part of Provence has some lovely hills for walking in and with the aid of a detailed map and the good path signage we found navigation easy and the countryside is stunning.
After five hours in the hills returning to the hotel and being able to relax by the pool capped perfect days.
The only dissappointment we had was the lack of good restaurants in the village there is no restaurant in the hotel although the owners do run one in a neighboring village.
If you are planning to visit Provence this hotel is definitely worth considering.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine de Vaucluse
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
#2 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
699 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
262 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Poete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Poete

Address: Le Village, 84800 Fontaine de Vaucluse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Fontaine de Vaucluse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontaine de Vaucluse
Price Range: £88 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Poete 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Poete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Poete Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing