We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay in the ground floor room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Poete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Poete
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't stay in the ground floor room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The only reason I have marked this hotel down is that the room on the ground floor is not well situated. Its view is on to the front car park, and - at night - you can see and hear the cars coming and going. Also the room itself felt a little awkward. Whilst it was large, it did not feel particularly habitable.

We thought the breakfast was 17 euros each (too steep for us). But we found out on checkout that it is 17 euros together. So we would have gone for the breakfast had we known this.

I know it said on our reservation that our room would not have the best view. But I was still expecting more, and left feeling a little disappointed.

Also, there isn't much to do in Fontaine. There are no nice restaurants, and it has a very touristy (and young children orientated) feel. It's not that good a base to explore the region either because it is quite far from the main A / D roads.

We ended up checking out a day early because of these points. And we wanted to see the nightlife in Marseille. Needless to say, the owner still charged us the full price of the last night. We felt that he could have exercised his discretion not to take that step. That would have made all the difference for us.

This review does not detract from any of the other wonderful features of this hotel (such as the pool, jacuzzi and immediate surroundings).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    83
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
184
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

An enchanting hotel in centre of a gorgeous little town. We picked this hotel because of the area we wanted to see, not because of the town and its huge natural springs. What a wonderful surprise! The hotel is very 'French' and has beautiful grounds and pool area built over running water, it seems, everywhere around you! Great friendly, efficient service. The rooms have beautiful views, and separate bathroom and toilet. There is a lovely breakfast room downstairs along with the reception and lounge area. Also with a bar. Plenty of seating outside on terrace and around pool to have breakfast, a drink, or just relax. A very short walk to town square where there are plenty of restaurants. Wonderful place that I strongly recommend to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night and found it really relaxing. The room was very pretty and completely spotless, bathroom was a good size with a great shower and air con was silent which was nice ...some of the places we had stayed had very noisy systems. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, and the pool area was great - after travelling through france for the previous 7 days it was a welcome retreat! The area of Fontaine De Vaucluse was lovely and we enjoyed walking around for the afternoon however it is extremely quiet and there is not much choice in the way of restaurants, although the place we did eat was nice. This hotel is a great place to stay for peace and quiet, and day trips to L'isle sur la sourge. We also did the kayaking which you can book with the hotel staff, we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying when visiting this area :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
203 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We only spent 1 night in this beautiful hotel, probably an old water mill just along the river "Sorgue". A warm welcome and a nice room overlooking the beautiful area, pleasant terrace with garden surrounded by water everywhere, offering a pool (very convenient in this hot period). This was the perfect "cocktail" !
Breakfast is taken on the terrace or inside but is a little bit expensive with a rate of 17€ (personnal opinion)
The hotel does not propose to have lunh or diner on site but within a very short walking distance, you will find what you need in the center of Fontaine de Vaucluse and I warmly recommend to eat at "chez Dominique" which is authentic and worthy.
Booking was made the same day via booking.com for a rate of 192€ breakfast not included.
Definitely a nice place for a short stopver!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This charming inn was a real find! We decided to alter our travel plans and see the Fontaine de Vaucluse. This inn is located in the heart of the village on the river. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms beautifully decorated. We will be back! A real gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a beautiful location in the heart of the Village where the staff provide comfort and luxury in equal measure - a real treasure. Although the hotel is small, this adds to the charm and the range of facilities including pool, jacuzzi and massage room is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

You will become aware of the hugs.

It goes like this: couples arrive at the Hotel du Poete. They check in, and are shown to their room. Then they start to explorer. They will already have seen the gushing water from the spring, but as they walk into the rear courtyard, they will be more aware: the crystal-clear water flows around them. They see it flowing next to the tables where other couples are drinking wine. They see it flowing under the jacuzzi, next to the swimming pool. And they hear it coming from the Village, one minute's walk away.

They look around at the beautiful surroundings, somehow so peaceful despite the constant white noise of the water flowing - and they hug. They hug because this place is beautiful and special. They hug because they know that this is a place they will want to return to. And they will not be disappointed.

The service, ably overseen by the excellent Jerome, is exactly what you want it to be. Friendly enough, yet unobtrusive. Chatty or formal. Jerome is a lesson in how to behave at a boutique hotel. And he speaks English so well, at first, I thought he was from the UK. The rest of the staff are great too - this hotel realises that service is the most important thing.

We had a larger room - but remember that even larger rooms in Europe are often smaller than in the USA. But it has everything we needed (including, in our case, a huge terrace - ask for room 5)

We hugged more than once. This place makes you thankful. Thank you to all at the Hotel du Poete for making our holiday a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you can, get room 5. It's a little more expensive, but it has a huge terrace which made it we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine de Vaucluse
3.7 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
#2 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Poete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Poete

Property: Hotel du Poete
Address: Le Village, 84800 Fontaine de Vaucluse, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Fontaine de Vaucluse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontaine de Vaucluse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Poete 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Poete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Poete Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing