We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a charm!”
Review of Hotel du Poete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Poete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After traveling through other cities and ready for some down time, Hotel Du Poete was what we needed...a real gem and we spent 4 wonderful nights here. The room was great very spacious and spotless, with a wonderful view of the mountains. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Jerome was especially helpful, every day he will guide us with our local itinerary given us great tips on the local sights, and in the evening he was great as a bar tender, we enjoyed his company. The patio had water flowing from the river Sorgu, it was magical. An easy 2 minute walk to the center of town to great restaurants was ideal...we cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor over looking the mountains was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarielM119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were looking for seven days to recharge our batteries in a beautiful part of France and Hotel du Poete certainly delivered. This is a very good hotel, excellent discrete, professional and most welcoming service, nothing too much trouble, unique private outside garden and pool area, a perfect place to instantly wind down. Lots of fast flowing water within the grounds so not really suitable for young children but fantastic for couples or singe travellers.
Only breakfast available which is very nice but a little pricey if you are there for a week, the hotel is in a perfect location to explore the Vaucluse, We would love to return!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank cyclingwolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This lovely little hotel is a perfect home base for exploring Provence. Large windows give you beautiful views and the rooms have a Provencal touch that adds to the overall feel. Outside, there's a peaceful garden and pool where you can have a drink or read in peace. The staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Tucked away under the trees as you enter the village Hotel du Poete provided a restful stop for Fran and I in our journey through beautiful Provance.
This hotel is ''special'' in every aspect. The room was comfortable and large enough (large by French standards). The gardens and pool area were tranquil and very relaxing. The food was good value for money. We extended our stay in the busy July holiday period just to enjoy and relax in this beautiful hotel in this village. Would have loved to stay longer but were booked on a flight back to Cape Town but will always remember this stay with fond memories.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2david1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were never disappointed with this place! Location is terrific! Several currents of river Sorgues run through the hotel; this gives calming water sound that makes you sleep like a baby. Surrounding area is great. There is a nice garden with pool and jacuzzi facing Vaucluse Mountains. Hotel itself is very likeable and cozy. There is Free parking & Free fast wifi.
Nice breakfast is served for 17Eur.
Good restaurants & shops are just near by (5 mins walk)

If to be a bit picky I'd say that our room was quite small and I'd prefer shower with curtain rather than bath tub without hanger & curtain.

In any case I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VerAmZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Let's begin by saying that Fontaine de Vaucluse is one of the stunning places that we've visited in Provence. So, this hotel should have make a great job to compromise this feeling. But on the contrary.
We've arrived late at night after a long drive. The village was quiet as a tomb. The GPS navigated us to the hotel after we picked it up with the Tripadvisor App. The reception and the lobby are warmly decorated and the clerk (Black hair, black eyes, black shirt and pants and a low voice :-) ) offered us a standard room for 125 Euros per night and showed us the room.
This hotel well deserves its 4-star. The spacious room is decorated with amenities and decor from the life of poets and musicians, the bed is huge and comfortable and the shower & toilet are spotless. When opening the window you can hear the sound of the spring stream that flows beneath the hotel and through the beautiful garden at the back.
We didn't go to breakfast (17 Euro Each) and had some breakfast at the boulangerie in the village.
Bottom line: a gem at a decent price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli_Mend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying at Hotel Du Poete for 4 days with my friends.
The hotel grounds is so vast and beautiful, it felt like we were staying in a retreat.
The rooms (Superior Double Room Melodie) were spacious and clean. I'm usually a light sleeper but I would fall asleep like a baby especially when listening to the soothing sounds of the water flowing outside from the River Sourge. The hotel is within walking distance to the town centre so it was very conveniently located to all the shops and restaurants. We loved Fontaine Du Vaucluse, such a picturesque place. If we were visiting Aix-En-Provence or Avingon, we would always look forward to returning to Hotel Du Poete and relaxing in the outdoor jacuzzi while admiring the stunning views. If you decide to visit Fontaine Du Vaucluse, I would make this hotel your first option! It's a perfect base for discovering this beautiful village and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine de Vaucluse
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
#2 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
727 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mas de la Senancole
Mas de la Senancole
#11 of 24 in Gordes
260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
203 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Poete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Poete

Address: Le Village, 84800 Fontaine de Vaucluse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Fontaine de Vaucluse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontaine de Vaucluse
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Poete 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Poete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Poete Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing