We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in Provence”

Auberge du Vieux Fox
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fox-Amphoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Vieux Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fox-Amphoux
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We found this Aulberge quite by accident while traveling to the canyon du Verdon. It is the perfect restoration in a typical hilltop village, once a resting place for Templiers,and is housed in the Priory of a 12th Century Roman church. The owners treat you like friends and you feel that you have known them for a very long time.The views are supurb and the food at the restaurant is hearty. It is a convienent spot to use as a base for travel to many surrounding areas including I'Isle sur la-Sorgue,Aix-en Provence,Gordes,and the Luberon.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms,We like the room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2010

This was the second time we stayed here and it won't be the last time. This place is one of a kind when you're looking for peace and a quiet stay. The old building is very well kept and the owners are exceptional hospitable. There is no noise at all at this place, you only hear the birds and the wind (and sometimes the bells when they are ringing). A wonderfull place to take a rest, to read a book, to do nothing, just enjoy the panoramic view from the terrace. Good meals are served. This is good value for money!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_monique_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

While driving with friends through Provence we decided to hunt for a hotel for two nights and just try to find something by chance. Boy, did we hit a home run! We just so happened to take a turn on a country road and see a sign for the Auberge du Vieux Fox. We stopped and asked the inn keeper if she had two rooms for two nights and she showed us two beautiful rooms - one with twin beds and one with a king. Both had large baths and incredible views of the surrounding hillsides. The breakfasts were excellent with yogurt, flaky croissants, and lots of coffee and warm milk. Dinner was one of the best we had in France. Rudolph made a fabulous lamb shank and a lucious lamb stew. His wife, Nicole, is a delight. We would highly recommend this B&B. The inn is situated in the midst of a hilltop village hundreds of years old, with an abandoned church with working belltower next door. This is truly a memorable place and an easy drive to Aix or the gorges at Verdun or other Provence locations.l

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

I stayed in April 2006 for 3 nights in the Auberge du Vieux Amphoux which is located in an ancient monastery on the top of the hill in the small village of Fox-Amphoux. I enjoyed it a lot. I know a lot of hotels in the Provence - this is one of the nicest. The hotel is well kept, comfortable, clean, quiet, not too expensive. The only "noise" you hear is the delightful clock of the church next to the hotel. Great breakfast; good dinner (although the kitchen seems not to be open every night).
If you look for action in the area you are probably wrong in this place: There is absolutely nothing going on in this small place; you have to drive 10 or 20 kilometers to visit the Verdon Canyon, beautiful monasteries, visit hidden Provence villages like Cotignac or practice kayak in the river of Argens. If you look for a relaxing and friendly place - the owner's couple is very nice and helpful - , you are right though. In the heart of the beautiful countryside between the Côte d'Azur coastline and the Provence hills the area is really great.
The only thigs that some people may miss are a shop and a bistro in the village; for everything else but the hotel or the restaurant you have to drive 5 or 10 kilometers. In spite of that the note is: excellent!

4  Thank rvdfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camere con affaccio sulla valle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pietroantonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MVL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank jl5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox-Amphoux
10.6 mi away
Hotel Lou Valen
Hotel Lou Valen
#1 of 1 in Le Val
143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Vallon des Palombes
Le Vallon des Palombes
#3 of 3 in Fox-Amphoux
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Demeure De Fanette
La Demeure De Fanette
#1 of 3 in Fox-Amphoux
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pierre de Lune
#2 of 3 in Fox-Amphoux
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux Fox

Address: Place de l Eglise, 83670 Fox-Amphoux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Fox-Amphoux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fox-Amphoux
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux Fox Hotel Fox-Amphoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing