We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”

Auberge du Vieux Fox
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fox-Amphoux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge du Vieux Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fox-Amphoux
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had the pleasure of actually living in the Auberge Du Vieux Fox in 1977-78 just after it had initially opened as a hotel. I Worked for the original owners Pierre & Martine Philippe and
Madam Francine Le Milon. Even then at the age of 18 I was able to appreciate the beauty and the sheer tranquility of Fox, The location is superb for a relaxing and carefree holiday and I defy anyone to leave this beautiful village not wanting to return. I did so 6 years after leaving and the only thing that had changed was a telephone box and a water drinking fountain had been added. I truly hope that time has stood still is this quiet corner and it remains a peaceful haven. If you get the chance just go and have a look around even if you don't stay any longer you will have been to one of the best hidden places of the modern worls. ALTHOUGH I STATE I WAS THERE IN 2010 YOU WILL SEE FROM READING THIS REVIEW THAT IT WAS A LONG TIME BEFORE THIS BUT I WAS NOT ABLE TO SELECT CORRECT DATE.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelqueen1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Braselton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We found this Aulberge quite by accident while traveling to the canyon du Verdon. It is the perfect restoration in a typical hilltop village, once a resting place for Templiers,and is housed in the Priory of a 12th Century Roman church. The owners treat you like friends and you feel that you have known them for a very long time.The views are supurb and the food at the restaurant is hearty. It is a convienent spot to use as a base for travel to many surrounding areas including I'Isle sur la-Sorgue,Aix-en Provence,Gordes,and the Luberon.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms,We like the room at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

This was the second time we stayed here and it won't be the last time. This place is one of a kind when you're looking for peace and a quiet stay. The old building is very well kept and the owners are exceptional hospitable. There is no noise at all at this place, you only hear the birds and the wind (and sometimes the bells when they are ringing). A wonderfull place to take a rest, to read a book, to do nothing, just enjoy the panoramic view from the terrace. Good meals are served. This is good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_monique_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

While driving with friends through Provence we decided to hunt for a hotel for two nights and just try to find something by chance. Boy, did we hit a home run! We just so happened to take a turn on a country road and see a sign for the Auberge du Vieux Fox. We stopped and asked the inn keeper if she had two rooms for two nights and she showed us two beautiful rooms - one with twin beds and one with a king. Both had large baths and incredible views of the surrounding hillsides. The breakfasts were excellent with yogurt, flaky croissants, and lots of coffee and warm milk. Dinner was one of the best we had in France. Rudolph made a fabulous lamb shank and a lucious lamb stew. His wife, Nicole, is a delight. We would highly recommend this B&B. The inn is situated in the midst of a hilltop village hundreds of years old, with an abandoned church with working belltower next door. This is truly a memorable place and an easy drive to Aix or the gorges at Verdun or other Provence locations.l

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

I stayed in April 2006 for 3 nights in the Auberge du Vieux Amphoux which is located in an ancient monastery on the top of the hill in the small village of Fox-Amphoux. I enjoyed it a lot. I know a lot of hotels in the Provence - this is one of the nicest. The hotel is well kept, comfortable, clean, quiet, not too expensive. The only "noise" you hear is the delightful clock of the church next to the hotel. Great breakfast; good dinner (although the kitchen seems not to be open every night).
If you look for action in the area you are probably wrong in this place: There is absolutely nothing going on in this small place; you have to drive 10 or 20 kilometers to visit the Verdon Canyon, beautiful monasteries, visit hidden Provence villages like Cotignac or practice kayak in the river of Argens. If you look for a relaxing and friendly place - the owner's couple is very nice and helpful - , you are right though. In the heart of the beautiful countryside between the Côte d'Azur coastline and the Provence hills the area is really great.
The only thigs that some people may miss are a shop and a bistro in the village; for everything else but the hotel or the restaurant you have to drive 5 or 10 kilometers. In spite of that the note is: excellent!

Helpful?
4 Thank rvdfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox-Amphoux
5.7 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
487 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Lou Valen
Hotel Lou Valen
#1 of 1 in Le Val
127 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Esparrus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
265 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aups
89 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Moulin du Chateau
Le Moulin du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux Fox

Property: Auberge du Vieux Fox
Address: Place de l Eglise, 83670 Fox-Amphoux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Fox-Amphoux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fox-Amphoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux Fox Hotel Fox-Amphoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing