We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in Provence!”
Review of Chateau La Roque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau La Roque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family spent two nights at Chateau la Roque at the beginning of June this year, and it was a perfect experience to follow a week in Paris. We took a train from DeGaulle to Avignon, where we rented a car. I had read a number of stories of people who had a really difficult time finding the Chateau. Luckily, our GPS from the rental car was spot on with directions and we arrived there from the Avignon train station without a hitch. When we arrived we were at a bit of a loss to find the proprietors, Jean and Chantal, but through exploration of the property we found Jean who graciously welcomed us, and insisted on delivering all of our luggage up the ancient stone staircase to our suite in the parapet. The suite was beautiful (especially the bathroom), and we felt like we had arrived in a true sanctuary. We dined at the Chateau the first night with several other guest, and it was gastronomically and socially a very good evening. The following day we did some touring around the Luberon Valley and Mont Ventoux. Chantal gave us some suggestions which were very helpful. That night was the one night a week that Jean doesn't cook, but they helped us with a reservation at a wonderful restaurant in Carpentras. All in all, it was a memorable and wonderful experience. We'd love to return and have a longer stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyctexan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTO_84, Propriétaire at Chateau La Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Your opinion is extremely important for us. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience with Château La Roque. Thank you for your kind words and comments.

In answer to your remark about our availability upon your arrival at the castle, we are improving the access to the reception so that we can welcome our guests immediately on their arrival.

Thank you again and we hope to see you in a next future.

Chantal & Jean Tomasino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

In this fast paced life we lead, it is lovely and necessary to get away to your dream castle (but with amenities). Here is a terrific place where you relax without being told to do so, where you sip excellent wines without worrying what to order, where you can arrange for a gathering of friends, without cooking. Four of us stayed here for the weekend as it was close to l'isle sur la Sorgue where our niece's wedding would be. We pulled up to the place, opened the gate and wow--- saw beautiful pastures and vineyards below us, a grotto in which to swim, and where we met the hosts, Jean and Chantel. From our private room, with an excellent modern bathroom, we could look out and see the same vineyards and pasture. We had a private patio as well. Breakfast was amazing, outdoors, with fresh yoghurt, tea, coffee, squeezed orange juice and pastries. We arranged for lunch for 11 of us, and Chantel chose fresh cheeses and breads, fresh local cherries and melons, locally made pate, and basmati rice salad. My family said it was one of the best lunches they had ever eaten. The rose was delicious. The chateau is more than a 5 star. It is a home. In fact, when my husband found out he had forgotten his tie, Jean appeared within two minutes with one he could borrow. We took lots of photos and the one from our bedroom, looking out to the vineyards and valley, is now my screen saver. I would love to return to this The hosts are lovely people. I highly recommend it. Linda

Room Tip: We chose the one that didn't have stairs up to the bathroom, though our daughter loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTO_84, Propriétaire at Chateau La Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you Linda for a so kind and grateful recommendation. We are happy to know that you spent with family and friends a nice time in Chateau La Roque.

We are committed to make our guests feel lovely moments in a very unique spot and building that we love and improve year after year by new phases of work.

Linda we hope to see you again with family.
Our friendly thoughts,

Chantal & Jean Tomasinio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

(Should be an 'accent' over the last 'e' but I do not have that facility on my computer, sorry!)
There are so many positive ways of describing this very special Chateau and the hosts who run it with charm and subtle efficiency, and they all would apply! We were welcomed with warmth by the gentle-voiced Jean and the elegant Chantal. The rustically simple room and terrace with stunning views over the little valley, cool from the gentle zephyr (no AC...wonderful!), its fresh linen sheets (no ubiquitous duvets here!), gorgeous! Deceptively simple suppers with the most delicious local produce and a superb choice of wines. By the time our 7 night stay was over we felt just like family, and it was with regret we said our 'au revoirs'. The serenity of Le Chateau is palpable, magical...not to mention the secret passage from the kitchen to the bedroom of one of the little houses tumbling from the ramparts. Thank you Jean et Chantal! We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb. Ours was the least expensive but had a little terrasse which was a plus on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTO_84, Propriétaire at Chateau La Roque, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It is us who thank you Philip, for such nice compliments.

We try to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible for a full benefit from Chateau La Roque and from our sweet Provence.

Above all do not hesitate to tell us what we could improve to make your future stay with us even more memorable.

Hope to see you again soon.

Chantal & Jean Tomasino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We visited Chateau Le Roque for the second time this September. I was worried that the fond memories we had of our first visit would be spoilt as can often happen on a second visit. Not so in this case. It was perfect. The host were attentive and charming. The food on all three nights was simple elegant and exceptionally tasty. We asked if we could eat outside under the stairs and although the dining table inside had been set for us we were told that it was "no problem". Nothing it seems is a problem for the charming couple. Sublime.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocallaghansnapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Actually visited in September but really late in posting a review. An absolutely wonderful location in a beautifully restored chateau. The rooms and ambience were perfect as was the superb host and owner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great hosts, wonderful cuisine, idyllic setting. Would that I could go back in time and plan our trip differently! Only 2 nights here? what were we thinking?
The Chateau is in a beautiful setting... an easy drive to many sites and villages in Provence. Extremely peaceful for relaxing in the afternoon. No A/C but the afternoon breezes and open window (along with the fan) are perfect. Even thougth the days were mid 30s--by evening, Chantal brought out optional blankets to the dining terrace.
Unfortunately one of our 2 nights was Jean's (chef) night off. He did recommend a local restaurant and it was wonderful---but what we missed from our first night: the terrace at sunset, beautiful linens, wonderful dinner, great wines chosen by Chantal....
Dinner was special. But the breakfast! Wonderful cafe au lait and yogurt. Fresh pressed orange juice served on crisp linens in the quiet morning on the terrace. Wish we had more than 2 mornings like that!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiantiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We managed only a day in Provence and would love to have stayed longer at Chateau la Roque. Set on a hillside with a beautiful rural view over the valley even with a satnav and lots of roadside assistance it proved difficult to find, but worthwhile. The building had been brought up to date by a lovely couple one of whom was a chef. We were the only guests for dinner but we shared the chateau with an Australian couple who took a while to recover after their drive from Nice. Our main course was river fish (I think it was bream), caught especially for us. We decided to order a second bottle of the local white wine. Now unfortunately the patron hadn’t one that was chilled and we had to behave ourselves and wait until it was chilled down to the proper temperature and to his satisfaction.

The girl who served breakfast pedalled up our steep hill on a bicycle and had probably picked up some ‘pain’ on the way.

The evening meal and breakfast were impeccable. The accommodation was a joy. There was a cast iron bath on a balcony overlooking our sleeping area. This is one of our French overnights to which we would love to return, for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsa99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque sur Pernes
5.4 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
383 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
271 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
477 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
13.1 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 55 in Avignon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Roque

Address: 263, Chemin du Chateau, 84210 La Roque sur Pernes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > La Roque sur Pernes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Roque sur Pernes
Price Range: £165 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau La Roque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Avignon, the Luberon and the Mont-Ventoux, Chateau La Roque is an exceptional 11th century chateau-fort overlooking a provencal landscape. The Deluxe rooms and suites with modern amenities, antique furniture and elegant decor, offer a discreet luxurious atmosphere.The views from the rooms, gardens and panoramic swimming pool are stunning. Calm and serenity are everywhere. Wether in the terraces in summer or in the Templar room in winter you will savor our breakfasts prepared with fresh local produces, our gourmet dinners and selection of the region's best wines (Chateauneuf du Pape, Vacqueyras, Gigondas, Ventoux, Luberon). Come and visit us for an unbelievable time in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Chateau La Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Roque Chateaux And Hotels De France
Chateau La Roque Chateaux & Hotels De France Hotel La Roque Sur Pernes
Chateau La Roque France/La Roque Sur Pernes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing