We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine Grange Neuve
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose this hotel due to its beautiful look and location for tour de France. We weren't disappointed. It was close enough to cycle to the Mont Ventoux stage and had views of this mountain in the distance. There were big climbs to the hotel in either direction.There was a five night minimum stay, but we only planned to stay four to move to the Alps to follow the tour. We loved the place so much we actually stayed the full five nights and travelled up early and still saw the stage. This is a very attractive property with beautiful grounds. The view from the raised swimming pool is great. We were a party of seven and Thomas & Evelyn were friendly and helpful. Having our breakfast and evening meal outside was just perfect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I wasn't too keen of the spiral stairwell, especially climbing at night but added to the quirkiness. All in all we had a very pleasant, relaxing and beautiful stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms up the spiral stairwell if less agile or with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastruds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were a group of 5 cyclists staying here to enjoy cycling in Provence, the location is beautiful and suited us perfectly. Having read some reviews before we came I was a bit apprehensive, I should not have been! If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful, very clean place to stay with superb food and wine then look no further. Thomas and his family work very hard to run the place and still found time to engage and entertain us, if you take the time to understand the mechanics of the place you are staying in and engage with Thomas you will not be disappointed. The evening meals were fantastic and excellent value, we had planned to eat out a couple of times during the week but in the end enjoyed all our meals at the hotel. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked this after reading the extraordinary range of reviews on this site. We were positively influenced by the negative grumbles (e.g. lack of modern conveniences and its isolation), and what a great decision it was to book in for a week this summer. This was one of the most restful and contented breaks we've had in years, away from the stresses and noise of ciy life. Five star luxury it isn't (in the traditional sense) but the rooms are spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and the absence of TV , radio and noisy guests sheer bliss; the only background sounds came from 2 frogs in the pond and the crickets. We shared dinner at the restaurant nightly with a wide range of sympathetic guests (and much enjoyed the food, or we'd have gone elsewhere). Ralph and Thomas, the brothers who run the 'Domaine' were delightful and helpful, as was their mother - and we were given lots of advice on places to go, and walking maps to explore the beautiful countryside around. The swimming pool was perfect after a hot day's walking or sightseeing. For us it was unparallelled luxury, a real gem of a place to stay, and we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The worse experience ever in a hotel, especially for such a price (waaayyy too expensive for what it offers). Unbelievably understaff ( august, full season, 3 freaks, the mother and her 2 sons, running the whole place, rooms, garden, restaurant...how can it possibly work?) and extremely rude with clients, the only perpetual answer to any minor request was a clear NO. Food choice was very limited: if you're veg, keep away from this place..Same side dishes for the 10 days we've stayed there and morning breakfast : disgusting coffee, one croissant and one piece of bread each, counted, and don t even dare asking an extra piece of bread for your kid if you don t wanna be forever signed on their "black" list. Careful with the room on top of the tower: difficult to access for pregnant women, kids, elderly person or anyone who has a problem with hips/legs. The chef and his brother (factotum doing virtually EVERYTHING in the house from gardening, cleaning, serving, entertaining clients...) are definitely under pressure: hire an extra pair of hands for God's Sake , it might cost you a little but the place would gain so much in hospitality and peacefulness!!!
Beware: if you have kids, it is not the place you want to go to.
do not follow the car GPS, you'll certainly get to the wrong place with the same name a few miles away !! and if you ever manage to reach the damn place after 22h, be aware you're gonna sleep in your car as the guys will NEVER answer your calls or request..even with a 18 months old baby --unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sissi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The owner is antipathetic and a bad host, but the hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast is poor, and the same everyday. (I think it's a French custom) WiFi doesn't work. You are not allowed to eat in the garden, because they have got a restaurant the other side of the building.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nóra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We contacted Domaine de la Grange Nueve hotel and the owner Thomas almost 6 months before our arrival. It was a special vacation – our honeymoon and we asked for a double room which he confirmed. When we arrived, we were got a triple room with three seperate beds..and the most amazing thing was that the owner himself told that French people doesn’t have a double bed. If they want to have a double bed, they just put two single beds together. Strange, but what to do, we had to accept it as other room was not an option, hotel was full. Room was big, dark with only one small window and bathroom full of mosquitos which were eating us all night.. ok, it’s a countryside and that can happen. Anyway, we didn’t want all this to ruin our honeymoon.

Next morning when we walked out of our room, one floor lower we saw other room which had door opened and guess what – there was a room with a double bed. So seems that actually French people know what is a bed for 2 people. We just could not understand why the owner had to lie!

The real dissapointment we had from the attitude of the owner (he is the only one who presents himself to guests). He was constantly ignoring us although we were standing and waiting for him just to ask a question. The tragedy for him was when we asked for an extra towel as one we took to the swimming pool. Never do it! He told that it’s strictly not allowed to take a towel from the room to swimming pool. Only he never told it before or didn’t send information with wat is or what is not allowed. We found out that many things are not allowed. We stayed there for 2 days and all the time heared that also to other guests he was telling what is not allowed. You start to feel like in the museum..not in the place where you come to rest.

We spent two nights in this hotel and were very happy that it was not booked for longer period. We will never stay there again and we don’t recommend to anyone as the attitude was horrible. Seemed that the owner hates the guests and that he is only looking forward when guests will pay and leave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Travellovers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Spent 3 nights. Very good location, peaceful and quiet. Well kept. Nice pool. Half hour drive to gordes, avignon. Room basic with no shampoo or soaps. No reception area so on arrival had to wait until owner spotted us trying doors of random rooms before we were checked in. One issue. Informed by owner that dinner had to be booked in advance as they are a small hotel. He never mentioned anything about breakfast which is optional and cost 5 euro per person extra. We had breakfast the first morning..it consists of 2 fresh croissants, some french bread and 2 small slices of chocolate bread with coffee and juice. All delicious but very small for people used to buffet breakfasts in hotels. We decided to have breakfast in one of the many lovely hilltop villages (Gordes) the next day and enjoyed that. On our final day we decided to have breakfast in the hotel again so we could get on the road to avignon early to catch a train. On sitting down the owner promptly informed us that since we hadn't bothered to show up for breakfast the previous day he had to throw out the freshly baked croissants he made for us. He said we should have told him we were not coming and again repeated he had to throw everything in the bin! All this in front of everyone else at breakfast! We were shocked to say the least. He eventually served us breakfast but we got no croissants presumably as punishment for the day before. I wouldn't mind if he had told us on arrival that we had to tell him when we didnt want breakfast but he never said a thing. Bearing in mind that breakfast is OPTIONAL and is very small anyway I found his behaviour to be totally over the top. To be honest it left a very sour taste especially since it was his fault for not telling us. Him ranting on about 2 croissants and me paying almost 300 euro for the stay. Small minded to say the least. I won't stay there again but I would recommend this hotel. Just be careful to tell the owner about breakfast (even though you don't have to) , dinner and bring your own soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gollyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Domaine Grange Neuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Grange Neuve

Address: 436 Chemin de la Grange Neuve, 84210 La Roque sur Pernes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > La Roque sur Pernes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Roque sur Pernes
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of a conservation area and a wild flora and fauna reserve, 2 km away from La Roque-sur-Pernes, a village perched in the mountains, near several historic sites and tourist spots: Come and taste the absolute peace and quiet of the Domaine de la Grange Neuve in a convivial and relaxed atmosphere. Come and enjoy the comforts and the peace and quiet of suites and rooms. Each one is customized and decorated in Provençal warm shades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Domaine Grange Neuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Grange Neuve France/La Roque Sur Pernes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing