We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun and value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dam Helicopter Company

Dam Helicopter Company
Ranked #12 of 25 Tours in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dam Helicopter Company is a Helicopter Tour company located in Boulder City, Nevada. We offer three different helicopters tours that view the Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam together with the bypass bridge, and The Black Canyon. Our helicopter rides are short but exciting with the lowest price around town for the past 15 years, starting at $39.00! We are "The Best Dam Ride by a Dam Site by Dam Helicopter Company!"
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fun and value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Friendly staff, it's a bit like a conveyor belt though and the driver up the hill goes too fast for nervous passengers in cars!
The $29 ride is literally 2 mins in the air, $59 gets you just over 5 mins and goes over the Dam and Lake Mead really enjoyed it but they do expect tips.
Don't expect to be able to do their other tour advertised at $99 but actually costs $125 (staff response, "we do say prices subject to change on the website). Hardly anyone does this ride, in fact they try to talk you out of the ride. It costs $125 each if there are 3 or 4 of you but if there is on,y two they expect you to pay a massive $189 each. We asked to wait for others to see if they wanted to do the longer ride but were told not to bother as hardly anyone wants to do that ride.
So we went on the $59 ride which was fun but not what I really wanted to do, felt safe in pilots hands but not the driver's.
Most people seem to do the $29 ride, expect to be with another party if less than a group of 4.
My friends first time in a helicopter she was very nervous but she loved every minute.
I thought the safety briefing was rubbish, not what I expected from previous experience, nothing about what to do if the helicopter went down in water, other than pointing out the pull toggle on life belt. Nothing about the helicopter flipping etc and what to do, I know it's unlikely firstly to happen and secondly to survive if it did but not taken seriously enough for me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    10
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great cheap ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Took the $29 dollars ride, 2 minute trip. Really short but my first helicopter and it was fun! Staff was nice, just ask when you sign up how many groups are in front of you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Only way to see Hoover Dam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you're in the area visiting Hoover Dam, don't miss Dam Helicopter Tours. With short rides starting at $29 per person and Hoover Dam rides at $69 per person, this is an amazing experience not to be missed.

No reservation required, however, they advised us to take a morning ride as afternoon weather changes can ground the helicopter - so, as we only had a small window of opportunity we made sure we were there for 9.30/10am to take the Hoover Dam helicopter tour.

Wow, from the moment we hovered over the hillside, the pilot was pointing out wildlife. We were soon heading towards the dam and bridge and what a great perspective you get. The ride takes you round one way so everyone on the left can see the dam, then it takes you round again so those sat on the right can get a great view before heading back to base.

Not a long trip by any stretch of the imagination, however, a 'must do' if you are visiting the dam.

All safety issues are explained prior to taking the ride and although it's a small booth in the car park of the Hacienda Hotel & Casino, everything felt professional and went smoothly. As previously mentioned the scariest part is the drive up the hill to the heliport ... for us it just added to the excitement of the ride.

Loved it ... not to be missed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, ab
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very enjoyable. We took the five minute flight { some bonus time was in there too} , over and around the dam and lake mead. Very impressed with the staff and their knowledge. I avoid things like Ferris wheels, trams, etc, but this was so different! What a pleasant surprise. Will definitely do it again if in the area. There are different options available to choose from. We didn't wait at all, because they have at least three and there were no lineups on a chilly day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LesleaEdmonton_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprised with an Awesome Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a roadside helicopter ride right off the highway on your way to Hoover Dam. I was skeptical about the price at $29, and thought there was going to be some kind of catch. My friends and I decided to stop and ask, and the $29 was legit, but it was only a 2 minute ride to the shore of the lake and back. They have longer rides for higher prices, but we took the 2 minute deal. The ride was awesome as the pilot made sharp banks and turns as we cheered him on...

Well worth the fare...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EZFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dam Helicopter Company also viewed

 

Been to Dam Helicopter Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing