We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in an historic hotel”
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulder Dam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great stay in an historic hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The room was "cozy", the bathroom was small but it was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was outstanding. We stayed for three nights, and the people who cleaned didn't leave new wrapped cups or bags for the ice bucket. Sounds picky, but I hate to go to the desk for items that should be automatic. Even with the minor drawbacks, we would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crazydaveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    163
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
300
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

PROS: — Lovely and historic with such friendly people. Very affordable. Elevators for accessibility (and toting luggage). The dining room tables have old photos under glasstop from dam construction times. (Put the cell phone away and look at the history while you dine!) Breakfasts were delicious. A/C unit in room was efficient and quiet with an easily understandable/useable remote. Ceiling fan contributed to comfy room temp, and there was *plenty* of drawer space. Room was clean with very comfy queen-size bed. The hotel’s business center has a computer and printer with *fast* internet. The hotel is centrally located in the historic district and easily walkable to shops, the park, restaurants, pubs, etc., and perfectly situated for auto trips (within just a few miles) to Lake Mead (for the paddlewheel cruise), the Mike O'Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge (for the iconic view of Hoover dam), and Hoover Dam itself (yowza magnificent).
CONS In general: — No little refrigerator in room to keep your cheese, drinks, cold cuts, etc. The ice bucket was more-or-less useless. No paper or pen in room for jotting reminders or making notes on your maps.
CONS Specifically to Room 212 — Paper-thin wall between 212 and 214. Don’t know if it’s hotel-wide or just this particular wall. Ask when you book. Teensy tiny bathroom (toilet, sink, tub w/ shower) with room for only one person. (I can understand the tiny bathroom since it *is* an historic building and the bathrooms were probably added years after construction.) But it’s a drawback for a full-sized woman such as myself.
All in all, well worth the visit. Just don’t expect the glitz and amenities/facilities of a LasVegas hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 212 and 214 share a paper-thin wall. It can disturb your sleep if they are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It is hard to believe for $89 we got a king room (upgraded at no charge to the king suite) in a clean comfortable hotel with beautiful historic lobby. But that's not all, we also got two cooked-to-order breakfasts the next day (nothing like the chain hotels cardboard-type breakfast) plus entrance to the great museum in same building! The museum is great, the location is convenient, why stay at a chain when you can enjoy a piece of history that is clean, comfortable, and great value?!?

Room Tip: All rooms are up a few stairs from the main lobby, but there's a handy elevator to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadsince64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown NJ
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed At Boulder Dam Hotel for one night while visiting Hoover Dam and Lake Mead Area. It is less than a 10 minute ride to Hoover Dam.
We could not asked for anything better. Great location for sightseeing. Hotel was clean and charming, the bed was very comfy. The staff especially Sandi and Johnee were super friendly and helpful. There is a little museum at hotel which is free for guests. It was interesting.
We also received a buy one-get one coupon for paddleboat ride on Lake Meade.
The fully cooked breakfast is included in price, which we appreciated to get the day started.
Boulder city is a charming little town which can easily explored from the hotel. We liked that it was so peaceful and quiet compared to the hustle of the Las Vegas Strip
The only regret is we wished would would have stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A well maintained hotel in the historic area of boulder city.
Rooms are spacious with large comfortable bed, tv, walk in robe, shower over bath. No fridge.
Air con and ceiling fan.
Very handy for the dam brewing company right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked this hotel for a quick stop over on our way to the Hoover Dam. This hotel in itself is a treat. The rooms have been updated and quite nicely done. Bed was super comfortable and the staff was helpful and very pleasant. Boulder City is a town you could spend a few days in and not see everything also. Very quiet and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was very good and the staff there were awesome! I recommend to anyone and I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunacan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with this lovely, historic hotel in a lovely village that radiates community pride. The hotel and restaurant staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The hotel is surrounded by antique stores with reasonably priced antiques and handmade crafts. Several cafes line the streets but we ate all five meals in the atmospheric hotel restaurant during our two-night stay. Delish! But get there early if you want the dinnerplate special of the day.Our comfy bed had a pretty headboard circa 1930s and wire springs. We liked the art-deco and craftsman lamps. There was no tub but a beautifully tiled shower. We strolled to nearby parks and relaxed in the shade of acacias. We spent over two hours in the fascinating Hoover Dam museum on the hotel's first floor. Our midweek stay was so much fun, we can hardly wait to return and bring friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lindymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
3.7 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Boulder City
242 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
4.2 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#22 of 26 in Henderson
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Property: Boulder Dam Hotel
Address: 1305 Arizona St, Boulder City, NV 89005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Dam Hotel offers the perfect blend of historic charm and modern comforts. This classic, historical hotel offers comfortable, individually appointed rooms plus a complimentary, full, cooked-to-order breakfast in its award-winning restaurant. Boulder Dam Hotel guests also receive free admission to the Hoover Dam Museum located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel
Boulder Dam Hotel Boulder City, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing