We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-school charm at great value”
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulder Dam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We wanted an alternative to staying in Las Vegas and we got exactly what we were looking for. The old building is beautifully restored and has oodles of old-school charm. The rooms are small for more than an overnight stay (not a lot of storage) and feel a little dated, but are very clean and comfortable. Boulder City Historic District is a pleasant area to stay in with nice restaurants and bars. The included breakfast was the best we had on this trip. Overall amazing value, great feeling of wellbeing, and well away from the seedy and crass Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwindblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed one night to visit the Hoover Dam. We were greeted by "Sandy" very pleasant, funny and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small, but wasn't a problem, updated and very clean. The breakfast that came with your stay was good and nice variety. Boulder City is a very clean town, wish we would have had more time to stay. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M00se2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If location matters you can walk to every restaurant and antique shop in historic Boulder City in minutes. Waling back in the lobby one again feels at home with softly playing jazz from thr 20;s, the piano and elegant lobby and places to sit inside and out. The breakfast that comes with is a full sit down meal one can order seated from a variety of options. Note room service useally in the afternoons is on request, otherwise by default they will leave your room alone. There is an elevator and the accommodation is well suited for couples and families.

Room Tip: second floor near the staircase for ease of access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a refreshing hotel. From the check in to check out and everything in between. Such a wonderful experience. The staff were so accommodating and bent over backwards to take care of us and all of our requests. The made to order breakfast was exceptional. The rooms took you back in time and were so beautiful. While offering modern amenities the charm was not compromised. We will return some day for a longer stay.

Room Tip: wifi worked great with no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The room was "cozy", the bathroom was small but it was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was outstanding. We stayed for three nights, and the people who cleaned didn't leave new wrapped cups or bags for the ice bucket. Sounds picky, but I hate to go to the desk for items that should be automatic. Even with the minor drawbacks, we would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank crazydaveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

PROS: — Lovely and historic with such friendly people. Very affordable. Elevators for accessibility (and toting luggage). The dining room tables have old photos under glasstop from dam construction times. (Put the cell phone away and look at the history while you dine!) Breakfasts were delicious. A/C unit in room was efficient and quiet with an easily understandable/useable remote. Ceiling fan contributed to comfy room temp, and there was *plenty* of drawer space. Room was clean with very comfy queen-size bed. The hotel’s business center has a computer and printer with *fast* internet. The hotel is centrally located in the historic district and easily walkable to shops, the park, restaurants, pubs, etc., and perfectly situated for auto trips (within just a few miles) to Lake Mead (for the paddlewheel cruise), the Mike O'Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge (for the iconic view of Hoover dam), and Hoover Dam itself (yowza magnificent).
CONS In general: — No little refrigerator in room to keep your cheese, drinks, cold cuts, etc. The ice bucket was more-or-less useless. No paper or pen in room for jotting reminders or making notes on your maps.
CONS Specifically to Room 212 — Paper-thin wall between 212 and 214. Don’t know if it’s hotel-wide or just this particular wall. Ask when you book. Teensy tiny bathroom (toilet, sink, tub w/ shower) with room for only one person. (I can understand the tiny bathroom since it *is* an historic building and the bathrooms were probably added years after construction.) But it’s a drawback for a full-sized woman such as myself.
All in all, well worth the visit. Just don’t expect the glitz and amenities/facilities of a LasVegas hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 212 and 214 share a paper-thin wall. It can disturb your sleep if they are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It is hard to believe for $89 we got a king room (upgraded at no charge to the king suite) in a clean comfortable hotel with beautiful historic lobby. But that's not all, we also got two cooked-to-order breakfasts the next day (nothing like the chain hotels cardboard-type breakfast) plus entrance to the great museum in same building! The museum is great, the location is convenient, why stay at a chain when you can enjoy a piece of history that is clean, comfortable, and great value?!?

Room Tip: All rooms are up a few stairs from the main lobby, but there's a handy elevator to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontheroadsince64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
6.1 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#4 of 8 in Boulder City
411 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
258 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#22 of 25 in Henderson
213 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
12.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Address: 1305 Arizona St, Boulder City, NV 89005-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Dam Hotel offers the perfect blend of historic charm and modern comforts. This classic, historical hotel offers comfortable, individually appointed rooms plus a complimentary, full, cooked-to-order breakfast in its award-winning restaurant. Boulder Dam Hotel guests also receive free admission to the Hoover Dam Museum located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel
Boulder Dam Hotel Boulder City, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing