We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Vintage Property”
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Dam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. It has the feel of a hotel from the 1930's but is clean and modern. The rate I got for a suite (on a Sunday) was outstanding. There are good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Boulder Dam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is on the National Register of Historical Places and is a non profit. They do no advertise so many may miss an opportunity to stay in a great room with great service for a very reasonalble price. We stayed the night of 18 June, the rate was less than many chain hotels within a few miles, nice downtown, quiet, pretty with serveral good restaurants nearby. Our complimentary breakfast was excellent, the room large and comfortable. The bathroom let you know where priorities were placed when the hotel was constructed in the 1930's and by current standards a little small but got the job done. The staff, Teri and Johneen were friendly and very helpful, if you are looking to gamble or need a pool for the kids, may not be your choice but if you want a quiet, comfortable room with a lot of history this would be the place. The museum that is a part of the hotel as well as the art/gift shop are nice bonuses as well.

Room Tip: The staff will work with your needs, I did not want to spoil the review with comments about the pool...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Boulder Dam Hotel is a nice historic hotel near the Hoover Dam. It is about a 25 minute drive to Las Vegas. I would recommend it to those who want to be near the Dam, Lake Mead, or just want to stay away from the hubbub of Las Vegas.

The Boulder Dam Hotel was built in the early 1930s when construction on the Dam began. The hotel houses a museum about the Dam as well as a local art gallery. I wish I had more time to visit these, as we primarily stayed here as a place to rest before another active day of touring. The lobby itself is gorgeous and maintained in period style.

The rooms are not as large as most hotels in the US. This is a historic hotel, and hotel rooms simply are bigger now than what they used to be. This didn't bother me too much, but I would have appreciated more bathroom space. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've experienced, but I was still able to sleep well.

The included breakfast is made cook to order, which is very nice compared to most buffets that "breakfast included" hotels provide. Just keep this in mind if you are on a schedule- I'd allow at least 45 minutes for breakfast. Also, be sure to be accurate in your guest count when you book. I absent mindedly booked for just one person, and because of that, we had to pay out of pocket for my husband's breakfast. It wasn't a big deal as they still offered us a hotel guest discount. I think we may have actually come out ahead because I believe the extra person charge is $10, but his breakfast was under that.

I found the area of Boulder City that the hotel was in charming. In retrospect, I think I would have preferred to just stay here than our subsequent stay on the Las Vegas strip. If you like some relaxation and history in your Vegas area stay, I would recommend the Boulder Dam Hotel.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, request a room next to the staircase. It is quicker to get around...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_Frances_From_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Hotel is run by the local historical society. It was built in the early 1930 era. Pictures of the construction of Boulder Damn adorn the walls of the hotel. There is a museum. The hotel is furnished to the period of construction. We stayed in the Art Deco room for $120.00 a night. This was a small suite with all the amenities, 2 televisions and real glasses and silverware. I will enclose some pictures. The hotel is not really appropriate for children. The attached restaurant is very good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank calvinneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

An interesting and historic hotel an easy drive from Las Vegas. The lobby is delightful and the lady who welcomed us, sorry we had just flown in from the UK and driven direct to the hotel so was tired and I didn't note her name, was lovely. They don't serve dinner but located close to the main street so plenty of dining options. Breakfast was good. Overall a good place to stay outside of Vegas . Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and loved this historic hotel. Beautiful place with great history. Staff was friendly. Lobby is comfortable. Our room was very large and had a nice view of the street front. The bed was heavenly!!!!! We would definitely stay again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Boulder Dam Hotel. It is charming, and the renovations are sensitive to original building. The breakfast was nice; the location was lovely. However, I stay at hotels to sleep, first and foremost. I need a clean and comfortable bed, and a relatively quiet sleeping environment. I've travelled for 30 years and stayed at hotels -- I am realistic. But, when our neighbors arrived to their room at midnight and had been drinking, it was like they came into our room, too. We heard nearly everything they said, thanks to an adjoining door. Then they turned their TV on and promptly fell asleep. The TV must have also been near the adjoining door because we could hear it clearly. The next night we had new neighbors who also had the TV on, but low. We could hear it clearly. I think you should be able to talk and have your TV on without keeping your neighbors awake. Not the place for me.

Also, did not feel that the bed met my standards for cleanliness, and that definitely contributed to an uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheodoraTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
3.7 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#4 of 8 in Boulder City
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
246 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
4.2 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#23 of 26 in Henderson
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Address: 1305 Arizona St, Boulder City, NV 89005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Dam Hotel offers the perfect blend of historic charm and modern comforts. This classic, historical hotel offers comfortable, individually appointed rooms plus a complimentary, full, cooked-to-order breakfast in its award-winning restaurant. Boulder Dam Hotel guests also receive free admission to the Hoover Dam Museum located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel
Boulder Dam Hotel Boulder City, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing