We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of La Bastide Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Bastide Rose
Ranked #5 of 14 Le Thor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were made so welcome here. We stayed for two nights. We ate at the restaurant where Emmannuel served up creative and delicious dinners. Breakfasts on the terrace were great and we were so well looked after by Poppy Pauline and others. The bedroom was brilliant with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in as well as two washbasins and a walkin shower.
Poppy clearly has an eye for taste as the whole house was furnished beautifully and it felt like home from home. We shall certainly want to return
Christopher Roberts

Room Tip: The top bedroom with shower
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for La Bastide Rose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent seven days with our group of friends at La Bastide Rose. Their website does sufficiently describe the basics concerning services, etc., but does not adequately convey the care, comfort and hospitality that everyone enjoyed from Poppy the owner, Pauline's friendly assistance & Emmanuel for his gourmet dinner preparations and entertainment. We spent most of the day on the road, so we chose to hang out and relax each evening on the property with wine, cocktails, cheese, etc. by the pool and/or river; and topped off with dinner - -a special treat that everyone looked forward to. The acid test for us would be...would we go back to La Bastide Rose again and our response..."in a minute" ! George & Pat Sucher

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_gsuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We chose this place because we wanted a centrally located B&B and the fact that they offered delicious dinners made our choice easy. Well, La Bastide Rose exceeded our expectations!! The property is beautiful, with gardens and the river and a beautiful pool. We took advantage of every area. Relaxing by the pool, glass of wine next to the river or in the library. Poppy is so welcoming and interesting with her many stories. Her son, Emmanuel, made us fabulous dinners each night(4 courses) and entertained us with his sense of humour. They were helpful with advice for our daily adventures into the different villages. The rooms were comfortable and large with amenities in the bathrooms for any need. I have to say the shower was exactly to my liking, a nice strong rain shower head as well as the hand held. Breakfast was delicious and substantial with a Nespresso machine for my favorite coffee. I could not have asked for anything better. We certainly plan on a return trip to La Bastide Rose again in the future. Next time we will do a cooking class with Emmanuel!
NOT a place to be missed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamayrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently visited France and choose to stay at the Bastide Rose; Great location for those deciding to travel around Avignon and viscinity...
Rooms are beautifully appointed, dining in the restaurant is a must, the chef prepares memorable daily food specials, the service is truly faultless;
Memorable experience.!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppynicole, Owner at La Bastide Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, they went to my heart even more important as you have been in the hotel business on a grand level, this review means a lot to us, as we try to welcome our guests personnally and effectively with warmth. I hope to be able to visit one day Serene Villa in Bali which must be a place to be for your country. Warmest regards and hope to see you one day again, you are now a member of La Bastide Rose big extended Family
your poppy from provence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were expecting a lot, based on prior reviews. If you just judge the B&B facility, it still needs some work. However, when you add in Poppy's hospitality it's over the top!
Little details are missing, like slippers for the cool tile floors, bath amenities, and a magnifying mirror in bathroom. However, as you settle in you forget about these little things and start to enjoy the peace, the surroundings, the total relaxation. Other details like great WiFi And the quality of the bed were also appreciated.
Pauline was very good in confirming reservations and answering emails. She greeted us and got us settled into the first floor room with a patio. That evening we had a picnic dinner with some good wine, cheese, bread, and fruit, and Poppy joined us. We learned a lot about the renovation of the mill into a B&B and her three husbands.
With no other guests while we were there, we talked with Poppy each evening and at breakfast. She went out of her way to make our stay most enjoyable. We had been to Provence before, but Poppy gave us some good ideas of where to go. We went to some town markets and brought back some fresh asparagus that was added to our omelet the next morning. It's little touches like this that made our stay at Bastide Rose so enjoyable.

Room Tip: GPS might not get you there. Follow their directions.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppynicole, Owner at La Bastide Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Hoping your fabulous trip is going on forward as well as it has started. Thank you for your kindest words, if it was nothing but my normal way of being, if I do receive persons in my house it is because I like to share my life and way of life. I am sorry for the slippers, we have them all on request, but the mirror should have been there, hope you can make it a little before than in 40 years ( your anniversary) and that you can check we have made progress.
I am so glad you came when you did, as for now the weather has turned rainy and there is no way to enjoy the outside as we did.
Have a great trip, take advantage of every minute and come back to let us know about it.
Warmest regards lots of wishes, big kiss
your poppy from provence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Four of us from New Zealand had the most wonderful week staying in the two bedroom apartment at Bastide Rose - we had the most amazing meal on the first night cooked by Emmanuel - 4 courses, 4 different wines...what a treat. We also booked in a cooking class with Emmanuel - he took us to the market and then over the afternoon we cooked together and then sat down to eat a feast of fresh food...the best long lunch ever!! Poppy (assisted by Pauline) was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble, including assisting with calls back to NZ and forwarding some mail on to us. Such hospitality and such a special place - scupture in the garden, pool to swim, picnics outside - heaven!! La Bastide Rose is a true find.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZloyalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppynicole, Owner at La Bastide Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

I am so sorry I do not go enough on the review page and missed you kindest of words. Thank you
We do enjoy our guests and it is a real reward to know their feelings, we hope to see you here or there
.Right now Provence is rainy as seldom but the flowers are starting to bloom and the island is so beautiful, we are getting very busy preparing to greet our guests and the exhibitions
Emmanuel and Pauline joins me into a big hug
your poppy from provence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure to work with Poppy and her son, Emmanuel, to plan a trip for ten of our friends/customers for September, 2012. We own a home furnishings store and go to Provence often to look for wonderful treasures there, and thus have stayed many times in this charming bastide. However, on this trip with our friends, we were quite anxious that they would feel the same warm pleasure from their stay as we always have in the past. We need not have worried..............Poppy, Emmanuel, and their staff made everything just perfect for us! We had four meals there, as well, and the food was delicious and beautiful to the eye. There property is such a pleasant place to relax when you return from a day of touring and shopping. A glass of wine by the pool with some cheese from a local market (and some ripe figs from the trees by the pool).................ummmm, just what you's always dreamed about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uphome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Thor
4.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
268 reviews
11.4 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
261 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#10 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
236 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
972 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide Rose

Address: 99 Chemin des Croupieres | Par le Chemin des Coudelieres, 84250 Le Thor, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Thor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Thor
Price Range: £164 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mill right on the river la Sorgue welcomes our guests with warmth and conviviality. With 5 rooms, 2 connecting for family, 2 suites, one wheelchair accessible bedroom with a private terrace and a two-bedroom-cottage, it proposes all the choices for a wonderful discovery of Provence in a very personal and confortable touch. 20 Minutes from Avignon, Gordes and Saint Remy de Provence and only 5 minutes from l'Isle sur la Sorgue, it is a perfect location to come back and relax every day after a discovering day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Bastide Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide Rose Hotel Le Thor
La Bastide Rose Le Thor, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing