We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Le Mas de Miejour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas de Miejour
Ranked #7 of 14 Le Thor B&B and Inns
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been here last August for five nights with my husbad and still now, back in Rome, when I wake up in the morning, my mind goes to Le Mas de Miejour.
It's a special place. Deeply hidden in the French contryside, far away form any kind of noise, but easily reachable by car, it's like a paradise.
The oweners are lovely, they like to talk with their guests in the mornings to share impressions and give them tips, the big house is beautiful, as well as the garden around it with its old trees, the rooms are clean, cosy, and cured in all the details, the bathroom smelled good with all kinds of parfums and soaps. It's a quiet place where you can just hear the sound of the leaves in the wind. Breakfast is delicious, with fresh bread, croissants and the delicious homemade marmelade.
If you want to visit there area, I would reccommed to stay here. It's also very close to Avignone, the Luberon, and many romantic provencale villages... Arles is not too far away.
Thank you, Friedrick and Emma!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiulyRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights here, and regret not booking more; after a very long drive, we were exhausted. Lynn and Fredrick made us feel immediately welcome, showed us our spacious room, and recommended an excellent spot for dinner. This is a busy area, he gave us great directions, both for dinners and our trip to Avignon. Loved the bathroom, very "Zen", all the little extras that make a place special. The courtyard is fabulous-sat out there under what must be 200-year old plane trees, sipping tea. Breakfast is a feast, complete with homemade goodies. Dinner recommendations were just perfect; this is the sort of b&b you want to tell everyone about--warm and uncomplicated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm511ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife and two tween kids stayed here, in half the farmhouse, for a week. The place was beautiful, quiet, clean and well provisioned (we cooked about half our meals in the provided kitchen).

Our hosts were gracious and very responsive (I had to keep telling them not to RUN when we rang the bell). Unfortunately their internet connection was out while we were there, but they provided us with access to 3G cell modem so we were able to stay connected. Problem solved.

The kids loved the pool, we loved walking the country roads and exploring the nearby ruins. A short drive to L'Isle-sur-la-Sourge for the best ice cream and meals around, and more to explore in nearby Avignon.

I wish I could give this gem a 6 rating, it easily tops the list of my favorite places I've stayed.

I couldn't imagine a better place to spend some time in Provence. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanblackketter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We loved this beautiful, relaxing and peaceful old farmhouse. The mature trees were fabulous, and especially enjoyed dining on the terrace and a delicious tomato tarte. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed in the self contained gite which is attached to the house and has its own private entrance once you are inside the main house. The gite has three fllors. On the ground is the kitchen which opens onto its own private agrden. On the first floor is the bathroom with separate bathroom (hand held shower over bath) a single and double bedroom and a loungeroom. On the secondt floor is an attic double bedroom.

Everything that you may need is contained within the gite including a washing machine, filter coffee maker, dishwasher etc and free internet access.

Whilst the gite is self contained we had breakfast one morning which was excellent, particularly Emma's home made yoghurts, although the cost was euro9 each.

The Cottage itself is over 2 klms from Le Thor which is not a very big village but does have a very large supermarket at one end of town.

Fred and Emma were excellent hosts and had numerous very good recommendations regarding restaurants, vineyards and sights.

Property is certainly very central with Avignon and any number of beautiful hilltop villages within easy driving distance.

Only issues I can see for some travellors maybe the stairways, which were quite steep, and the fact that the floorboards all creeked when anyone walked around but then what would you expect from a farmhouse that is this old.

I would stay at Le Mas de Miejour again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Staying at Le Mas de Miejour was the best part of our trip to France. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a unique mix of antiques from Provence and modern comforts. Fred and Emma are very welcoming and were more than willing to share their tips for exploring the area. if you don't speak French, don't worry; they both speak English perfectly. They appreciate good wine and food and were happy to give us advice on what restaurants, markets and wineries to visit. Breakfast consists of wonderful treats from the best boulangerie (bakery) in the area so you won't be disappointed. The charm of Provence is truly captured here and we especially enjoyed the feeling of what it would be like to live in France. I highly recommend their B&B as a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed with Fred and Emma for three nights at their beautiful farmhouse. It was just as we had pictured it -- a beautiful 19th century converted farmhouse, spacious and charmingly decorated rooms, and expansive, well-maintained grounds, including a garden, chickens, and a very nice pool. In addition to being the perfect base for exploring one of the most gorgeous parts of France, passing time in the garden at the house was itself a great pleasure. Breakfasts of homemade yogurt and jams alongside crusty croissants with cereal options pour les americains were enjoyed under a gorgeous plane tree, or in the sun, as desired. Fred and Emma went way beyond our expectations, chatting with us (their English is great) and even going to town to buy us an assortment of local cheeses to provide us with an authentic and local gustatory experience. In addition, they were founts of knowledge about the local sites and restaurant options (including telling us what to avoid). Generally, we were made to feel at home in a house that we still wish was our own. An all-around fantastic and memorable experience -- we can't wait to go back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Thor
4.6 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
373 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cote Provence
Cote Provence
#4 of 14 in Le Thor
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Mas des Vertes Rives
Le Mas des Vertes Rives
#2 of 5 in Chateauneuf-de-Gadagne
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Bastide Rose
La Bastide Rose
#5 of 14 in Le Thor
130 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Carmes
Les Carmes
#1 of 14 in Le Thor
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Miejour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Miejour

Property: Le Mas de Miejour
Address: 117 Chemin du Trentin, 84250 Le Thor, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Thor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Thor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas de Miejour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Miejour Le Thor, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing