We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and great hosts”
Review of Le Mas de Miejour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas de Miejour
Ranked #7 of 14 Le Thor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We loved this beautiful, relaxing and peaceful old farmhouse. The mature trees were fabulous, and especially enjoyed dining on the terrace and a delicious tomato tarte. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Le Mas de Miejour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed in the self contained gite which is attached to the house and has its own private entrance once you are inside the main house. The gite has three fllors. On the ground is the kitchen which opens onto its own private agrden. On the first floor is the bathroom with separate bathroom (hand held shower over bath) a single and double bedroom and a loungeroom. On the secondt floor is an attic double bedroom.

Everything that you may need is contained within the gite including a washing machine, filter coffee maker, dishwasher etc and free internet access.

Whilst the gite is self contained we had breakfast one morning which was excellent, particularly Emma's home made yoghurts, although the cost was euro9 each.

The Cottage itself is over 2 klms from Le Thor which is not a very big village but does have a very large supermarket at one end of town.

Fred and Emma were excellent hosts and had numerous very good recommendations regarding restaurants, vineyards and sights.

Property is certainly very central with Avignon and any number of beautiful hilltop villages within easy driving distance.

Only issues I can see for some travellors maybe the stairways, which were quite steep, and the fact that the floorboards all creeked when anyone walked around but then what would you expect from a farmhouse that is this old.

I would stay at Le Mas de Miejour again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Staying at Le Mas de Miejour was the best part of our trip to France. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a unique mix of antiques from Provence and modern comforts. Fred and Emma are very welcoming and were more than willing to share their tips for exploring the area. if you don't speak French, don't worry; they both speak English perfectly. They appreciate good wine and food and were happy to give us advice on what restaurants, markets and wineries to visit. Breakfast consists of wonderful treats from the best boulangerie (bakery) in the area so you won't be disappointed. The charm of Provence is truly captured here and we especially enjoyed the feeling of what it would be like to live in France. I highly recommend their B&B as a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed with Fred and Emma for three nights at their beautiful farmhouse. It was just as we had pictured it -- a beautiful 19th century converted farmhouse, spacious and charmingly decorated rooms, and expansive, well-maintained grounds, including a garden, chickens, and a very nice pool. In addition to being the perfect base for exploring one of the most gorgeous parts of France, passing time in the garden at the house was itself a great pleasure. Breakfasts of homemade yogurt and jams alongside crusty croissants with cereal options pour les americains were enjoyed under a gorgeous plane tree, or in the sun, as desired. Fred and Emma went way beyond our expectations, chatting with us (their English is great) and even going to town to buy us an assortment of local cheeses to provide us with an authentic and local gustatory experience. In addition, they were founts of knowledge about the local sites and restaurant options (including telling us what to avoid). Generally, we were made to feel at home in a house that we still wish was our own. An all-around fantastic and memorable experience -- we can't wait to go back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My husband and I just returned from Provence, where we spent 5 nights at the Mas de Miejour. Fantastic hospitality, charming house & decor, extremely helpful hosts, central yet peaceful location and delicious breakfasts. This place is a great value for Provence! Husband Fred is an American-trained computer scientist who left the tech world to study wine and later to open the B&B with his wife Emma. They advised us each morning on where to go, which market was happening, which wineries to visit and where to go for dinner. Breakfast was different each day - Emma's homemade yogurt, Fred's jams and the best croissants during our trip. We can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0nappetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This was our first stop on a French extravaganza and I have to say we weren't disapointed. Emma and Fred are great hosts who have thought of everything. From a little internet station to meals on an evening - nothing was too much trouble.
I will always remember their beautiful garden and great wine choices. I only wish we had stayed longer. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

In June, we had the pleasure of staying in a home, the gite, at the Mas de Miejour.
We were very comfortable in our 3 bedroom, living room and (our favorite) the well equiped kitchen that opened into our private garden.
Fred and Emma were super hosts. Aside from anticipating our needs, they were always ready to share information. From their recommandations, we found many great restaurants. They helped us locate the wonderful food markets (even a daily 6:00 P.M. gem) and gave us inside tipson where to purchase the best goat cheese and most delicious pastry. Since we were also interested in wine, Fred and Emma's extensive knowledge of this subject, led us to find great vinyards......naturally resulting in numerous tastings.
The spacious grounds surrounding our gite at the Mas de Miejour, and for our enjoyment, included fruit trees, olive trees, and the typical flowers from Provence. Their lovely swimming pool offered relaxation and privacy.
Our experience at the Mas de Miejour was so enjoyable that we look forward to returning (chez-nous) to our "home" in Provence.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RonnieandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Thor
4.4 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
268 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cote Provence
Cote Provence
#3 of 14 in Le Thor
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Mas des Vertes Rives
Le Mas des Vertes Rives
#2 of 5 in Chateauneuf-de-Gadagne
98 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Mas des Hirondelles
Le Mas des Hirondelles
#1 of 5 in Saumane-de-Vaucluse
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Bastide Rose
La Bastide Rose
#5 of 14 in Le Thor
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Miejour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Miejour

Address: 117 Chemin du Trentin, 84250 Le Thor, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Thor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Thor
Price Range: £78 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Mas de Miejour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Miejour Le Thor, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing