We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Center of Isle Sur La Sorgue (Shirley & Jim, Seattle)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Following several idyllic stays at La Maison Sur La Sorgue, our favorite place to stay in Provence, this special place has become part of what we most love about France. The remarkably renovated building embodies the best of class and style. Guests are warmly greeted as they pass through the substantial 17th century door and enter this cool and contemporary space where they are enveloped in luxury and comfort. From owners Marie-Claude and Frédéric who are incredibly accomplished and perceptive hosts, to beautifully designed rooms that you just want to pack up and take home with you, the experience of staying here is…quite perfect.

Leaving the private sanctuary of our room each morning, we were greeted by the soft sound of jazz wending up the stone stepped stairwell. Breakfast never disappoints and always has extra surprises like desserts or a fresh fig with a dab of goat cheese just collected from the cheese vendor set up right outside the hotel door on market day. The beautiful gallery and shop are added bonuses, as are Marie-Claude and Frédéric themselves. They make our visits extra special with their conversation, kindness, and graciousness.

The hotel is in center of town, a busy place on market days, but at La Maison Sur La Sorgue you feel you are in your own calm and private zone whether in the breakfast room, garden, or your room. While we know each room is unique and luxurious, I almost hesitate to share details of The Loggia as we consider it to be 'our room.’ This special spot has a private terrace where you can relax while listening to the wind in the big sycamore tree and the fluttering of wings and cooing of doves. It does not get better than this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in the "Suite of Shadows". Frederic and Mary Claude were gracious hosts in every way. We arrived somewhat lost, so Frederic walked to meet us. Another special touch was the New York Times International Edition on the breakfast table each morning. The breakfast of scrambled eggs, canadian bacon, breads, and local jellies, jams, fruits, and cheeses was exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Staying at La Maison Sur La Sorgue was a wonderful validation of what other trip advisor subscribers had already confirmed! We had a two night stay recently just on the cusp of summer/autumn when the weather was still really warm during the day. Frederic's " hotel particular" provided a welcome respite at the end of our days wondering around the beautiful town which is not unlike Venice in that the Sorgue river flows and meanders through. Frederic is a fabulous host, and the eclectic French/Asian fusion of artworks and antiques throughout the maison together with fabulous alfresco outdoor area, including timber decked and lined plunge pool made our stay a memorable one! We very much look forward to a return visit on our next trip to Provence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staying at La Maison Sur La Sorgue is an experience that you'll cherish forever and probably want to repeat!

I've just spent 4 nights at the hotel which immediately on arrival started to surpass my expectations, it then continued with Frederics's warm welcome, then of course the wonderful room. This hotel is definitely a must for anyone wanting to explore the endless Provençal towns and villages, it's a tranquil bolt hole to recharge each evening whilst being in a village with 2 of the best restaurants in the region....ask Frederic for a reservation!

I have stayed at many many hotels and my travelling companion works in the hotel industry, we both felt this hotel has got everything right in every way.

I shall definitely return with the hope that Frederic, his wife and the whole team are just as welcoming, enthusiastic and friendly as my first visit, I suspect they will be!

Well done La Maison Sur La Sorgue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markiandickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you want somewhere different and memorable then la Maison sur la sorgue is the place. You get a very personal service in a superbly renovated enchanting building. There are only a few rooms so you need to book early. We stayed in the room with a view with an African theme. Breakfast is the courtyard was fantastic and we spent a long time enjoying the experience. The hotel is in the centre of this beautiful village. It's not cheap but if you really want an exclusive location to spend your time then call Frederick!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are staying in Provence, then you MUST stay at La Maison Sur La Sorgue. We have stayed there two years in a row and can't wait to come back. It is stylish, hip, cozy, and a great location from which to explore Provence. All the rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated in a contemporary fashion with a sprinkling of antique pieces.

The best part is the amazing owners who will go to any length to make you feel comfortable and welcome, as if it's your own home. There is always a glass of wine waiting for you after a day of exploring and Frederic always has great suggestions of what to do in the area. In fact, we wanted to go cycling for a few days and he organized amazing bikes for us with great recommendations of routes to take. (Mont Ventoux next time, we promise!)

Some particularly great things about this hotel are:
- Breakfast! We looked forward to our nice little meal at a table in the courtyard every morning. It really started each day off well.
- Plunge pool! After a day of exploring in the summer heat (in our case, cycling) we enjoyed a dip in the pool and a lay on the lounge chairs (towels magically appearing once they realized we had returned, as if they read our minds). And, of course, the staff brought us ice cold water and some cookies without us even having to ask.
- The art gallery. The attached art gallery adds uniqueness, ambience, and atmosphere to the whole hotel as some of the pieces are spread throughout the building.

A truly wonderful place to stay, where you are made to feel welcome all the time - like with good friends or family. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickeneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I can't say enough nice things about this lovely inn or the inn keepers themselves! We so enjoyed our room (the Red room with the balcony) as well as the charming town of Isle de la Sorgue. This was a perfect base from which to explore Provence - without being in the crowds of Avignon. Frederic provided insights on touring, plenty of books to learn more about the country side - delightful wine upon arrival and dinner reservations at a delicious restaurant! His wife was equally as charming and we enjoyed browsing the art shop that was attached. The inn is decorated with curiosities from afar as well as local art pieces, very interesting to just mull around and take it - The whole experience was just perfect - relaxing and comfortable - and I wholeheartedly recommend this spot for your base camp in Provence!

Room Tip: Loved the red room with the balcony - so nice to sit outside in the evening and watch the stars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrienneSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
1.0 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
196 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
180 reviews
9.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France

Address: 6 Rue Rose Goudard | Place Rose Goudard, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range: £221 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel La Maison Sur La Sorgue and its hosts offer you charming suites in a former private mansion in the heart of l' Isle sur la Sorgue.You enter by an unassuming door, which opens into a serie of cool rooms through wich you glimpse a verdant garden laid out on the banks of the Sorgue river under a majestic Sycamore.We eargely await you, and rest at your disposal to help you organize your stay in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sur La Sorgue Hotel l`Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue
La Maison Sur Sorgue
La Maison Sur La Sorgue - Esprit De France L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing