We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Certificate of Excellence
Spanbroek, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, great welcome.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Much has been said already, this place is absolutely stunning and inspirational for my own home decoration. Art work can be found all around from the entrance to the bathroom and it is not your typical hotel 'art' but the quality you want to take home. Biggest plus is not even the hotel but the great service.

The suite we stayed in was beautiful, excellent combination of modern redecoration and use of historic elements. Air-conditioning was not quite up to the France summer though, most of the hotel was cool but our shadow suite was a bit on the warm side.

Scores well among the accommodations I've stayed at in this segment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HvD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
164
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the moment my friend and I stepped in to Frederic's lovely boutique hotel we were transported into a delight for the senses. He is an amazingly charming and generous host. We were graciously offered an upgrade to the 2 bedroom suite and settled in to what was to be our home for the next 3 days. Breakfast was a thing of beauty and a delicious treat with the freshest ingredients each day. The setting was so beautiful and tranquil. He could not do enough for us, welcoming each evening with a glass of wine and an offer to recommend whatever we needed.
I was so very sad to leave and would love to return to this beautiful town and special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is beautiful and has been renovated to a very high standard. The attention to detail with regards to the decor is good and the owners clearly are confident in their ability to design and confidently use colour with great results. Our room was beautiful and it was a joy to stay in, however there were a few modern conveniences that would have made our stay a little more enjoyable. Firstly there was no freestanding shower in our room, which meant in order to shower we had to sit in a freestanding bath, this was awkward and also got the floor very wet which made it slippery for the next person to use. Appreciate the freestanding bath looked beautiful, it just wasn't the most practical thing to use. This was a big drawback for us and we were not informed of this when booking. There was no tv in the room- which was not a problem to us but is something that should be flagged.

When we arrived we were given a glass of wine which was lovely and the breakfast was good too. It was in the owners personal kitchen though which could potentially be a little awkward. The location is beautiful but I couldn't help but think there were other nearby hotels with a shower and equal facilities which would have offered better value for money- maybe without such a beautiful unique decor but that I guess is a compromise every traveler must consider.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the best accommodations we have ever experienced. It is on par with an Aman resort at a fraction of the price. Frederic is the consummate host and true ambassador for the region. Take his recommendations to heart.. he knows what's best in the area. Ask for the Loggia room when booking - it comes with a fabulous large & private covered terrace. Please be aware, this place is not for everyone - there's no elevator, there's no phones - what there is ... is tranquility and sustenance. Truly a very fine boutique hotel. À bientôt!

Room Tip: ask for the loggia room with its large and private covered terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A wonderful hotel lovingly restored by Fredrick the owner and operator. The decor and every detail is a treat. Ask Frederick to demonstrate the pool (it's pretty clever). It comes with water jets for laps - but that's only the beginning.
Great breakfast in the courtyard and then step out your front door to soak up the town. Frederick also owns the jewellery store located next the the hotel on one side and the decor store on the other side. He is a very helpful man with a great knowledge of the town, the restaurants and everything you need to know.

Room Tip: The Top floor room has a view in both directions - to the pool/courtyard and the square. It wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fantastic in every way. I'm sure other reviewers have said it all. Beautiful hotel and I'Isle sur La Sorgue is a great base for exploring the Luberon and other parts of Provence. Frederic is a superb host and travel advisor. Would recommend it unhesitatingly. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue was one of the stops on our long journey in Provence.We decided to look around at first and then to stay there if we liked it, which we did. We found it unbelievably pretty: charming cafes near the riverbank, antique shops, narrow scenic streets...

So my husband decided on our behalf to stay there for 1 night and opened Google to find any hotel. "Boutique hotel in a 17th century private mansion? You'll like it, darling", he said. So we went to the La Maison sur la Sorgue hotel and were surprised by an old beautiful building. However, when we entered, we were amazed! It was a stylish mansion, which looked like an Art Gallery or just a picture in some good Interior Design magazine. All rooms were decorated by art objects, which were wonderful, handpicked pieces from all over the world. And the atmosphere... Oh, we decided at that moment that we wanted to stay at this luxurious and friendly place! I sincerely love and am interested in design and always try to learn more about new styles and designers.The Mansion has been renovated in Fusion Style and as a result, the pretty Provence style begins to look in new way.

The main thing is, it's so comfortable for guests! Imagine: a large lounge by the fireplace, a lot of books on the shelves (I've found Shakespeare and French poetry), classical music on the music player... You immediately begin to feel like sweet home, but not like a hotel! While we had a delicious breakfast served elegantly in the dinning room (or in the small garden if you prefer) we agreed to stay here again and not for only 1 night.

Dear Frederic and Marie-Claude! Many thanks for this fine experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
614 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
168 reviews
16.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France

Property: La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Address: 6 Rue Rose Goudard | Place Rose Goudard, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel La Maison Sur La Sorgue and its hosts offer you charming suites in a former private mansion in the heart of l' Isle sur la Sorgue.You enter by an unassuming door, which opens into a serie of cool rooms through wich you glimpse a verdant garden laid out on the banks of the Sorgue river under a majestic Sycamore.We eargely await you, and rest at your disposal to help you organize your stay in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sur La Sorgue Hotel l`Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue
La Maison Sur Sorgue
La Maison Sur La Sorgue - Esprit De France L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing