We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous option for Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A fabulous option for Provence”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here with my parents while visiting Provence and I can honestly say that this place is what really made Provence an experience worth remembering. A lovely boutique, bed and breakfast type of hotel - with the perfect balance of coziness and luxury. Beautifully and tastefully decorated - really impeccable. Driving into town to find the hotel can be difficult given the small streets, but it's all well worth it and once your car is parked, you really don't need it to explore the town since it's pretty small. They are excellent hosts. The town is utterly charming and the market on the weekend is truly phenomenal --- way better than any of the other markets in Provence that we went to (you could honestly skip all of the other markets and just go to this one -- much of the same stuff is repeated, but the size and selection at this market blows the others away). If you go to Provence, make sure to stay here and experience the weekend market. It it truly a magnificent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
163
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We recently stayed at La Maison Sur La Sorgue in the Attic Suite. From the moment we stepped foot inside this chic, former 17th century mansion, l we knew we were somewhere special! The owners, Frederic and Marie-Claude are wonderfully kind and generous hosts and you will be greeted like their dear friends the moment you arrive. The Attic Suite was just perfect for us with a magical view outside the bedroom window, a private terrace where we entertained friends for drinks one evening before dinner and a second story bathroom in addition to a main level bathroom and water closet in the room. Frederic served us the best Rose of our 9 days in France and provided amazing restaurant suggestions. Our friends took the Suite of Shadows which was equally chic and comfortable. Frederic and Marie-Claude also have two fantastic shops filled with art, unique accessories and other treasures from their world travels. I truly give this my highest rating. Cheers!
-Will-

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC-News-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not much point in repeating other reviewers positive experiences. I can just endorse them. Please ask the owner, Frederic, for restaurant suggestions and follow them. No need to visit the tourist traps along the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOC5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanbroek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Much has been said already, this place is absolutely stunning and inspirational for my own home decoration. Art work can be found all around from the entrance to the bathroom and it is not your typical hotel 'art' but the quality you want to take home. Biggest plus is not even the hotel but the great service.

The suite we stayed in was beautiful, excellent combination of modern redecoration and use of historic elements. Air-conditioning was not quite up to the France summer though, most of the hotel was cool but our shadow suite was a bit on the warm side.

Scores well among the accommodations I've stayed at in this segment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HvD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the moment my friend and I stepped in to Frederic's lovely boutique hotel we were transported into a delight for the senses. He is an amazingly charming and generous host. We were graciously offered an upgrade to the 2 bedroom suite and settled in to what was to be our home for the next 3 days. Breakfast was a thing of beauty and a delicious treat with the freshest ingredients each day. The setting was so beautiful and tranquil. He could not do enough for us, welcoming each evening with a glass of wine and an offer to recommend whatever we needed.
I was so very sad to leave and would love to return to this beautiful town and special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is beautiful and has been renovated to a very high standard. The attention to detail with regards to the decor is good and the owners clearly are confident in their ability to design and confidently use colour with great results. Our room was beautiful and it was a joy to stay in, however there were a few modern conveniences that would have made our stay a little more enjoyable. Firstly there was no freestanding shower in our room, which meant in order to shower we had to sit in a freestanding bath, this was awkward and also got the floor very wet which made it slippery for the next person to use. Appreciate the freestanding bath looked beautiful, it just wasn't the most practical thing to use. This was a big drawback for us and we were not informed of this when booking. There was no tv in the room- which was not a problem to us but is something that should be flagged.

When we arrived we were given a glass of wine which was lovely and the breakfast was good too. It was in the owners personal kitchen though which could potentially be a little awkward. The location is beautiful but I couldn't help but think there were other nearby hotels with a shower and equal facilities which would have offered better value for money- maybe without such a beautiful unique decor but that I guess is a compromise every traveler must consider.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the best accommodations we have ever experienced. It is on par with an Aman resort at a fraction of the price. Frederic is the consummate host and true ambassador for the region. Take his recommendations to heart.. he knows what's best in the area. Ask for the Loggia room when booking - it comes with a fabulous large & private covered terrace. Please be aware, this place is not for everyone - there's no elevator, there's no phones - what there is ... is tranquility and sustenance. Truly a very fine boutique hotel. À bientôt!

Room Tip: ask for the loggia room with its large and private covered terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
587 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
225 reviews
16.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France

Property: La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Address: 6 rue Rose Goudard, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel La Maison Sur La Sorgue and its hosts offer you charming suites in a former private mansion in the heart of l' Isle sur la Sorgue.You enter by an unassuming door, which opens into a serie of cool rooms through wich you glimpse a verdant garden laid out on the banks of the Sorgue river under a majestic Sycamore.We eargely await you, and rest at your disposal to help you organize your stay in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sur La Sorgue Hotel l`Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue
La Maison Sur Sorgue
La Maison Sur La Sorgue - Esprit De France L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing