We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed in a convenient location within an excellent ski area”
Review of L'Oree des Cimes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Oree des Cimes
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well appointed in a convenient location within an excellent ski area”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in a well appointed two (one twin and one double semi ensuite) bedroomed apartment with a pleasant living space and balcony. It was 2 minutes walk from the Grizzly chairlift which provides easy access into the Les Arcs part of the huge Paradiski area and to the Vanoise Express cablecar into La Plagne. There is a good size ski and boot locker for each apartment and hotel guests can use the spa with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. The apartment could sleep 6. We were 5 adults so one slept in the living area but there was plenty of room to store kit and bedding out of the way during the day. The lively Mont Blanc bar serving good food is 2 minutes walk away and there are several decent restaurants in the village which is a 5-10 minute walk down the hill.

Room Tip: Ask about a south facing balcony in a block not too far up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueB1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    48
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
guernsey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lovely new hotel. Just unhelpful staff. On our arrival checked in and was told to lug our luggage up 4 flights of stairs or we could go right round the hotel and lug it up the hill (which it what we did) Just felt if we'd had very young children who could not of helped with the bags this would of been very hard going.

You could pre order bread for the morning and pick it up from reception.

Skiing was really fantastic wide open slopes. My husband and I have been skiing for 10 years and our children did their ESF level 3 and in fact my older daughter did that well she gained her bronze level. Their teacher Patrick was the best we'd had. Experienced and the kids loved him which makes so much difference when he made the lessons fun.
We were holidaying with another family who had only skied once before. They had private lessons to build up confidence and will be ready for group ski school next time.

Eating out - La Salon was really good we ate twice there. The bar mont blanc Burgers/texmex staff english and service and food were great. Cooked in the apartment a few times. Well stocked kitchen. Used takeaway pizza service one night to.

Had a very disappointing massage at the spa. So really wouldn't recommend that. Pool was very cold too. But plenty of kids were in anyway!

Had a really wonderful ski holiday. Shame about staff at the hotel it could be totally fabulous.

Room Tip: Stay inside main hotel if you have small children because no assistance is given with luggage to roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a nicely presented and generally well kitted out hotel. We were a party of 8, four adults & 4 children aged 10 or under, the apartment for 8 we stayed in was just about big enough, however if you have older children, or are all adults, it could get a bit crampt as you have to convert the sitting area to beds. One thing they don't tell you is that the DVD players are only available for two days at a time, a bit of a problem if you have small kids on very snowy days.
The staff were helpful and advised us of the bakery service (which is great) and the necessity of early spa booking, so maybe some feedback is getting through.
We stayed in A block, up lots of stairs so if you are getting transport to this hotel then it is worth asking reception which block you are in before unloading, as you are able to drive round and drop your bags by your block and so avoid carrying them up the 65 + steps. The great bonus of all this height is you can ski in and out.
The village is very friendly and everyone we encountered was helpful, even suggesting savings eg the adjacent ski hire shop will give you a 10% discount if you present a stamped voucher from the hotel.
All in all a great place to stay and we will almost certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westhorp-Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed recently for the 2nd time - this one was in a 3-bedder for New Years week. The apartment was spotless and very well kitted out. The bedrooms are not overly large but have everything you need - however the lounge and kitchen area was excellent. A couple of small things needed fixing and the maintenance man came quickly and was charming to fix the problem. The underground parking is worthwhile to keep your car free of snow and ice. There are a lot of steps to walk up from the reception to the accommodation but you are bound to have hills if you want to ski! The main building has several open fires and lounging ares which are great but they shut far too early at 8pm every night for some strange reason. The spa is excellent and a real bonus after a hard days skiing. The steam baths are great but the jacuzzi a bit cooler than we would have liked. All in all a great place for a family ski holiday - we will go again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the slopes if you want an interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We have just returned from a week at L'Oree Des Cimes. The location was excellent. The small friendly village of Vallandry is a 5-10 min walk down a steep path (watch out how much food you buy at the supermarket at the bottom as you have to carry it all the way back!). The village has a small amount of nice local restaurants - we particularly loved La Fontana. The prices aren't as high as other ski resorts we have been to (Lasagna 13 euros for example). There is also a few bars. The Mont Blanc is right next to the apartments and has good food - but it gets very crowded with Apres Ski - its not really a great eating location in the evening (but is open during the day and also for take away).

The staff in the apartments were not the most helpful - some were better than others, one particular woman was quite unfriendly and didn't want to speak English - which is fair enough as we are in France...When we arrived we got very vague directlons to our apartment and a map that wasn't very helpful. We were in block B which turned out to be up about 7 flights of stairs, across a small road, up more stairs, in a lift then finally there - it wasn't great with all the luggage and skis and I've no idea how the families with kids were coping. It would have been helpful to get a bit of warning/guideance from reception.

They also didn't give us much info about the spa or treatments/location etc. We found it all out for ourselves no problem but it would have been nice to get a bit of info. It was also impossible to get a spa treatment as it was always fully booked - so if you want a spa treatment, book before your holiday.

The bakery service is excellent - make sure you ask about it when you arrive as they won't tell you.

The apartment itself was great. We were in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom. Its meant to sleep 8 but I wouldn't recommend that, I don't even think there would be enough seats to sit round the dining table or watching TV/in the lounge and the bathrooms would become a nightmare. For 6 it was just right. They don't give out bath robes or slippers which we've had in other apartments before so that was a shame, and bare in mind if you want to use the spa you have to walk into the open - so you will probably need your coat etc. There are lockers and changing rooms in the spa.

The apartment came with ton's of kitchen stuff and we ate most meals for 6 adults there and had no problem. There is a dishwasher and plenty of plates/bowls etc etc. There is a lovely outside terrace too - perfect for lunches.

The Grizzly lift is located near the upper buildings of the apartment - so we were lucky it was right by our ski locker room. Skiing back is a bit tricky if you want to come right to the door but its doable if you just take your time.

The ski area right by the apartments was great, lovely wide runs that weren't too crowded. The rest of the Les Arcs area was not as lovely and much more crowded. We also took a day trip to La Plagne for an extra 28 euros each on the lift pass and that was brilliant - would highly recommend it!

Overall good apartments - but I do think the ones at Flaine Montsoleil we stayed at last year were perhaps slightly better, but it didn't have the characterisitic town - so its always varying pros and cons!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChezzaChezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Thought it might be useful to post a map of where the appartment blocks are. The Grizzly chair lift is marked by (9). Block C is the closest to it. The others will require a very short walk along/accross the residence's access road to get to the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This is a lovely appartment block with very nice furnishings and more space than the average French apartment. We stayed (2 adults, 2 children) in an apartment for 6 which had a double bedroom, a twin bedroom (my wife felt the beds in this room would have been small for adults) and a good living area. Rooms are warm and comfortable with free wifi. As usual there is little English language TV (Eurosport only). Decent pool/jacuzi/sauna. Ski hire shop on site.

There is a delicatessen about 4 minutes walk away and a minimarket 7 or 8 minutes walk away - up hill on the way back (you are in the mountains!) so buying milk isn't exactly on the doorstep, but hardly arduous. You can order bread and pick it up each morning from reception. The village also has 2 or 3 restaurants, a bakery, a couple of local produce shops, a newsagent and the odd ski shop. Not much else though.

It really is ski-in, ski-out (in the right snow conditions) - only a 5 second ski down to the nearest lift (le Grizzly - a long chair). You can skii down to the ski school (and another lift) in about 30 seconds. It is positioned well for skiing the whole of Paradiski (les arcs and la plagne) at it is close to the Vanoise Express lifet that comnnects the two resort areas. Paradiski is a great skiing area - one of the largest and highest in Europe - big motorways in la plagne and skiing through the trees in les arcs. Mountain restaurants on the les arcs side are limited so be prepared for lunch in one of the resorts.

We booked direct with the appartment and got a couple of freebies - free indoor parking and end of stay cleaning.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeremySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nancroix
3.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.3 mi away
Lagrange Prestige Residence l'Arollaie
1.2 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
0.7 mi away
Chalet la Tarine
Chalet la Tarine
#1 of 2 in Nancroix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence l'Oree des Neiges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oree des Cimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oree des Cimes

Property: L'Oree des Cimes
Address: Route des Espagnols, 73210 Nancroix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry > Nancroix
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Nancroix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Oree des Cimes 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ski Planet, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Oree des Cimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oree Des Cimes Hotel Nancroix
L'Oree Des Cimes Peisey-Vallandry/Nancroix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing