We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel with fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights durting an exhibition nearby, so didn't get to experience the locality.

This is a typical small hotel (25 rooms) and is looked after by what I would guess is the owner. There is very little parking nearby, which makes the free parking for hotel guests very welcome. It is on a first come first served basis, and has enough space for about 6-7 cars if people park fairly.

The room I was given was not too obvious, being up a small corridor to one side of the main landing, but once found it was very nice.
The room itself was very clean and bright, very welcoming after a day at work! The bed was extreamely comfortable and made sure of a good nights sleep. The bathroom or should I say shower room was good, although there was not a lot of stoarage space for personal toiletries on the shelf above the sink.
Soap is provided and a sachet of shower gel/shampoo, so for more than one guest, it may need to be shared!!!

Breakfast was fairly standard fare for continental hotels, but the warm rolls were very good.

Normally when staying in a hotel I like to visit different restausrants nearby, but the food at the restaurant was excellant, if fairly limited options. However, one evening my collegue and I asked about something different and the owner arranged for us to have something off menu, which was fantastic service and it tasted really good.

The food is very reasonably priced (as is the beer) and I would highly recommend visiting it, even if you are not a resident at the hotel.

Service: Nothing was too much bother for the main person running the place, anything that was requested was provided with a smile. The service in the restaurant could be a little "relaxed", but it wasn't an issue as we had what we needed when we wanted withing reason.

Overall a great little hotel and service always with a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may get a bit noisy with car/lorry traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveGreenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    9
    10
    11
See reviews for
9
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The room was clean and updated plenty of room to spread out for our family of four. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The hotel is off of the main road in Hagnau, parking for the hotel is just past the light on the left. It is advisable to park there and then go check in because there isn't much room for parking anywhere else. The hotel has a Steak house inside and they have variety of things to choose from on the menu. The aged steaks were fantastic! It did take a while to get our meals but with that said we were a large group of eight and one of the steaks was ordered well done so that tends to take longer. We still enjoyed our meal and it was nice to be able to sit back, have a drink and walk up to our room. Across the street and down the hill there are plenty of bakeries, restaurants, parks and the ferry which is a nice way to get around the lake! The price of the room was decent for the time of year we were there (July) and for the location. It was a nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a typical small German hotel, well run, clean and friendly. It is located in the Bodensee town of Hagnau which is worth a visit even if you are not staying there. The restaurant at the Drei Konig is excellent and cooking is a passion for the proprietor Thomas Spitz, try the Zurich Schnitzel. Breakfasts are good with fresh rolls, a good selection of cold meats as well as scrambled egg. the beer is good but try the local wines from the local winery in the town.

Staying at the hotel entitles you to a discount card for the local tourist attractions (of which there are very many) and I think, the buses.

The downside is that this hotel is located on a main route for freight traffic from Austria into central Germany. If approaching from the north, pass the hotel and take note of it and the parking about 50m away, turn round when convenient safe etc, then approach with parking and hotel on your right. Add to this the traffic lights outside the hotel and it is no surprise that the front of the hotel is very noisy. Avoid a room at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room fronting onto the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel for five nights the room was clean and recently decorated the en-suite shower-room was tiled and modern,the Hotel is on the main road in Hagnau with bus stops within 50 metres of the hotel great for trips around Lake Konstance,a local village shop is beside the hotel handy for Chilled water and picknic supplies,the Harbour is a lazy eight minute walk and has plenty of seating and great Lakeside views the Pier for the ferry boats is also here once again you can tour the lake by ferry and its very easy with resonable prices,the harbour pier is a great place for wildlife or people watching with boats for hire and Yachts coming and going.The Hotel offers a lovely base for touring Lake Konstance its clean offers a great included breakfast with Cereals,fresh fruit,a selection of fresh meats and cheese,excellent freshly backed Brown or White rolls still warm,and a choice of Jams or Honey,as well a the breakfast room in the evening the Restaurant is open run by Joachim Polley and Chef Tomasso we went in for a meal on our first night and went back every night of our stay we were made to feel very much at home and the food was excellent with specials on the menu every night it made our stay in Dreikoenig very special,as the hotel is on a main road some traffic noise could be heard during our stay when temperatures reached 29c how-ever the new double glazing has reduced this to a great degee and we sleeped well,the addition of the Roof terrace has given everyone the choice to eat outside in the evenings if they wish altogether a good place to stay for great local food and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert7388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagnau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Burgunderhof
Hotel Burgunderhof
#1 of 11 in Hagnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
Hotel Restaurant 3 Stuben
#6 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Buchberg
Hotel Buchberg
#12 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Winzerstube
Hotel Zur Winzerstube
#2 of 11 in Hagnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel Sonnenstube
0.4 mi away
Villa am See
Villa am See
#5 of 11 in Hagnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig

Property: Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig
Address: Hauptstr. 18, 88709 Hagnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hagnau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing