We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Like other visitors, we wanted to stay close to Lassen Park. Mineral is the closest you can get to the park but not worth the rip off from the unfriendly owner. We had booked two nights and expected a modest stay. However, the motel has not been well cared for with a lot of deferred maintaince. Our room had lights that did not work in the bathroom and main room, and a heater we were afraid to use. Loose wiring did not invite us to trust having the heat on while we slept. We were expecting no phones and no tv no refridgerator, but did not expect dirty floors, broken door locks and security chains, and no hot water for shower or sink, and lousy beds and pillows. There is one place to eat, the owners cafe. Not the worst we have ever had but certainly overpriced for what you get. What a dump. We decided not to stay the second night and of course, no refunds.
Our advise, if you are visiting the park, stay in Chester. Even though you are 30 miles out of the park, you can at least stay at a Best Western, have some amenities and some choices on places to eat. The drive through the park is great and really you can see all y ou need to in one day. You can stay at Redding or Red Bluff. Good luck

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank artful9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2008

We reserved a room for two nights at the Lassen Mineral Lodge to be close to the park, since we like to get out early in the morning. We were sorry we had to stay here 2 nights after we saw it. The room is very run down, and looks like nothing has been updated since the 1970s. The upholstery covers on the twin beds were disgusting, and there were cobwebs by the curtain rods and dirt on the radiator. There were NO electrical outlets in the bathroom, and it is extremely small. When we arrived, the garbage cans in front of our room were filled to the brim with flies hovering, and this was right next to the chairs we could 'relax' in! If we had paid $50 for this dump it wouldn't have been so bad, but since there is no where else for miles, they can charge what they want. Do not go by the pictures on their website, as place looks much better in their pictures than in reality. At least the sheets were clean, but expect the thinnest towels possible. We also ate dinner twice at the restaurant (there is no where else to go), and while the food was good enough, we had an extremely long wait for everything the first night. The second night we watched another customer try to get waited on for 20 minutes, so our experience was not unique. Go to Red Bluff instead. You will be happy to drive a bit further if you can avoid this place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WisconsinBooklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

This place is right by Lassen Volcanic National Park. That is the good. The bad - this is almost the only place to stay, unless you camp, if you want a bed and shower, and be near the southwest entrance to the park. Rooms are run down quite a bit. The entry door on our room was a hollow interior door. I laughed at the chain on the inside that would keep someone out. It was over 90 degrees in Mineral and none of the rooms have AC. However they were insulated pretty well so we were not hot in our rooms. No shampoo in the rooms, but they are kind enough to give you soap that was labeled with "Holiday Inn" and other hotel chains. Shower leaked all night and splashed on the bathroom floor - keep the curtain closed I guess. You are a captive audience here. Not much else when it comes to lodging and food. The restaurant was good and reasonable. But plan on spending the whole evening there for dinner. The server (who was very kind, hard working and helpful) had to have has well over 15 tables. So, expect a whole evening out of dinner. But hey, it's right by the park!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I booked here on the basis of other reviews which rated this place 4 or 5, but it is disgusting--moldy rooms, run-down inside and out, no television or radio and no phones in the rooms. The first room they gave me had no soap, and the blinds wouldn't close. They gave me another room. Overall, I was truly uneasy and did not feel safe, so later I went to the office to tell them, but they were already closed at 7:00 p.m. Do yourself a favor and stay in Red Bluff instead--it'll be worth the drive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank love2bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Just got back from staying at the Lassen Mineral Lodge. I knew ahead of time that it would be rustic, so my expectations were not high! It really is simply a motel that is old, but clean! We checked in about 5:30 p.m. At first we were a little confused as we walked into the gift shop (that was being put together for the season and was closed) and was told to go down past the restaurant to the general store to check in. We also confronted the gentleman who is very business like but not exactly welcoming, but that was ok! We then had to drive around the corner to the row of motel rooms. Backed our car right up to the room--loved it! The room had a large long table and four chairs for eating, and a small game table with a checkers mat and checkers. The kids loved that. We booked the room with the Queen bed and two twins. Very good for two girls/ and I would think this would be excellent if you have two kids of different sex! The bathroom is small and has no vanity to put your lotions etc... but that is ok too! The room did not smell musty at all and was very clean. We ate at the restaurant frequently and was pleased with the service and the friendly staff.
We loved the fact that the lodge is very close to the park, and all and all you can't beat the price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lassen Mineral Lodge. I based my rating on the fact that this is an old Lodge and I really investigated this before I booked. I would suggest everyone do the same

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativecalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Region: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range: £49 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing