We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Saaaad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, Saaaad...”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We came here for a wedding and never usually spend $90/night for a hotel. That is out of our price range. But it was for a friend's wedding, and we didn't know the area. We were very upset to find out we did not have a refrigerator for the fruit we brought because online when we reserved our room it was advertised that we had a refrigerator in our room. When the front desk called immediately after we checked in, we informed them of the problem. They said they thought they came with refrigerators, too, but they didn't have any extras to put in our room. They did not offer to switch rooms for us but that we could certainly put our food in their fridge behind the desk. REALLY??? We reserved the room partly for the fridge. ...Shower pressure? What pressure? There wan't any at all! It was the worst pressure we had ever seen for a hotel. And the TV remote? It lights up and acts like it works, but it's a facade, too. The remote is broken. The TV has been damaged on the screen, as well, spreading a brown hue over the TV. The cranberry juice provided for breakfast tasted like tainted water, not juice at all. On the other hand, their premixed waffle batter for the complimentary breakfast was the best we had ever had! Every staff person was very friendly and the limitless fresh coffee and cookies were delightful. And the bed was squishy and very comfortable. overall, for the price, we wish we would have gone somewhere with better water pressure and provided the amenities they advertised rather than little cookies and coffee with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments. Your concerns about your room are being addressed. We are very sorry.

Our West Omaha hotel's spacious rooms and suites make guests feel right at home. Some guest rooms at this hotel in Omaha offer free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV with HBO, coffeemaker and more. Whirlpool suites and Two-room Suites are also available.

We hope you will give us another chance, if in the Omaha area again!!
Thanks again for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    53
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
90
21
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

OK, we were here for business the week of the College World Series. The hotel rates across town are AMAZINGLY HIGH! This hotel was much cheaper and their site said it was recently renovated. That is true, but in small stages. I still had a 17 inch TV from 1985 and I couldn't see anything. The only good thing was they had a great cable channel selection and free HSI. I would have loved to see an ethernet plug so I didn't have to use unsecured wi-fi. Breakfast was comp and pretty good. I think once management has finished upgrading everything, they will be able to compete a bit better. Not a bad place though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideckard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Not much to say about this property either good or bad. Rooms were clean, king bed was comfortable, free internet and decent breakfast. One good thing was that guests are able to use the fitness center next door to the hotel and they do have a shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbanksiii64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our credit cards were incorrectly charged to the wrong person. It was a mess! The staff appeared unfriendly and inconvenienced that our group was there. After the fact, we are still trying to straighten out our credit cards.
We requested a block of rooms. Some of the quote "block rooms"were on the first floor, some were on the second floor and some on the third floor.
Would we select this hotel again for a family gathering???? NO!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brothersNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights during the 2009 CWS. Overall, the stay was fine and I would not want the shortcomings I mention below to take away from the overall conclusion that this is a decent place to stay. Having said all of that, my impression of this hotel is less positive than some of the other posts so I want to provide another perspective.

Relative to other hotels of this class (we have stayed in a number of them in Omaha, as this is our 3rd trip to the CWS), this property is tired (e.g. sheets were worn, TV's are old, paint/carpets are at the end of their useful lives, our room had a few light fixtures with bulbs out, several rooms had AC issues, one of our rooms got skipped by housekeeping, etc.). I see this as deferred maintenance (ownership issue) and a lack of attention to detail (management issue).

While the front desk staff was extremely nice and well-intentioned, they were not as well-trained or as empowered as in other properties of this type. Ownership should give these folks more training and then give them the authority to fix routine problems. As an example, a front desk staffer told me they had to check with the boss first or they would get in trouble. I was asking for extra pillows.

On the positive side, the free internet access (both Cat-5 and wireless) was super and the breakfast was above average. The hotel is in a quiet location. The cookies are indeed very good! The free passes the the 24 hr. Fitness accross the parking lot is a very nice feature.

If quiet is more important than access, then be sure to ask for a room on the third floor. The first floor rooms get noise from the lobby/pool/laundry facilities and the second floor (which has an open stairway into the lobby) also gets noise and foot traffic. The third floor can only be accessed by the elevator, so it is much quieter.

I'm not sure how this hotel is normally priced (CWS prices are crazy), but I think this property would be a decent value choice if it is priced at the low end of comparable properties. Relative to hotels of this caliber, this is a good, but average, place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstravelerdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

This hotel is clean, spacious, the staff is very courteous and the cookies are yummy!!!!

We found the breakfast to be ample each morning and things were fresh and very tasty.

The staff is outstanding. We had a speial package sent next day air UPS and they made sure we got it immediately. They were always upbeat and positive with every comment they made.

Just across the parking lot is a small restaurant that has burgers to die for.

Our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Liked — Cookies!!!!
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

This hotel features a clean and up-to-date room. It is everything I expected it to be. I might've given it four stars except for one thing -- I paid $129 for the room, which seems entirely too much given up what I received.

  • Liked — Good-quality accommodation
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityHomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaha hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha / West Dodge Road (Old Mill)
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Omaha West
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cherry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Omaha NE
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Omaha/old Mill
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha West - Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West
Address: 11818 Miami Street, Omaha, NE 68164-9619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Omaha
#6 Best Value Hotel in Omaha
#15 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Omaha West
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha West Hotel Omaha
Omaha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing