We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sightseeing tour just okay”

River City Star Riverboat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The River City Star Riverboat has a reputation for offering guest's a truly unique, fun and memorable experience!  Enjoy the beauty and serenity of the Missouri River on this 1940's era Paddlewheel style Riverboat. Featuring a fully enclosed lower deck with viewing windows, a full bar, seating and restrooms along with a canopy covered upper deck, the River City Star holds up to 145 passengers, offering public and private cruises that truly capture the personality of a great river city...Omaha. Come Cruise with Us!   The Star typically runs from April to November, depending upon weather. Located between downtown Omaha and Eppley Airport on Omaha's Riverfront, the River City Star docks at 151 Freedom Park Road on Millers Landing. Boaters can find us at River Mile Marker 618.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sightseeing tour just okay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We took the hour-long sightseeing tour, arriving the required 30 minutes early for boarding. These have limited availability, so you'll have to plan ahead if you want to do it. We reserved online and had no trouble picking up our tickets. They have some snacks on board, and the kids can go visit the captain and maybe blow the horn. They gave some history of Lewis and Clark but no information on passing landmarks. After the narration, they played period music. The view is okay but not breathtaking. Maybe an event would be more impressive. Oh, and I didn't care for the clunking noise the paddles made. I've been on other paddleboats and have never heard a noise like that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CO811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mitchellville, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sightseeing trip!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We really enjoyed our sightseeing cruise on the riverboat! The weather was perfect for a trip down the river and we really enjoyed the view! A DNR person was aboard and told us about the history of Lewis & Clark's journey through the area. It was very hard to hear her, however. I would have enjoyed more light music playing with the occassional mention of landmarks. There were some landmarks we were interested in knowing more about, but they were not mentioned during the tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fireworks cruise 2013”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just went on the Fireworks Cruise last Wednesday, July 3, 2013. We had a really good time. For $30.00 per person, very reasonable entertainment. We cruised up and down the river, seeing the sights while listening to music provided by a DJ. We did have to "cruise" a few more times than expected because we were waiting for the baseball tournament to finish up before the fireworks. Once the fireworks started, they were non-stop and very good. At this point, the captain was just letting the boat float. We had the best seats in Omaha. Very highly recommend for people to do this!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant 1 hour on Missouri River.”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Nice boat, pleasant hour spent on this boat on Missouri River.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fmoussavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great fun and wonderful views”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have been on the River City Star several times over the years, but just found this page, so here goes with a review!

The boat and facility make up the River City Star and Yacht Club. The boat is quite nice, but the facility is where the place shines. They frequently have themed parties. I have attended a couple of pirate themed parties and a couple of fourth of July cruises. Both were a ton of fun.

The boat has two decks. The bottom deck has a full bar and his/her bathrooms. The top deck is open with a railing. Every time we end op on the boat, the atmosphere has been very festive. Definitely a party worth checking out. The view of the casino's fireworks show was spectacular. Drink prices are a little steep, but so are most other bars downtown. And the view here is much better.

The facility is VERY impressive. My wife and I were so impressed, that we got married on the landing two years ago. The staff there really goes out of their way to treat you like royalty. Amy and Tami were great. Every one of our guests said that it was was one of their favorite weddings. We had a very tropical theme, and the landing on a Summer evening on the riverfront is a sight to behold.

Will absolutely be back and glad to hear they're back open after the flooding - we missed cruising all summer because of that!!!

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River City Star Riverboat also viewed

 

Been to River City Star Riverboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing