We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Omaha hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
195 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“My favorite Omaha hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

I stayed four nights on a business trip to Omaha this week and had a very nice stay. I am surprised to see such low reviews for this hotels. I've stayed at many other Hilton Garden Inns before and know what they offer, and this one offers everything promised.

The staff are very dedicated to customer service. Maybe too much so. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful, were well aware of the nearby shops and restaurants, and were always willing to help. Honestly, sometimes this help was too aggressive: there was an evening reception each weekday evening and they REALLY wanted me to have some beer or wine, or bottled water. I really just wanted to go up to my room but it was a little odd how aggressively they tried to stop me so I could socialize with them and strangers at this free reception. Occasionally at the breakfast buffet this happened too: "are you sure I can't get you anything else?" "really, I can get you more coffee" "are you really sure". Other than this excess enthusiasm for interacting with me the staff were great.

The rooms at HGI's are generally well put together, with plenty of electric outlets, a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. The rooms here were large enough for me to exercise in. One design flaw is that the bathroom door and the front door can swing into each other. The shower pressure was great, hot water came up instantly, and it did not have the filmy, hard-water issue that many hotels in Omaha have (at the Doubletree downtown, for example, the water is so hard that you cannot rinse the soap film or shaving cream completely off).

I liked the breakfast buffet but must confess that I received a free breakfast as a Hilton Platinum level traveler. Other than the occasional over-eager extra-coffee push, the service was gracious and friendly. I used the exercise room which is basically four cardio machines: it's better than nothing but it is a weakness of the hotel. They do offer discount passes to more extensive gyms in the area: I did not take them up on it.

This is my favorite Omaha hotel. I have stayed at the Doubletree, Magnolia, Courtyard, and Embassy Suites, and always try to get in here first. It can be pricy, but that's the only reason I look at the other choices.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    277
    70
    23
    16
See reviews for
199
224
48
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I chose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn after looking at many other hotels for the one night I was in Omaha from Phoenix. I could only research hotels on-line, and even though pricey, I chose a King Suite with hottub at the Hilton Garden Inn. I have to be honost and say I wasn't impressed, with the hotel, the room, or the service, for the $280 I paid.
I was told upon booking the room I could get early check-in, and late check-out, which was important to me since i landed at noon and check-in wasn't until 3pm. I ended up waiting 3 hours for the room. This was the first disappointment. Upon entering the room, I was amazed at how plain and outdated the room and furniture was, how rock hard the bed was, and that the hottub was really a bathtub in the bedroom. I actually slept on the pull-out bed which was more comfortable than the bed. Also I had requested two beds, but was given one. There were two plasma tv's which may have been the highlight.
I was starving upon arrival and couldn't wait to go to Spencer's, then I found out it closes all afternoon and didn't re-open until 5pm.
The fitness center was my next adventure, which I read about online, sounded really nice, it was about a 10' x 10' room, with two treadmills, elliptical, and stationary bike, no fans.
The shuttle service is actually very prompt, both driver's I encountered were very friendly and helpful, and will take you anywhere within 4 miles, however closes at 11pm.
I was a bit shocked when I woke at 6am and had a check-out bill at my door. I proceeded to breakfest, which ranged from $8-$11, received no service by the waitress. I had to go to the waitress station and ask for a glass of water. I tipped the silverware roller, William, that got me silverware, re-filled my water, and continually checked on me.
All-in-all, I won't return or recommend the Hilton Garden Inn. Try the Marriot next door.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENPHXAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Normal hotel with a pricey breakfast buffet. Nice bed and flat screen television. Came back after a run on the river and the maid was washing the in-room water glasses in the bathroom sink. Completely ruined the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josef70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon/Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed for one night at the Hilton Garden Inn downtown at the beginning of our trip.

When you drive up, there is a small unloading area, but it is not covered. The parking garage is attached to the hotel, so we drove in there. It was a bit confusing finding the parking for the hotel vs the restaurant.

Check-in was very quick and the desk clerk let us know that there was a 24 hr small store for any snacks, water or forgotten items to purchase if need be. The room key doubles as the access key for the parking garage.

Our room had 2 beds and was nicely decorated. The chair at the desk was especially nice, as it was ergonomic. Internet access was complimentary, which was much appreciated.

The bathroom was clean, but a bit boring as far as decor.

We had breakfast at the hotel in the morning which was plentiful (two of us could have shared an order) and tasty.

The location of this hotel was excellent. Just a few minutes from the airport, and right by the Old Market area.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The only negative is the confusing parking situation, but that is very minor.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mtngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponder, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This HGI is typical of many other HGI's, but I found everything to be excellent about this property. Check-in took about two minutes and I was on my way to the room. The room itself wasn't anything different than other HGI properties, but was clean and well decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly with directions and other information regarding Old Market. This is an excellent location for access to Old Market (about a 5 minute walk) which includes TONS of restaurants and shops. There is also a Spencers Steak and Chops restaurant within the hotel. I didn't eat there, but the menu looked really good! The only minus to the property is the $9 charge for parking in the garage, but that's really not a big deal as it is typical for most downtown hotels. Overall I was very pleased with this property and if my travels take me back to Omaha I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TXBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We were in Omaha for the Olympic Swimming Trials and stayed at this hotel for eight nights. It was wonderful. The staff was delightful, very clean, beds were very comfy. The breakfast was fabulous and the location was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again if I am in Omaha.

  • Liked — Very nice all around
  • Disliked — cannot think of a thing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bsktmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

This hotel is located in a perfect area of downtown Omaha. It is just steps away from Howard Street (Old Market) and near many wonderful restaurants. The workout room is adequate- at best. If you're looking for a five star hotel- this is not it- but if you're looking for a clean hotel with helpful staff- choose this one.

  • Liked — clean, close to everything downtown
  • Disliked — workout facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSharvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market
0.3 mi away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#9 of 82 in Omaha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
Address: 1005 Dodge St, Omaha, NE 68102-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#6 Business Hotel in Omaha
#8 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area hotel is in the vibrant Old Market District in the heart of Downtown Omaha. Just a short walk to the CenturyLink Center Omaha and TD Ameritrade Ballpark, the hotel is in the perfect location for visitors to the city, regardless of purpose of travel! 24-hour, complimentary shuttle service is offered to Omaha's Eppley Airfield (OMA), and also provides convenience for business travelers, serving many of the city's prominent enterprises such as ConAgra Foods, Union Pacific, National Park Service, and more! Enjoy one of the city's finer dining experiences from the comfort of the hotel, too. Spencer's for Steaks & Chops is a local favorite, serving the top 2% grade of beef in the state! Winning accolades for their wine list over the past few years, you're sure to be delighted by the outstanding service and remarkable quality of product prepared especially for you. Breakfast is served in the Great American Grill daily. A cooked-to-order buffet, including freshly cut fruit and warm, baked pastries is available at an affordable price from the friendliest breakfast staff to be found in Omaha. Your satisfaction and comfort is our highest priority, and we promise to deliver the best that Midwest hospitality has to offer, guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area Hotel Omaha
Hilton Omaha
Omaha Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing