We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Red Oak, Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was booked here recently on business but wasn't overly optimistic. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean was blissfully comfortable. The breakfast is not something to write home about and the location is just plain weird. It's a quirky place that I found somewhat charming. I'm booked here again next month and will be happy to go back. Great staff too by the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    99
    56
    27
    31
See reviews for
137
78
19
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel was a great value in 2008, but over the last five years has slowly declined. It has not really updated anything. The breakfast is definitely not as good as it used to be. The doors to the rooms are starting to show wear and tear. Our room had white plaster in a hole on the dark wood grain!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very clean and affordable Hotel, Front desk staff was helpful and friendly {Chris} Very comfortable bed, clean room and quiet. Except for the people who got up at 6 am and do not know how to close their door without slamming it. Very respectable Hotel overall, location is a little difficult to get too because it is tucked away behind other buildings. I checked out then went back for another load {Suitcase / cooler etc.} Carl with Maintenance surprised my wife by entering to do some minor repairs, he felt so bad. Sorry Carl, it is OK, but next time I will check out and then leave right after.

Room Tip: Any room is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnDNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is an older property in a difficult to access location. The closing mechanisms on all the room doors are too strong which translates to a loud door slamming sound when any room door is left to freely close. Problems with one of the televisions was reported to the front desk on the afternoon of the first day of my stay and the hotel maintenance man, Mr. Bob, happened to be there and followed me up to the room to try and fix the problem. He said he would have to replace the television and he had the next day to do so, but the problem still existed through the second day of my stay. The room refrigerator had 1-2 inches of ice built up on the freezer section. Besides taking up most of the limited space in the freezer section, this amount of ice causes the refrigerator to operate poorly and affects the overall cooling of the refrigerator. Due to the age of the property the floors creak badly which can be heard from room to room. There is a severe bottleneck at the one hotel elevator that services all four floors, which was a problem on the weekend I stayed there due to the number of occupants and the special events that were taking place in the basement of the property on Sunday. The scrambled eggs were of poor quality and were improperly prepared. The front desk manager of this property informed that this property has recently been purchased by a new owner and that the new owner is intent on making some renovations to the property. Best Western should obtain a time frame of when these renovations will take place and ask for a firm commitment from the new property owner. Additional signage is also needed along the service drive adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls City
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The person that checked us in was very friendly and told us the check-out time, times and location of continental breakfast, and that there was fresh coffee in the lobby. Our room was very nice, excellent beds, and we didn't hear any outside noise. There was a flavored coffee at breakfast (besides the usual coffee) and none of the food was out. The person at checkout was friendly, also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent the night here on our way through town on a Sunday night. Check in was efficient and the room which we booked through AirMiles was upgraded without hassle. The beds were clean, had four pillows each and were very comfortable. My only minor concern with the room would be the size of the bathroom. The toilet and tub are in their own room separate from the sink. This room was quite small. The lobby was clean, and the parking lot was well lit. The location is close to the freeway and there are amenities in the area including a gas station and a major shopping mall only a few minutes away. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel before and after a class that I attended this past summer. The front desk staff was pleasant, and when I returned after my class, the manager who was manning the front desk gave me a room upgrade when she saw my Best Western rewards card. The bigger room gave me a chance to spread myself out and repack before leaving the next morning. The staff also gave me good directions to Boys Town so I could sight see. And I enjoyed using the hot tub at the hotel. The main difficulty was that this hotel is very difficult to find, and even after I called the hotel, I couldn't find it with their directions. I just found it by continuing to drive and taking a wild guess. But I must say I love the pillows and beds in the best western hotels. I had the best sleep. This hotel is conveniently located near restaurants and shopping, and there is a walking/biking trail right out back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbell330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Omaha/old Mill
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Omaha NE
3.7 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Omaha
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Omaha West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn
Address: 10960 W Dodge Road, Omaha, NE 68154-2612 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Settle Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Omaha
#7 Best Value Hotel in Omaha
#13 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Each room fridge, microwave, new carpet, new case goods, lighting package, new pictures, art works, out side entirely new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Settle Hotel Omaha
Best Western Omaha
Omaha Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing